View Full Version : Help with lures Please!
james133
04-03-2007, 12:27 PM
Hi guys,
just wanted some tips on lure fishing
i have recently started giving lures ago,but not sure which types
to use and the best way to retrieve them.
the fish im targeting are just Mangrove jacks,flatheads,cod etc.
Any tips will help heaps.
cheers,James133
Murph77
04-03-2007, 03:46 PM
Hey James
Flatties are the easy ones on that list, use soft plastics between 3" and 6" (Squidgy, Berkley, Atomic etc) with a jig head heavy enough to keep it near the bottom and use a hopping action across mud and weed flats and you should have some success.
The same SP's will also work for jacks and cod but I usually use hard bodied lures for them. Just get a selection that dive to different depths, colour is not that important but make sure they have solid hooks and rings (Halco, RMG, Tilsan etc). With these guys the most important thing is casting accuracy, make sure you are fishing them right next to the snags, pontoons, pylons etc because thats where they hang out. Work on your casting skill until you can consistently put the lure right up in the snags, if you're not getting snagged up occasionally you are not casting close enough. Once you hook one, you're on your own ;D , good luck mate.
Murph
james133
04-03-2007, 05:21 PM
thanks that will help me out heaps,i
'll give it a try on the weekend
LizardLord
04-03-2007, 06:01 PM
if u are at all interested in fishing for bream you should stick with fairly small lures or plastics. either works. try fishing oyster leases, getting in as close/underneath the leases as you can. use small lures and light jigheads (for plastics) and alter your retrieve depending upon the antics of the fish on the day. if they are a bit shy, slow your retrieve but if they are feeding rampantly you might want a bit more of a frantic wounded baitfish-style retrieve to entice a nice strong hit
gregdeeth
04-03-2007, 06:23 PM
cast into the current and work your lure back with the current, most fish sit head into the current waiting for helpless morsals to drift along.
spook76
04-03-2007, 08:31 PM
hello there james
I find when I go for flathead and bream in the rivers I use bright colour lures which are soft & hard body say poppers,shades,deep drivers etc,
james133
05-03-2007, 06:07 PM
thanks for all your great tips,
much appreciated,does anyone kno where the closets oyster leases
are to brisbane.