View Full Version : walkabout currumbin
gregdeeth
27-02-2007, 08:13 PM
had some free time this arvo,
in hope the might some bream around, i took the light gear down, but no bream :'( was disappointed.
ended up getting a flatty about 60cm and a little trevally, as well as the scurge of summer, moses perch were in numbers agian.
walked around the bridges and some deeper (for currumbin) holes, for about an hour.
used a gulp sand eel in camo and a 1/16th jig head
anyway included pics of the flatty and trev
sorry about the boring report just wanted to test how my new camera pics loaded on the site.
greg
Paddyinoz2006
27-02-2007, 08:45 PM
nice work mate. some great flattys being caught of late.
king fisher nick
27-02-2007, 08:56 PM
where abouts did u get the flatty and trev, i have tried heaps of times there and have only come up with flattys 40cm and smaller. and only got tiny little trevs like that on bait.
thanks
TheSaint
27-02-2007, 11:46 PM
Nice fish mate..
Nice flattie and trevally there Greg...Well Done :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
cheers tim :)
White_Steenbras
28-02-2007, 06:37 AM
Nice fish there landbased Greg, well done mate.
gregdeeth
28-02-2007, 08:53 AM
king fisher nick,
the flatty came from the area where the sand back sticks right out near throwers boat ramp.
geoff72
28-02-2007, 10:31 AM
nice catch greg,would have been good fun mate
Murph77
28-02-2007, 06:54 PM
Does Currumbin usually fire for you at all Greg? When I use to fish down that way I used to struggle a bit unless I went right upstream to the brackish water?
gregdeeth
28-02-2007, 07:13 PM
murph
currumbin can be hit and miss, it seems to me all the smaller creeks around this area are like that. can be very frustrating.
Matthias
28-02-2007, 10:00 PM
Nice one Greg.
Gotta love going for a walk and picking up some nice fish landbased.
Pete.
Pistol_P
28-02-2007, 10:16 PM
Good work Greg.
Hey I remember reading an article once a few years back about currumbin creek and they said they were getting MASSIVE cuda in there?
They also got a 9kg GT in there?.........You ever heard of fish like that there?
Dunks
28-02-2007, 11:09 PM
I had a ball in Currumbin on Sunday. Managed to catch about 12 bream on poppers out of my kayak, plus a small jack (my first ever, 20-25cms), only one moses perch, a flatehead and a banded perch.
gregdeeth
01-03-2007, 12:37 PM
pistol p,
there are some good fish in there for how small it is, havent come across and trevally that big but plenty around the 3kg mark. the bloke next door caught a 74cm jack in there last month on a livie, he kept it though (i say it probably would have been the only one that big in there).
dunks,
any size to the bream, such good fun on the surface.
benfisho
01-03-2007, 04:19 PM
i've seen some pretty big cuda hanging around the bridges at night time and i once caught a 92 cm flatie off that blue bridge there... looked like a shark from up top!!!!
Dunks
01-03-2007, 09:13 PM
No size to the bream, here's a pic of the biggest, around 27cms
gregdeeth
02-03-2007, 08:27 AM
dunks,
thats a nice bream for the summertime. cant wait for winter.