View Full Version : What fish is this?

wrip109
27-02-2007, 05:47 PM
I caught this today at Victoria Point. It was slimy to the touch and had teeth similar to a human. What is it and could I have eaten it. It was about 55 cms long and guess about 3kilo.

It is back in the bay because I don't eat what I can't identify(Which is a lot)

tedbear60
27-02-2007, 05:59 PM
Mate it looks like a green toad fish. It has one of the deadliest toxins known to man. Wise not to eat what your not familiar with.

27-02-2007, 05:59 PM
My guess is, it's a species of leatherjacket.

Did it feel scaly at all, or did it have a hide similar to a shark?

wrip109
27-02-2007, 06:07 PM
No scales. Really slimy which is why I used a towel. Could not pick it up without one. Similar to shark skin I guess but really slimy.

Must look up green toad fish

Fought like hell on 3 kilo line.

Phil

27-02-2007, 06:08 PM
sea toad???????????????
ugly green heaps of shit, caught some around pancake ck on cd18's!!!!!

wrip109
27-02-2007, 06:18 PM
Here is another photo

lifestyle
27-02-2007, 06:22 PM
its a sea toad don't eat it posions.

tedbear60
27-02-2007, 06:30 PM
Wrip try this link http://www.sunfish.com.au/html/toad_fish.html.

wrip109
27-02-2007, 06:31 PM
Thanks guys

If I had known I could have given it to my boss...

Phil

kingtin
27-02-2007, 07:26 PM
Yep, a big toady. They can be pretty thick at one particular spot at the Pin and another mark near Blakesleys. My personal thoughts on the many bite offs experienced in the bay are that these buggers may be responsible. One day we were having hooks to size 4/0 being bitten in half and it wasn't till the lass landed this bugger that we realised what was responsible.watch yer fingers when unhooking.

27-02-2007, 07:27 PM
It is back in the bay because I don't eat what I can't identify(Which is a lot)

Good philosophy Phil ;);D;D;D;D:-X

ffejsmada
27-02-2007, 08:20 PM
Blackened, you better scrub up on your fish identification mate. We wouldn't want you eating a toad thinking it was a leatherjacket now would we. You'd be dead.

My guess is, it's a species of leatherjacket.

Did it feel scaly at all, or did it have a hide similar to a shark?

84mick
27-02-2007, 08:22 PM
Thanks guys

If I had known I could have given it to my boss...

Phil

LOL, and mine to ;)

Mick.

sandbankmagnet
27-02-2007, 08:52 PM
Yep toadie. Forget about it and tend to the other rod in the background.

27-02-2007, 11:55 PM
Blackened, you better scrub up on your fish identification mate. We wouldn't want you eating a toad thinking it was a leatherjacket now would we. You'd be dead.

Thats a fair enough call to make. Believe me, I know what a toadie ooks like, I was just thrown by the original pic because it looked rather thin, not round lke a toad.

2DKnBJ
27-02-2007, 11:57 PM
There is not too many fish worse than a catfish but the Sea Toad takes the cake.

Cheers Dazza

wrip109
28-02-2007, 06:44 AM
Hi Sandbankmagnet

The other rod in the background is not my rod. It was actually out of the water and was hooked onto the middle runner. I would never do this to my rod, but each to his own I guess.

Phil

wrip109
28-02-2007, 06:58 AM
Gee this is interesting. We did have lots of line cut and I don't get broken off very often.

I am a fresh water fisherman and this is the first time really in salt water. The dams are getting a bit low at the moment so I have switched.

My gear is all wrong for salt water and I did not use a trace. I thought I was getting bitten off by sharks because I had caught one earlier and especially the two kilo line was going as soon as the fish came near it. I put out my 3 kilo braid and this was the result.

Yuk!

Phil

rusco
28-02-2007, 07:44 AM
Good bait for reef species if cubed
rusco

kingkev
28-02-2007, 08:21 AM
Toad fish (FUGU in Japanese)....................Only very very experienced Japanese chefs can show you how to eat this one. Extremely poisenous and you will die the death of a thousand screams..............I have eaten a piece about the size of a 20c piece and half as thick as a coin-Sashimi style in Japan. I was left with a slight tingling sensation on my lips for abot 2 min. after eating sahimi.

Watch your fingers and do not attempt to eat it.

We catch a few up here in Townsville and don't bother removing the hook. Just cut the line and send him back

Aquarius
28-02-2007, 08:26 AM
Yep its a big toad fish alright in fact i think we caught that one a few weeks ago around Wello point..lol
Was about 3.5 kilo.
Cheers Brent

Aquarius
28-02-2007, 08:33 AM
Curse Of The Sea

hooknose
28-02-2007, 08:39 AM
If you are ever fishing and you get hits and wind in half hooks its the dreaded green toad. You are better off moving to another spot because they travel in schools !!!

jpart10
28-02-2007, 11:02 AM
Asians eat toadfish but then again they eat every thing including udersized fish and female crabs ohhh and catfish not to mention whale

mbt
28-02-2007, 11:13 AM
Yer it’s a sea toad , don’t get your fingers anywhere near those bolt cutters it has for teeth.

wrip109
28-02-2007, 03:58 PM
Hi hooknose

Your right, I could see them schooling on the sounder. Not knowing what they were I was following the school around the bay.

We were getting very excited about the number of really big bites that we got as we dropped over the school.

All that adrenalin wasted on a fish we can't eat; never mind it was really good fun anyway.

Phil

rogersto
01-03-2007, 03:40 PM
Wrip try this link http://www.sunfish.com.au/html/toad_fish.html.

Hmmm, website says "The Toadfish, Spheroides hamiltoni (Gray and Richardson), is a common species of our coastal streams, estuaries and inlets; it grows to 130 mm. It is adept at changing its coloration to match its surroundings, the body varying from the palest brown with a dappling of darker spots to dull greenish with dark cross-bands and blotchings. "

130mm, this guy's specimen seems to be on steroids or something, looks more like 30-40cm sitting on that esky...

different breed/species of toadie ? (still poisonous though...)

kingtin
01-03-2007, 03:50 PM
Hmmm, website says "The Toadfish, Spheroides hamiltoni (Gray and Richardson), is a common species of our coastal streams, estuaries and inlets; it grows to 130 mm. It is adept at changing its coloration to match its surroundings, the body varying from the palest brown with a dappling of darker spots to dull greenish with dark cross-bands and blotchings. "

130mm, this guy's specimen seems to be on steroids or something, looks more like 30-40cm sitting on that esky...

different breed/species of toadie ? (still poisonous though...)

As per Grants, and also, if you read on further at that url:

The related Giant toado or silver cheeked toado can grow to 38" and is noted for grinding together it's massive teeth set in jaws powerful enough to sheer through the shank of a 4/0 hook.

plasticking700
01-03-2007, 07:39 PM
on ifish they say that sea toadies are a good marlin bait

BLOOEY
01-03-2007, 08:18 PM
I was catching them off urangan jetty one day and a bloke bummed one off me because he uses them as livies for big giant trevalley off the end of the pier.

wrip109
02-03-2007, 07:10 AM
How on earth would you attach a 3 kilo fish as live bait and then cast it out?

robersl
02-03-2007, 06:32 PM
good to see you luv your boss lol

cdg81
03-03-2007, 09:37 AM
one of the best mega gt baits available

shandos
03-03-2007, 10:02 AM
definately a toad fish -- probably a giant or silver cheeked toadfish -- grow to nearly a metre.

A toxin called tetrodotoxin is concentrated in the liver and roe and to a lesser extent in the flesh -- causes paralysis, convulsions and then death -- no known antodote.

shandos

fishplukka
04-03-2007, 10:09 AM
yep a big fugly toadfish they are in the same catagory as carp ! good fertilizer caught one maroochy river at chistmas !

rogersto
05-03-2007, 05:09 AM
Seems to be a lot of toadfish around here I've noticed.

Landbased fishing on the Nerang river on Friday arvo, 15 of the little snots was all we could manage to catch, ditto Saturday morning on the breakwall on the Seaway casting off the concrete platform on top of the outlet pipe.

Schools of little toadies chasing the yabby on the hook being reeled back in.

Budds beach Sunday morning, ditto. Little toadies galore, landed a little Whiting and a Bream which were tossed back in to the toad-infested river to live another day and grow up some more....

Anybody know what Currumbin Creek near the breakwall at the river mouth is like?

Tezza@Tannum
05-03-2007, 09:55 AM
Seen them yep the're toadies, BIG TOADIES. Used to catch them & weigh them in as vermin when I was in Redcliffe City Fishing club years ago

05-03-2007, 01:05 PM
My toadfish encounters have all been annoying.

One toad bit an expensive nilsmaster lure I was using for flathead completely in half...I still have the lure & it looks impressive until I tell the truth.

Towing a very large & hard to get big gar one morning, noticed the tip of the rod bobbing around. Looked out the back to where I had set the baits, there was a mongrel toad fish swimming along taking bites out the gar.

Another day we were fishing in the inlet and some brits in a hire boat waved us over, they held up a rather large toad & asked if they were good to eat.

I dread to think what might have happened if they hadn't asked.

I've never heard of them being used a live bait, IMO I wouldn't handle one unless I really had to.

r.

Brett1907
05-03-2007, 01:11 PM
A female tourist caught about a dozen toadies in the Nerang river a few years ago. She cooked them up thinking they were good to eat. Needless to say she died from the experience.

I haven't caught one of those big ones, but I'm sick of the little ones destrowing my SP's when I'm after the tarpon & Giant Herring at Coomera!!

angler
05-03-2007, 06:26 PM
i caught one newcastle harbour didnt know what it was do now thank you.