View Full Version : Fishing Mackay
t4topcat
27-02-2007, 05:37 PM
G'day all,
I'm just wondering if there is anyone else here that lure fishes Mackay for Barra and Jacks etc. and whether they'd be interested in talking techniques and areas to fish as I really would like to improve my strike rate, I mainly use hard-bodies as I really haven't had any success on SPs as yet and to be honest have become somewhat disillusioned in my ability in using what should be a successful technique.
BobbyJ123
27-02-2007, 07:33 PM
G'day mate, check out Constant Ck, Kinchant dam, The Pioneer at Ron Camm bridge and below the hospital at the bridge and at Dumbleton, Use B52 lures in the creeks and river and 12+ and 20+ lures in Kinchant. You could also do well in Teemburra dam around any snaggy areas using 12+ and 20+ lures..
t4topcat
28-02-2007, 09:32 PM
Thanks BobbyJ I appreciate the ideas mate, obviously you're in a boat aren't you. With Constant Ck do you need a 4WD to launch a tinny as I only have a Falcon ute?
Robsie
28-02-2007, 09:46 PM
You could always try Murray Creek. With a falcon youd want to put in at high tide and come out at half up, or drag the boat up ( unless they have concreted the ramp since i was there last). Some good fish are had out of there, and crabs to. BUt watch out for the reident croc that hangs around the boat ramp. BIG bastard to!! Then again, so does constant. Every where has one now.
If u can get your hands pon a 4X4, definently go to cape palmeston. When prawning, we have caught several good size barra in the cast net!! pity it s always in close season.
You DEFINENTLY want to watch out for crocs at this place!!! But the fising is well worth it.
supertinny
01-03-2007, 05:16 AM
hi chris
the north wall of the harbour can be good on a large high tide. But you will have to wait till the weather calms down. Just about any lure lure or sp is in with a chance as it holds a varity of fish. Trevelly , tuna , macks ,trout and cod. Even caught a bone fish once.
cheers sparra
BobbyJ123
01-03-2007, 06:52 AM
Thanks BobbyJ I appreciate the ideas mate, obviously you're in a boat aren't you. With Constant Ck do you need a 4WD to launch a tinny as I only have a Falcon ute?
Mate, the trick at Constant ck is to leave the ute at the top of the ramp and snig the tinny down on the boards, If you have a small tinny (15hp motor), any boat bigger will need a 4wd. A bloke once had his Range Rover end up in 10 ft of water because he would not listen to the locals.......
t4topcat
01-03-2007, 10:03 PM
Cheers guys thanks for all the advice, about my tinny it's a 4m stessl Edgetracker HD with a 30HP Yamaha on the back, so I suppose I'll need to find a 4WD for Constant and Murray then. Well for a start I'm definitely going to try working the rock walls (both norrth and south) in the Pioneer from the mouth upstream. I think I'll try a combination of SPs and hardbodies and just drift and flick (no electric as yet), and under the old wharves near the fish markets, what do you think?
Cheers and take care
krazyfisher
02-03-2007, 05:46 AM
you wont need a 4wd for murray it has been cement for atleast 6 yrs and constant was never a problem for me with a 435 hornet. as for the river try the "V" and around the bridges. but if it was just for sport than I would go to teemburra flicking and trolling the points.
cdg81
03-03-2007, 09:55 AM
fish any of the run offs over rock bars or drains(especially the ones south side of the pioneer) on the run out. bridges on the run up