View Full Version : Broome report: What cod this?
luskin
26-02-2007, 06:21 PM
Just got third wheel on boat for beach launching so starting to trust tides;)
Went up Dampier creek and caught some trevally but no Barra to speak of:-[
Headed outside as tide and weather was good
Got some hits and finally hooked this nice cod:)
Not sure if estuary or not so let im go anyway.
Check out the eye colour;D
Anyway what is he?
More reports to follow
Sy
rambob
26-02-2007, 07:36 PM
Looks like a flowery cod to me real good eating. I'm no expert but an eastury cod is a bit darker?
I reckon estuary cod, looks like the ones we pull out of the passage.
Judgeing by that hat Sy, Im guessing is fairly warm up your way at the moment??
Brian
hooknose
26-02-2007, 08:30 PM
Estuary cod mate !!!
luskin
26-02-2007, 09:46 PM
Mate called it as a potato cod and not sure to keep
Anyway wouldn't have kept anyway.
And yes Broome is sheeit hot at the mo':P :P
Sy
Wazzup01
26-02-2007, 10:09 PM
Estuary Cod
robdiep
26-02-2007, 10:56 PM
gold spot estuary cod
Silent
27-02-2007, 07:48 AM
I'm with robdiep...
Wazfish
28-02-2007, 10:19 AM
estuary cod for sure
jpart10
28-02-2007, 10:40 AM
Definetly a esturay cod
28-02-2007, 10:53 AM
gold spot estuary cod
It is a gold spot estuary cod. Same as down here in SEQ. I am not sure why some people insist on claiming it is something else when they are obviously only guessing.
28-02-2007, 11:13 AM
Spot on Jeremy ( pardon the pun )
Sy , there a very commonly found cod, caught anywhere from creeks to the shelf.
Gold spots (estuary cod) arent bad eating while there small , but they do grow huge, personally ive caught them well over 100lb but i wouldnt bother keeping one over 15kg for the table. Heres another pic of one ...foxy
Cobia Kid
28-02-2007, 05:45 PM
estury cod....yep, definantly
Fish Guts
28-02-2007, 06:33 PM
bonydoon carp
borisdog
28-02-2007, 08:18 PM
Yeah I'm not real convinced it's a gold spot but it's a bit hard to tell from the photo. I spent a fair bit of time in the Kimberley and didn't see a lot of gold spots, saw heaps of Epinephelus Malabaricus though. Malabar Cod I think they're called. Anyways we always called 'em estuary cod. And they all go hard.