View Full Version : WHAT a WAY to POP MACKEREL CHERRY!!!!
Hi All!
After a super hectic 2 weeks since coming back from O/S and battling bronchitis, the flu & tonsillitis in quick succession, I was looking forward to having a quiet weekend. However business partner and good mate Phillet was keen to take his new 6.5m Seastorm Centre Cab for a run! Knowing the word ‘fishing’ would entice me out of my weekend cocoon, we departed Manly at 5am. Straight to Mud was the call and then ‘Which side T?’! ‘Well, we can either go to FOGGY territory, Peter L territory or CHEECH/CHARLEVILLE territory…’ ‘Pick a side!’ Ok, from the handful of times I’ve attempted Mud, I’ve always found good ground in CHEECH territory so there we settled. We worked out our drift pattern and set off for our 1st one.
Phillet and Jimbo at the back with their baits and me up the front with the ole ‘Threadie Killer’. With little interest in the 1st half dozen casts, tap tap and a little Sweetie comes aboard as the maiden fish. Back to the front again and 2nd cast in – zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz! ‘T’s on!’ comes the call from the back when all of a sudden ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ as I watch my braid peel off at a rapid rate ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ gee I’m glad I put that new roll of braid on last week ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ oh sh%t I’m down to backing ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ‘Start the boat Phillet!’ ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ‘HUH?!’ ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ‘Start the f%cking boat!!!’ ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ oh really SH%T ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ gee the glare off that spool is bright ZZZZZZZZZZ before finally some movement forward as there’s only a meter or 2 of line left between me and Mr Fish! Forward! Slower! Faster! Right! Left! Reverse! Eventually got the backing on and about 15mins later, colour! ‘What is it?’ enquires Jimbo with gaff in hand. ‘Well it’s not a Snapper!’ as its dark sleek back passes close to the boat and off again ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ Forward! Slower! Faster! Right! Left! Reverse! (while I’ve circumnavigated the boat about half a dozen times! Lucky for the Centre Cab!) Every time he’d come close to the boat, sees the colour and off he goes again ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ! Forward! Slower! Faster! Right! Left! Reverse! ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ After 6 boat-side liaisons and some 35mins after being down to my last 2m, he’d finally had enough and rolls over at the back of the boat as ‘safe hands’ Phillet sinks the gaff into him and hauls him aboard!
My blood, heart and arms were pumping and couldn’t believe what had just happened! 8lb braid, 3/0 1/8 TT jighead and a 5” Threadie Killer nails a 135cm Spanish Mackerel! My 1st ever Mackerel and couldn’t believe after all those times of being shredded off on 40lb leader with gangs, I nail this thing on 16lb fluorocarbon with a single jighead!
Needless to say, I really couldn’t give a stuff what I’d catch for the rest of the morning! Try and wipe the smile off my face this week and I’m certainly raring to go work wise again! I wonder why?!
Take Care T
White_Steenbras
25-02-2007, 04:06 PM
What a Mack there mate, what did that weigh?
The Fav ol green plakky EH!
Nice work mate.
Dorado
25-02-2007, 04:21 PM
Excellent fish and great story! Well done :)
\Cheers,
Dorado
Chuckmeister
25-02-2007, 04:26 PM
Well done, and lipped on a soft plastic!! If that's the SP you caught it on in the piccy, then it's in surprisingly good nick after having those teeth near it!
bluefin59
25-02-2007, 04:30 PM
fantastic mate it never stops amazing me what you can pick up on plastic fantastics congrats mate it must of blown you right out when that came up next to the boat 6 times i bet you thought you would get done once again great fish mate.:laola: :laola:
jackash
25-02-2007, 04:35 PM
Awesome stuff mate! That is a catch of a lifetime. On 8lb that is an absolutely awesome effort... might be giving the squire a miss and targetting the macks a bit more now hey?
25-02-2007, 04:41 PM
Mate - that is awesome! Well done! :D
I have not been to Mud for a few months now(nor fishing for a couple of weeks - what is wrong with me???!!!) but having seen all of the success there as reported on Ausfish lately, I am off to there first thing tomorrow morning! I thought that I might just drop some pots and chases some sweeties on the northern side but I shall just have to give the east a nudge too, methinks.
Well done, champ! That is awesome!:) :) :) :) :)
Greeat story as well. :)
BARNESY - no scales but I really need to get some - will bloody heavy do for now?
DOARDO - Thanks mate!
THEPUSH - it actually wasn't lipped! When we got it into the boat, my jighead dropped off as the mack hit the floor! I picked up my leader to find half a hook! The shot with the mouth open is where we were having a look for the rest of the hook - that was firmly embedded into the roof of his mouth! Go figure - sometimes you can just be plain blessed! The pic of the rig was the one I took after catching my Threadie last year for the post - same set-up but a 1/8 J/Head this time...
BLUEFIN - thought i was done when i was down to my last 2m of line, when i saw the fish for the 1st time, when it went under the boat towards the back and i was up the front... You've got no idea...
JACKASH - I was targeting Snap's... but it certainly has whet the apetite that's for sure!
BRUCE - Thanks mate! Good luck tomorrow! It was pretty quiet otherwise with the exception of losing a pretty good fish (pretty sure it was a Snap) later in the morning due to a brain-lapse with my drag settings...
Take Care T
outsiderskip
25-02-2007, 04:50 PM
great fish
bet u dont do that too often
pete
Aquarius
25-02-2007, 04:55 PM
I was out at Green this morning wondering where T1 was and now i know.
Congratulations mate thats awsome on light gear and you did everything right to land the monster.
The smile will be on the dial for weeks ...lol
Enjoy the sucullent mackerel fillets.
Cheers Brent.
Great fish T1,
Anyone would be happy landing that on the heavy trolling gear, little known the light plastics rig. I bet the drag on your little Diawa was steaming after that fight - it might pay to check the washers are still okay.
Ollie
sharkbaithoohaha
25-02-2007, 05:34 PM
T1 you are an absolute ledgeng mate.Top effort there.That would have to top catching the Threadies.Congrat on the light gear.You definitely were Blessed!!
Cheers John.
gregdeeth
25-02-2007, 05:39 PM
wow awsome work. what a setup to land a speed machine like that with. great story.
25-02-2007, 06:09 PM
T1 your report had me on the edge of my seat trying to find out how it ended. Hope you don't mind that I skipped through some ZZZZZZZZ's to cut to the chase. Having done so I can now congratulate you on a top catch and a fantastic effort getting it in on light gear. Fanbloodytastic! Well done.
Thanks heaps guys!!
OLLIE, that little Daiwa is a superb outfit! I've caught my PB (on SP's) Snap, the Threadie and now the S/Mack on it and i'm not disappointed in the slightest!
SHARKIE, John, by far a bigger thrill than the Threadie - was a bit disappointed in how quick the Threadie gave up actually but it was still a buzz to catch a fish like that in the Brissie on the light outfit with SP's esp given it was my PB in any species (and still is in length - by 15cm)!
POO, thanks champ! Lucky i didn't put all the 'ZZZZZ' in the post trust me!
Take Care T
tazza_505
25-02-2007, 06:28 PM
Stonker mate!
25-02-2007, 06:31 PM
That is one impressive capture on a light placky outfit. Amazing what you can actually do when it all stays together.
That one will take some beating.
Adamy
25-02-2007, 06:35 PM
Geez zussss! T!!!
Top catch mate nice spaniard... what else can I say except that I guess it was a good plan to put off the night trip in exchange for a day one. (you still owe me a trip though) Top stuff mate - really happy for you!! We'll be renaming that threadie killer soon - thats for sure!!
Adam
Pistol_P
25-02-2007, 06:53 PM
Awesome effort mate....I reckon i could try that 500 times and would be bitten off all of them ..... you better buy ya self a lottery ticket I think T...
well done
snapperm8
25-02-2007, 06:54 PM
geeze mate wat a winner thats a beaut there deffently on that gear aswell
cheers dave
heathrow69
25-02-2007, 07:00 PM
:D Holy Mackerel T1:D
Well done and a top effort on the Mack;D Your adrenaline would have been pumping and would have taken a long time to calm down mate, still probably got the shakes:o .
Have to change your name to Threadie, spanish killer;D ;D .
Congrats on a fine fish there mate:D
Heath.
foggy
25-02-2007, 07:17 PM
TI. I'm excited. Bloody excellent team work by the sounds of it.
Well done mate
Foggy
25-02-2007, 07:31 PM
Well T
You just went up another notch in the "Holy Grail" stakes with that fish, caught on a Placcie. I think it won't be long before Berkley start sponsoring you - Berkley shoes, shorts, caps, aftershave...... How many more threaddie kiilers have you got left? They are out of production aren't they?
Well done!!
25-02-2007, 07:47 PM
Champion Effort T, You deserve it mate, and what a way to pop that mack cherry
Murph77
25-02-2007, 07:51 PM
Awesome fish T1, good story too. I bet he went bloody hard on that little flick stick, nice work mate
Gee THANKS guys!
HORSE - Neil, you're not wrong! I did have so many things go my way this time and hence why I reckon I was blessed!
FOGGY, Graham, it was a great effort by Phillet! He wanted to test his rig out and he certainly had to do some manouvering at a quick rate. Mind you i was copping a ribbing when we got back about how i cost them 45 mins of 'prime' fishing time...
SCALEM, Brian, actually, some Berkley Gulps Jerk Shad 5" in W'melon/Red/Glitter will be just fine! I'm already dredding the day when my supply dries up! I've got 6 & bit packs left and i reckon i'm going to shed a tear when that last one goes on! :'( No more TK's for TINN!!
Take Care T ;D
marty+jojo
25-02-2007, 08:05 PM
Hey T- Well done mate. Which side of mud were you at?;D ;D ;D ;D
Cheers Marty.
For Steve
25-02-2007, 08:11 PM
T1 - that is amazing. Congratulations!
BAR UP
25-02-2007, 08:15 PM
Hey T1, please have a look at my thread in salt water chat Pick Your Brain. I saw you guys this morning and had mabee the same situation happening.8-)
Hey T- Well done mate. Which side of mud were you at?;D ;D ;D ;D
Cheers Marty.
:-X :-X :-X LOL! Funny man Marty! Actually, it was spot XYZ... X=right, Y=over & Z=there... ;D
Blue_Escape
25-02-2007, 08:17 PM
Fantastic effort on Snapper gear!!...you'd want to buy a lotto ticket after that!;)
Blue
wak69
25-02-2007, 08:19 PM
TI, thats a top effort so close to the river congrats mate. wak69
seajay535
25-02-2007, 09:17 PM
well done mate top fish
richieboy
25-02-2007, 09:23 PM
T1. What more can I say but you are the luckiest Arab on the bayside my friend. An epic read and some great work on the driving by phillet. The smile says it all champ.
Another species to add to the ever growing list. What's next?? Awsome stuff!
Rich ;)
Obi _ Wan
25-02-2007, 10:18 PM
T1, What a great fish! Thats a real trophy and a testament to your angling skills on that gear.
You will never forget it mate, what a buzzzzzzz.
Congrats,
Obi_Wan.
Congratulations T1...Im amazed that mackerel didnt snap your rod or destroy your drag...
I said to Aquarius (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=31131) (Brent) today maybe were not getting any snapper because T has been here already and caught them all...Maybe the squire just knew that big mackerel was around so they were all hiding
cheers tim
25-02-2007, 10:42 PM
Woo Hoo well done T a rip snorter there glad you landed it after a long battle. A new avatar pic perhaps.
lumox
26-02-2007, 07:03 AM
great fish mate and on sps is there no end, thought i was lucky landing tuna but look at the teeth on that. great catch well done
Top effort T1 you have proven yourself once again, now there is only one major problem where to find more Threadie killers
Frank OO
26-02-2007, 09:52 AM
T1,
After hearing all the complaints that the Mackerel aren't showing up this year, your post proves that they are around.
Thank you for getting me excited
That's it.....I am fishing Thursday,Friday and Saturday! WhooooooHoooooo!!!!!!!!
Frank OO
TOP STUFF T :)
life is great eh
Cheers Murf
SNAFU
26-02-2007, 10:46 AM
hi T1,
was that you that came in to manly kiosk with 2 other blokes on sun morning about 1030 ish. nice center cab with 4 banger. wife and i left as 3 blokes came up for brunch. looked like you. i said to wife that they had some light gear and were probably after reefies or whiting. hahah.almost went down to check boat out but hade to go. bloody nice fish there. early this month there was schooles of those over at sandhills but no takers, plenty of bite offs though. would have been good fun on 8 pound gear.
SNAFU
26-02-2007, 12:49 PM
So that's what has been cleaning me up out there lately!!
Great story and great result. Not surprised it took so long to get to the boat. It probably did not realise anything was wrong for half the fight with you using that gear.
26-02-2007, 01:24 PM
Awesome catch there T1, but youve done yourself no favours now because whenever you get a 70, 80 or even 90cm Spottie/Schoolie it'll be like " pffftt nothing but bloody bait here today" What a way to break the duck!
Cheers and beers
Hi Guys
Thanks again everyone for your comments!!!!!
RICHIE, breaking my PB Snap (69cm) is really my mission this year... I can see many cold nights at Wello coming up given we spent half of winter last year trying to work the place out. At least we can kick off this year with half a clue...
TIM D, what are you doing Sun morning? Trust me when i say that rod is not going to snap - which is why i bought it!! I'm about to buy my second one of them! It also has a $50 lifetime warranty - break it and take the label and $50 and get a brand newie no q's asked!
DOGS, Dave, the Threadie in the avatar is still special given where it was caught and being my 1st decent fish on the SP's and that outfit! That probably gave me the confidence to handle yesterday knowing what punishment the outfit can cop easily...
SNAFU, yes it was although it was about 11.30ish... you should have come down and said hello!
CHEECH, Craig, if you need a hand sometime out there, pm me! I'll trade you a trip to Wello....
ARGLE, Scott, i'd be just as happy to catch mackerel at that size too believe me...
Take Care T
tfish
26-02-2007, 04:44 PM
Unreal...you had me on the edge of my seat once i saw all the "zzzzz" and when it came to the bboat 6 times....far out. i couldnt imagine the excitement/nerves/adrenalin. so good! nice work
pegasus
26-02-2007, 07:56 PM
T,
absolutly awesome- I have a flip top smile just reading - great report- congratulations
Mate nice fish
Cant believe you showed the secret plakky ;)
Could be another curse about to happen
Well done
Fish soon
Ibbo
Steven78
26-02-2007, 09:06 PM
Good no ya good to see that your back in form :) I geatherd that your arms are still saw :)
I will be going out this weekend to Mud if the weather permits. I think the TC-low up north might put a stop to things as the charts have it on the move.
3rd degree
26-02-2007, 09:33 PM
Wicked fish for the light gear!
I was only looking at a Reddington in a shop at the weekend, what size/weight is yours?
2DKnBJ
26-02-2007, 09:59 PM
Very nice fish T1.Excelent job on landing the fish with the placcy outfit.
Certainly would have been a welcome surprise instead of the snapps you were chasing.
Cheers Dazza
Wicked fish for the light gear!
I was only looking at a Reddington in a shop at the weekend, what size/weight is yours?
Hi Jim
It's a 7' and can't remember the weight. I'll find out when i get home and i'll pm you tomorrow....
STEVEN78, Steve, i'm more bloody sore from soccer tonight than i am from yesterday!
Thanks everyone!
Take Care T
Mate nice fish
Cant believe you showed the secret plakky ;)
Could be another curse about to happen
Well done
Fish soon
Ibbo
IBBO, perhaps someone might take note and find some that they can 'sell' to me...;)
Soon!
Take Care T
Silent
27-02-2007, 06:40 AM
T1,
Wow a first Mackeral at 135cm length and I never heard anyone claims first on this size but YOU!!! And you would have won $200,000 instant scratchy ticket.
You made me excite when I read your report especially ZZZzzzZZZ (just letting you I love those ZZZ’s)
Well I put my hand pat on your shoulder for first bloody Mackeral, your dream comes true...:)
marty+jojo
27-02-2007, 06:23 PM
Hey T, I got plenty of those 5 Inch jerk shads....... Which side of Mud were you at?;D ;D Marty.
Hey Marty
If you've got some, i'll pay good money and i'll even take you out and show you exactly where i was!!!!! :o
Take care T