View Full Version : Tweed Rats

BLOOEY
24-02-2007, 08:18 AM
Went (bait fishing) in the tweed yesterday something i havent done in a long time and managed three little kings 60cm.Also had what i think was a jack bust me off in the rocks,and another big fish comprehensively smoke me.I was using 30lb mono and had no chance.

masterdusky
24-02-2007, 09:06 AM
great fish mate, sounds like a nice little session u had there, what bait and which wall were u fishing nrth or sth ??

BLOOEY
24-02-2007, 09:41 AM
Using strip baits masterdusky,i could tell you the location but then i would have to make you dissapear.haha

Cod King
24-02-2007, 09:59 AM
Looks to me like they might be little amberjacks to me? Same genus, Seriola, looks to be deeper bodied than the kings??

flickflack
24-02-2007, 10:41 AM
Yup , those are young Amberjacks. There have been a few around the Tweed lately.

BLOOEY
24-02-2007, 11:24 AM
There you go ay.Could have sworn they were kings.Whats the size limit on ambos?

richos
24-02-2007, 12:13 PM
Nice Amberjacks mate. well done
Been getting a few in the seaway lately, they sure go hard

Seagull
24-02-2007, 09:30 PM
Great Fish, I hope to have a brag with beauties like these.
Am heading down to the Tweed for Easter with the family for camping holiday, taking the boat, what can I expect to catch on SP's! Is it better to fish east or west of old Pacific Hwy?
Any advise welcome

BLOOEY
25-02-2007, 12:12 AM
Went down again today and got another not in the same numbers though.Trevs and tailor are my staple on sps down there.

flickflack
25-02-2007, 09:44 AM
Seagull

Mate if you head down this way give me a hoy and i will head out with you one morning and show you a few spots. You can grab my e mail address out of Queensland Or NSW Fishing Monthly.

Rod

Murph77
25-02-2007, 08:04 PM
Nice session mate

Seagull
27-02-2007, 09:31 PM
Flickflack
I have looked through last 3 months of fishing monthly am unable to find e-mail address.
More info please ,I would like to follow up on invite

frenzy
28-02-2007, 04:21 PM
we have been getting smoked in, im guessing the same area.got 6 small AJ's there on monday, a small cobia and a 6 ft shark.got dusted by what we reckon was a bigger cobe

flickflack
28-02-2007, 05:10 PM
Seagull

I do the Tweed report mate.

Rod

BLOOEY
01-03-2007, 08:09 PM
Frenzy
Good to see im not the only one getting smoked.You fishing from shore or boat mate?

Randall
02-03-2007, 03:38 PM
Greg..../just chuck em in the water and the fish will find you mate. ;-)

Hope your tweed easter goes well....would have loved to get down there for a day or so`s fishing with ya. I`m orf to Mackay though.

RG