View Full Version : Ross River Barra - reliable back stop
Mozza
22-02-2007, 08:44 PM
Guys,
As promised a quick show and tell from Tuesday.
After scouring far and wide for a feed of barra for nil I finall gave in and listened to the little devils in my head and paid a visit to my usual spot on the banks of the Ross River below Aplins Weir. Needless to say the rocks were lined almost shoulder to shoulder with aspiring fishos some looking the part and others clearly just trying not to look like greenhorns - we all start somewhere (an' I bet the local shops were loving it).
In my 6 years in Townsville, I have not seen the rocks below the weir fire like this - this is reminiscent of Shady Camp up in the NT. Seriously.
Pretty much everyone I've spoken to has said to me that they have seen a fish been brought within 5 or so min. That's a case of stand in the line, when you get there if you haven't caught something within 5min, you're a Jonah - ya might as well sell the gear and go camping.
I'm almost tempted.... maybe up the ante a little and try poppering after dark. Yeah, I think I'll do that.
In the meantime, back to the show and tell. With the water still way up the bank, I had to pitch my gear a couple of metres up the bank and cast-netting for livies wasn't funny. I stupidly packed my 12ft draw-string which is hard to throw in normal circumstances - trying it with water up to the goolies well, you get the gist. Luckily, I managed a mullet and a handful of herring.
With there being plenty of flow, I went a lip-hooked livie on a paternoster out in the curent-affected deeper water. I dropped another livie in close near the edge of the 'drop off'. Well, it wouldn't have been 10mins when I spotted the shallow line jump. I got the rod out of the tube before the fish could feel any resistance (even tho' the abu 6500 was already in free-spool), pulled a couple of extra line off the spool to give the bugger plenty of time to swallow. Well, she fair took off away from the bank toward the centre and proceeded to tell one and all that she was attached to my rod (and my location) by jumping at least half a dozen times.
That's a lot for a bigger barra - and she continually went on runs away from the bank each time I thought she was done.
Finally ran her up the bank and after a couple of 'hail Mary's' to the fish gods, I packed up and went home with 94cm of barra under the arm and some restored faith in my fishing abilities.
Pic attached. Enjoy.
Mozza
kingkev
23-02-2007, 07:57 AM
AAAAAAARRRRRRGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am jealous. I went to the spot yeaterday. Rained like hell. Yes the rocks looked very busy with fisherpersons everywhere. On the Annandale side I watched a guy land something close to 1m.
Istruggled in the mud with my 9ft cast net to get bait. NOTHING except for 2 small catfish.(what a joke)
Ended up staying for 2 hours casting my lure everywhere.................came home wet and miserable and NO FISH
Next time
Pistol_P
23-02-2007, 09:29 AM
Good read mate....And super fish!...8-)
Mozza
23-02-2007, 09:36 AM
Kev,
Man thats bad luck - have you tried getting livies at the Queen St roundabout - thats a pretty safe bet for livies this time of year (even the odd prawn)?
I'm going down tonight with a couple of SP's and poppers - might see you there.
Thanks Pistol_P
Mozza
kingkev
23-02-2007, 10:34 AM
Hi Mozza,
I was thinking of castnetting the Annandale side and carrying them over
how frustrating........................BUGGER
Mozza
24-02-2007, 05:13 PM
Hi guys,
A quick update.
I spent about an hour and a half flicking SP's on the rocks yesterday (Sat). Not even a bump.
And I didn't see anyone bring a fish in (my 9yo boy did). So my conclusion: with the tides neaping from 4m kings, the fish have perhaps headed downstream chasing some of the massive schools of fish further down the estaury. This is an interesting theory and perhaps someone has a good news story from further down the river.
Mozza
Taipan
25-02-2007, 03:11 PM
Well done Mozza, I 've heard the firfies, but your the fist i've seen with proof.
Kev, I might try down where i tokk you next weekend if the wind stay up, other wise i'll try for mackeral.
kingkev
26-02-2007, 08:03 AM
Mozza.
Your theory sounds feasible. That will mean that the early morning bigger tides will once again push the bait up to the weir and the Barra will be on in the mornings.
I have Friday off so I will hit Aplins early morning (5:30am) and see if I can get some live bait from the lagoon (Annandale side) and get them into the deep water where the flow is strong....................
Mozza
26-02-2007, 11:28 AM
Another quick update: tested my popper theory Sat night for ~hour or so. Nuthin' not even a bump and the other doz or so fishos (including 2 tinniies) weren't doing much better so might try poppering again Fri night.
Kev, priorities mate; go shallow first then put one out deep remember slack water = barra.... Going to troll breakwater Wed a.m.
See ya.
Doug
kingkev
26-02-2007, 01:09 PM
Hopefully the wife will tag along and we can have 4 rods in operation
I am after the one that got away................it could take years for that happen again. I am sure we will use herring and mullet.
Good luck on wednesday.....................fished my spot 5am -8:30am..............not even a bite.
Many people but never saw a thing being pulled out of the water............once again heaps of bait around
Mozza
26-02-2007, 01:48 PM
Yep,
There's a timing issue here - look for the 'old salts' - when you see them coming to fish along the breakwater, that's the time to be there. These guys have all the knowledge...
Mozza
noodlemantra
26-02-2007, 02:38 PM
Kev,
Im keen for a friday morning session as well. Do you want to meet up? I'll be there from about 5.30am onwards. I just live 100m away on the annandale side.
Mozza - well done. I was there on the 19th for 2 hrs am and pm and saw 9 barra landed. Went home without a single hit and instead downed 6 beers and flew to melb a very pissed man.
Saw its still going over this morn as i walked across to grab a cab to the airport. At work now and get abck on thurs night
kingkev
26-02-2007, 02:56 PM
Hi Noodles,
Sounds great............5:30am should be good. It's still pretty dark but surely light enough to get some good live bait.
We will be there............great to meet up and hit the barra....He!he!
noodlemantra
27-02-2007, 09:03 AM
Kev,
Yeah no worries mate. I will be there. I will be coming down on the annadale side....meet at the gazebo there?
noodles
kingkev
27-02-2007, 09:36 AM
All good Noodles..............Gazebo at 5:30am
Mozza
27-02-2007, 09:55 AM
I might pop in on my way to work - will you still be there around 8-8:30?
Mozza
Rumpig
27-02-2007, 01:47 PM
Would one or two of you blokes be willing to show me and one of my mates around a bit in Townsville, we'll be coming up in a bit over a week for 5 days and need a bit of advice/guidence.
kingkev
27-02-2007, 02:42 PM
Ok Mozza,
See you there before you go to work. You will be sorry you never woke up early to hit the fishing...he!he!
Mozza................seen as you have been a local for yonks.....I will let you reply to the above message
kingkev
27-02-2007, 03:16 PM
Hi Rumpig,
I am still learning the ropes here in Townsville. Aplins weir at this time of the year especially after some good rains apparently excites the Barra. They do not exactly jump on to your hook and I am yet to catch one from Aplins weir fresh or saltwater side.
Most of my fishing is done around the rockwalls near the harbour. I use 30lb braid and 60 lb nylon leader and get into them every now and again. I must say that the last 5 times, I have come home home with nothing. An indigenous mate told me that there was too much fresh and I should give it another 3 weeks or so. If I never fished in 3 weeks I would go bonkers...........so I try anyway.
Thats about the extent of my experience up here. Apparently rocks at Palleranda and sometimes near the rockpool (strand) one can catch something descent.
If you guys have a boat I am sure your fishing escapades up here will be very good..........that is of course if you do not run into any floating handbags.
Good luck guys
waiting for your reports
Taipan
27-02-2007, 05:33 PM
Hey Rumpig, check your PM mate
Mozza
27-02-2007, 08:14 PM
Looks like Rumpig's sorted.
Kev, the proof will be in the pudding...
Mozza
Mozza
01-03-2007, 10:34 AM
Guys,
Went out 4:30am this morning trolling the 'walls for 3/4? small cod. If anything, there is more bait hanging around out there than last week. The sounder often showed a 'black-out' from top to bottom. And I'm talking everywhere: right out the front away from the wall, patches in the harbour, the duck pond, everwhere.
There is more action now - mostly little GT, long tom and the occasional boil that indicated something a bit more significant. Well, I went through my tackle boxes before I finally started hooking small cod on SP in gold bomber colours. Possibly would have had better luck with a lighter lure as the the bait coughed up by the cod was white/silvery sardines(?). I have a white Nilsy Spearhead that didn't get tested because time ran out.
Kev et al, good luck tomorrow - still hoping to see some decent 'catches'...
Mozza
kingkev
01-03-2007, 10:54 AM
Hi Mozza,
yes I also hope something jumps on my hook. I want to cast net after work out along the breakwater wall.........the little beach where the rocks jut out facing palleranda. Any suggestions for out there................I will load up the paternoster with livies and probably use a hard body lure to keep me occcupied. Might try the duck pond or just on the otherside of that wall. I think it will be too windy to get it into the shipping channel
I will try from 5-7pm
see you Tomorrow
noodlemantra
01-03-2007, 02:10 PM
see you tomorrow morning kev and mozza. kev are you going to bring a cast net??? i dont have one at present, and wouldnt mind having a livie out, whilst flicking at the same time.
i'll bring some beers, just in case we one.8-)
kingkev
01-03-2007, 02:49 PM
Hi Noodles,
I will probably be there a little bit before 5:30 and YES I will have a cast net. Hopefully We can get some livies...............I am sure there are herring in the lagoon but hoping for nice big mullet as well
see you in the morning
upstart
01-03-2007, 03:26 PM
Hey Mozza, how did the Barra taste? She looks a bit greeny. Do you think it was one that came over the wall? I saw a barra landed there on Monday arvy around 5 I think. It would've been about a metre. The best fishing I ever had at Aplins was back in '91 when a mate and I wagged school and fished Mister Twisters from the rocks, casting downstream and then sloooooowly winding them back against the current. We caught over 50 between us in a couple of hours. Most were between 5o and 60cm but there was the odd bigger one. All went back in as it was closed season. That same season we found heaps of top barra lures from all the newbies in the area. They were getting snagged on the rocks and sticks and the steel bars and we'd go in with the goggles on and get them later. School days, they were the best.
went down there this afo, plenty of fisho's not much going on till sunset, then it picked up, onelad was there with a fly, he nailed 5 or so, just where the water runs into the river.
I managed to nail 1, drifted a little livey down the flow, WOOOHOOO
was only 50cm, but my first barra, so am pretty stoked
thanks to Nathanrb4 for showing me around
Juzo
nonibbles
01-03-2007, 10:53 PM
I might pop in on my way to work - will you still be there around 8-8:30?
Mozza
I'm thinkin' I might be there about that time (gotta drop wifey & kid off at school first). Will have cast net. But mainly play with sp now.
Taipan
02-03-2007, 04:49 PM
Maybe we should have a quick M&G down at the weir when Rumpig gets up this way, go down, down a few coldies, have a fish and a yarn.
Fisher4life
02-03-2007, 05:41 PM
one of my students from school brought in a picture of 2 solid barra caught at black wier on lures wednesday night..... still waiting to hook a fish in these northern water, doesn't seem to be as easy expected.
It's good to hear that a few of you guys are getting into the fish, if anyone want's to offer some advice or more..., I'm always willing to learn!!
kingkev
03-03-2007, 09:30 AM
Well wife and I met Noodles at 5.30am and started looking for bait. Struggled to find bait and my arms were struggling to cast the net properly. We ended up with monster size eels. Not a lot happening................maybe later arvo early evenings could change things
thats fishing
Mozza
03-03-2007, 09:39 AM
Okay Taipan,
You're it. Give the where/when and I'll be there.
upstart, I never had the luxury but I've picked up a handful of good lures over the last coupla weeks. Mono's like smoke - if you follow it, you're sure to find the fire; metaphorically. I went down to fish Friday night with the kids but packed up after 10 minutes because I can no longer stand the stench and putrescence of all the crap, discards and rotting (eel mostly) carcases that litter the banks. Went home and betadine-ed the be-jesus out of all the little scratches etc on my legs to make sure I didn't get bloody septeceamia or something worse.
What a disgrace!:furious2:
There are 2 groups at fault here: the council should provide big waste bins for dead fish, and us for not cleaning up after ourselves. The season has been awsome this year at the weir. Usally the fishing pressure only lasts a week or so but this has been going on since the barra season opening. A little education mightn't go astray either like knowing what will happen if you deliberately or inadvertently kill one of the big eels - they float and rot high and dry on the banks.
Apart from brief sorties after dark with a handful of lures there no way I'm going back to my usual spot until the health of the system returns. >:(
Mozza
Rumpig
03-03-2007, 01:20 PM
Yup, sounds good to me always keen to meet some more fishos!
I just hope my mate's got his living quaters sorted otherwise it could be an interesting week! :P
I'm suprised that Bad boy bubby hasn't contribuited to this thread?
kingkev
03-03-2007, 05:27 PM
I have to agree with Mozza.....................fisherman with very little respect for the surroundings should give it up and stay at home. At home they can litter as much as they want. I wonder if they leave fish carcasses laying around their backyards......... It is a disgrace. Soon the fishemen/women will lose all these beautiful spots because a handful of idiots will enforce the council to close these spots due to too many complaints.
When you have finished fishing, take your burger wrappers, beer cans and fish frames with you.
Rumpig
03-03-2007, 07:07 PM
Sounds a lot like what's happening at a lot of the rockspots round here....
Plastic bags, dead fish, bait, human waste all on the rocks where you leave your gear. Really makes me sick at times!
I almost sprained my ankle at Hat head the other day because some $%^& decided to leave a few hundred meters of line strew over the rocks. :shout: :furious:
Mozza
05-03-2007, 10:57 AM
Well,
After a cr@ppy Sunday trying to complete a reflooring project I threw in the towel and grabbed my rod, a popper, a bomber and a softy and headed down to the rocks at 8:30pm.
Took the dog and found a comfy spot where the fresh is still gurgling through the rocks. Tried the popper for about 15 min for nil, swapped to the bomber for about 10 min for nil then finished off with the placcie for (surprise, surprise) 3 barra in about 10min.
Biggest went about 50 cm and headed off home after losing the placcie in the rocks in deep water but, with stress levels well and truly quashed.
Mozza
kingkev
05-03-2007, 11:17 AM
Fishing has got to be the best stress release activity around.
I spent Sunday morning off the rocks 5-8am................4 trevs
Once again heaps of bait but nothinng substantial to take home. Mullets were being left alone as well as herring. Squid baits accounted for a few fish............how bizzare
Mozza
05-03-2007, 12:39 PM
Dunno about that Kev,
Sometimes I get home with adrenalin still coursing the veins and it takes ages to calm down. But, then big fish will do that ya.
Mozza
Mozza
06-03-2007, 09:05 AM
Arrrgggh!
There's nothing worse than a camera flash going off every 5-10 min not 10m away from you when all you've got to show for your effort is one rat barra and a bruised ego.
I went down to the rocks below Aplins weir again last night with (too much) anticipation. Tried probably around 10 different SP's for nil but, the guys next to me seemed to be having a ball. If any of them is on this forum please report in.
Next time.
Mozza