View Full Version : starlo

fishing for fun
21-02-2007, 05:42 PM
went to see steve strarling and ian miller at rothwell last night talking about using soft plastics and choosing the right rod etc great night and cool freebees anybody else make there? looking to et on saturday.

manchild
21-02-2007, 05:47 PM
Let me guess!They talked about their own designs only and their handler ooops ,sorry sponsors sp"s only.Wonderful salespeople ,not much to do with fishing though.Sorry to be so negative
George

84mick
21-02-2007, 06:04 PM
Oh :( nope didnt even know they where there and I've got my baby shower on Saturday (well at least Im still getting presents :D ). Good on them for handing out freebees and info.

Cheers, Mick.

jm82
21-02-2007, 07:46 PM
i would love to have seen that show but had to work an arvo shift on short notice . was it all worth it.

silver19
22-02-2007, 12:26 AM
Hi what`s the deal on ET anyone know the time & place???

thanks John

22-02-2007, 08:06 AM
They're at sundown marine??? ring them should be able to tell you

LeeannP
23-02-2007, 09:31 AM
Starlo did a one nighter at Sundown Marine on Tuesday then another night at Captain Blighs on Wednesday. He obviously spoke about Squidgies as he was in town promoting the product but if you were in the audience at Captain Blighs you would have also heard him talk about the competitors' products as well as hard bodied lures, gear, rigging, how to fish the soft plastics..... I'm sure that everyone would have picked up something they can try during future fishing trips.
His next Queensland talk is in Townsville next month :)

4x4frog
23-02-2007, 09:46 AM
Let me guess!They talked about their own designs only and their handler ooops ,sorry sponsors sp"s only.Wonderful salespeople ,not much to do with fishing though.Sorry to be so negative
George
Well they wouldn't be pushign Gulps too hard w now would they. Would you go to Toyota and ask about the best points of a new TD Patrol?? I doubt it.
Way too negative, people would go along to learn about fishing..I only wish I'd have known it was on. These types of night are great, if you only learn to tie a different knot you are a winner...everyone would win IMHO as there surely would have been tall tales being told and a few yarns too...my 2c worth

Foxy4
23-02-2007, 10:40 AM
I missed the Tuesday night one but went to the Wednesday and Thursday night ones. Yeah they promoted Hummingbird and Minn Kota on Tuesday night with Tim the Bream Morgan and Garry Howard gave a great talk about the local area Brisbane river to Cab river. Heaps of great give aways and good deals all week long. Last night was Dave Hodge (the Bare Foot Fisherman) and Dave (Nugget) Downie. Both of them gave some really great tips and well worth the trip.
Adam Royter will be there Saturday only and Sunday has ET, Nugget and Gary Howard all being there. I am going over both days with my son. He came away having learnt something (so did I) from the last two nights, so i reckon it was all well worth it. No pushy sales from the Sundown crew either. Bargains there if you wanted or ask or look.
It pays too look for these sorts of things for sure.

T1
23-02-2007, 02:33 PM
Well they wouldn't be pushign Gulps too hard w now would they. Would you go to Toyota and ask about the best points of a new TD Patrol?? I doubt it.
Way too negative, people would go along to learn about fishing..I only wish I'd have known it was on. These types of night are great, if you only learn to tie a different knot you are a winner...everyone would win IMHO as there surely would have been tall tales being told and a few yarns too...my 2c worth

On the money FROG! It only takes one small item of knowledge to make a difference and that makes it all worth it!!

Take Care T

gregdeeth
23-02-2007, 07:57 PM
would have been good to see. spot on frog, these guys show you the way they make their products work, so hopefully you can make them work too.

on another note does anyone know when the brissy tinny and tackle show is on this year?

TheSaint
23-02-2007, 08:13 PM
would have been good to see. spot on frog, these guys show you the way they make their products work, so hopefully you can make them work too.

on another note does anyone know when the brissy tinny and tackle show is on this year?

just watch the top banner on this site & you get the dates mate..

4x4frog
24-02-2007, 09:37 AM
just watch the top banner on this site & you get the dates mate..
:'( That'd be the piece of white screen 19x2cm that is blank because my wife and son have set pop-up blocker so the bl**dy comp runs faster. I am the only one who uses forums around home and I suffer....doesn't seem fair to me::)