View Full Version : Estuary Cod Setup ???
beedge
18-02-2007, 10:07 PM
Hey
New to this site and this is my first question,
I've got this setup
Berkley Dropshot 3-5kg rod
Abu Cardinal 8 lb reel
Fireline 6 lb mainline
Vanish fluoro 20 lb leader
Big soft plastics
I'll be fishing rock walls from a kayak going for cod that are 40 to 60 cm long, what do you think my chances are :-/
Any advice would be appreciated
from beedge
Hey
I think you would need to up your mainline a bit.. Cod try and get back into their snags pretty quick but once you get em away its pretty easy. I would say maybe 12 or 14lb fireline with the 20lb leader. You want to able to stop the cod pretty quickly. The rest of the setup seems good.
Hope this helps :)
Custaro
18-02-2007, 11:06 PM
agree with nabs. definately beef up your main line for the 60cm ones. there is a big diffenence in grunt between a 40cm and 60cm cod.
beedge
19-02-2007, 10:01 PM
Hey
I think you would need to up your mainline a bit.. Cod try and get back into their snags pretty quick but once you get em away its pretty easy. I would say maybe 12 or 14lb fireline with the 20lb leader. You want to able to stop the cod pretty quickly. The rest of the setup seems good.
Hope this helps :)
Hey thanks for the reply just wanted to make sure that I'm clear on a couple things mainly concerning the rod and reel should I upgrade the size of them both or do you think they can handle running that sought of line through them. When it comes to stopping cod I'll be using a fairly tight drag will this snap my rod in which case should I invest in a new rod and reel to suit the job:-/
Any feedback would be most appreciated
Thanks in advance from beedge
I think you would be fine with the setup. Not too sure on the max drag on the reel but i doubt it would be over 5kg. I reckon your all set to go, just up the line to 12 or 14lb fireline
beedge
20-02-2007, 08:17 PM
Hey
Thanks for the advice nabs I'll be heading out around march hopefully, to give the new setup a go.
Thanks again from beedge:)
SgBFish
22-02-2007, 12:57 PM
Sometimes people over complicate things.
Our Estuary cod setup is a little bit different to you as we target the bigger ones.
Our setup is simple:
Get on the right spot.
Ours is only as big as half a tennis court and can only be fished at certain times of the Month.
There is only one fish that fights less and thats a Wobby and we get a few of them.
As for setup:
Target coffee rocks around Moreton Bay.
Catch live bait, bigger the better.
Attach bait to size 12 hook on long 50Kg trace to 50Kg main line on handline plenty of lead.
Give bait a short pull every few minutes as they tend to hide. I would!!!
Where we go if you haven't got in the first 5 minutes they aren't there.
This is not fishing its harvesting and we only take what we need.
Keep it simple and big...
beedge
22-02-2007, 09:00 PM
LOL
Sounds like you get some monsters mate. I'll eventually get out there to get bigger ones but I'm still getting used to the kayak and what I can land on it.
I know what you mean when it comes to using heavy handlines for the harvest. My dad comes from Thursday Island. I mainly target local areas which mainly is around the pine. When I get more experience I'll take it up north or down south but for the moment that's out of my league. Mainly because I'm fat :-[ Need to build up the stamina:) hehehehehe
Thanks for the reply from beedge
I'll keep it in mind