View Full Version : BIG Threadies - Another DOUBLE!!!!
sharkbaithoohaha
16-02-2007, 05:36 PM
Hi all.Well I went to spot U (U beauty;) ) last night to try my luck and within 10 mins of my first bait hitting the water I hear that wonderful noise that we're all addicted to,zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzthen nothing then zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz again,I slowly and gently wind up the slack to see if I can feel something whenZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZ,so I tighten the drag a little a gently lean back on the rod as I know It's got it and set the hook.some nice long runs and lots of head shakes,and I know what I've got;D .This Bugger went with the tide at first and I thought I was going to get spooled,as I was well into the backing with only about 20-30 more mtrs of line left on the spool.What a fantastic fight I had as it went all over the place and about 20 min later I landed a nice THREADIE;D .
It was now time to have a coldie and let the adrenalin wear off.A materocked up soon after and we chatted for about an hour when I said I'd better have a throw of the net and see if I can get some more live herring.
Once I got my bait out it went,This time on my bait runner with 6lb braid(the first one was on the 6lb mono).After about 10 mins zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz and I'm on again.This fish also was fighting dirty using the tide against me.It also got me down to the backing once,which meant I had 150mtrs of line out and it was downstream with the current and I was really worried I was going to loose it as I had to bring it all the way back against the tide!:'( .After about 20 min I had it back within about 30 mtrs and it went straight to the bottom.I would get it in closer and off it would go again when It bricked me>:( .I couldn't believe it.I could still feel it there but the line was snagged on a rock.5min later with some slack line it unhooked and up she came.You Bloody beauty:D .I was as tired as the fish.
1 was 9kg and the other was 9.5kg both on 6lb 1x mono 1x braid.Lokking forward to overdosing on the Omega 3.
John.
peterm
16-02-2007, 06:29 PM
Well done again John ! ;D Gee you really do have those threadies nailed !
Mate good on ya , that is just awesome :P
16-02-2007, 06:43 PM
No wonder you had some troubles getting those fish in. They are rather large. :P
Congratulations. You do have those threadies sussed out for sure. I have not tasted them ever in my life. Just curious as to how they rate on the taste bud test?
Guess what John?! I'm BACK!!
I await your PM with contact details and look forward to catching up soon for a Threadie session! Keen to see how they go on the SP's again as I got the one in the Avatar on a SP (my ole fav 'The Threadie Killer')...
Take Care T
16-02-2007, 06:46 PM
Get out of town, thats a couple of ripsnorters there John. Maybe you'll have to change your name to Threadiebaithoohaha. I wonder if to much omega 3 is bad for you. Top notch.
chief
16-02-2007, 06:51 PM
Mate, you've got those blokes sussed . Well done
Chuckmeister
16-02-2007, 07:25 PM
You are the threadfin king!
sharkbaithoohaha
16-02-2007, 07:27 PM
No wonder you had some troubles getting those fish in. They are rather large. :P
Congratulations. You do have those threadies sussed out for sure. I have not tasted them ever in my life. Just curious as to how they rate on the taste bud test?
Poodroo I just finished eating the wings,baked in the oven with a little garlic,butter,salt& pepper.Beautiful.They really are a loveley eating fish.Some say they are just like a saltwater Barra,but as I don't live up north I can't verify this.I would rate them better than snapper though.
16-02-2007, 07:36 PM
I can't imagine a bloke your size tires very easy, so that says how much of a fight these things put on. Well done, especially having the patience to wait that long until the fish came out from the snag.:tekst-toppie:
DaMaGe
16-02-2007, 07:53 PM
WOW! Top effort. I would defiently say after your previous threads on these fish that you certainly got a knack.
Im very curious which part of the river your onto these? Suppose that secret will never drop.
Jaysea
16-02-2007, 08:21 PM
thats tops. I like the spot U you use lately I have found spot F
2DKnBJ
16-02-2007, 09:43 PM
Your not too far off the mark by saying they taste alot like Barra.
I grew up in Nth QLD and the Threedie fillets would be sold down here as Barra.They even have a very simmilar W pattern in the fillets.
Cheers Dazza
PS. Couple of very nice fish
16-02-2007, 09:48 PM
Fine effort to get two of the ghosts of our waterways. I would love to score just one. I was blown away by a couple in the Noosa system during the late 70's where they threw the hardbodies at the later stages of long fights.
heathrow69
16-02-2007, 11:51 PM
Sharkbait does it again!!!!!!!!
Well done on your effort mate, they are big ones thats for sure and you are right mate, when i talk to you you say now is the time and you deliver the goods, great catch mate!!!!
Congrats Mate!!!
Heath.
p.s it is about time i replied hey mate lol
sharkbaithoohaha
17-02-2007, 09:39 AM
I can't imagine a bloke your size tires very easy, so that says how much of a fight these things put on. Well done, especially having the patience to wait that long until the fish came out from the snag.:tekst-toppie:
Hi Scalem.With the light gear I really get an adrenalin rush,also on light gear I can't stop for a second.I only stop winding on the really powerful runs, but the second it slows(but is still taking a bit of line) I'm back at it to get every inch of line back.If I don't I'll be spooled.You can only put so much on them with the light gear,so it's quite full on.My wife says I'm the most impatient person she knows,but when it comes to fishing,well that's different.My biggest worry was how bad the line had been roughed up,and if it did come out,if it took off again would it break,so i backed the drag off more and Bob's your uncle.That was on my mind and I was preparing for MASS dissapointment If I did get busted off,as bringing it back against the tide was hard work.
sharkbaithoohaha
17-02-2007, 09:46 AM
Sharkbait does it again!!!!!!!!
Well done on your effort mate, they are big ones thats for sure and you are right mate, when i talk to you you say now is the time and you deliver the goods, great catch mate!!!!
Congrats Mate!!!
Heath.
p.s it is about time i replied hey mate lol
Thanks Heath.You know me mate,I don't Bull#@t about fishing.I'm assuming the reds didn't co-operate for you last night??Talk to you on Monday mate.
17-02-2007, 09:49 AM
Poodroo I just finished eating the wings,baked in the oven with a little garlic,butter,salt& pepper.Beautiful.They really are a loveley eating fish.Some say they are just like a saltwater Barra,but as I don't live up north I can't verify this.I would rate them better than snapper though.
Better than snapper???? :o I seriously need to meet up with you and have some tuition on how to catch these threadies. ;D Now you have me wanting to taste them.
sharkbaithoohaha
17-02-2007, 10:42 AM
Your not too far off the mark by saying they taste alot like Barra.
I grew up in Nth QLD and the Threedie fillets would be sold down here as Barra.They even have a very simmilar W pattern in the fillets.
Cheers Dazza
PS. Couple of very nice fish
Hey Dazza.You're spot on there about them selling threadies as barra.It's for this reason that they have done DNA finger printing on them to TRY and stop that from happening.As you say ,and I've heard it elsewhere that it's almost impossible to tell the 2 filletts apart.
timor 2
17-02-2007, 03:50 PM
Hi sharkbaithoohaha they are both mighty fish you got there, are they seriuosly from the brissie river?
17-02-2007, 04:18 PM
Great work there!
Let me know when you're taking students out for tuition, count me in
84mick
17-02-2007, 04:41 PM
Mate what can I say....... Thats a bloody ripper! ;)
Cheers, Mick.
straddy77
17-02-2007, 09:19 PM
top work mate! 2 in one trip, u lucky bugger!
sharkbaithoohaha
18-02-2007, 10:33 AM
Thanks again guys.Timor 2 - yes they are out of the river mate.There was a right up in Fridays paper about them and apparently something Friday night on Channel 10.The paper said that they have only started coming in the river,but may I say that they have been here for at least as long as the aboriginals.He stated that they normally don't venture south of Noosa.Well I know for a fact that you will get them in the TWEED river.Scientists eh!!One thing for sure is that they are breeding in the river and there numbers are improving,but with papers and TV networks advertising the fact the good numbers may be short term only.I went out last night to get a stock of bait and every man and his dog was out fishing for them after hearing about it on the telly and paper.I didn't see anything but rays and catfish caught all night.LOL.It's one thing to know they're there and another to know when and how to catch them.
Straddy - ! got 2 a fornight ago also and left them still on the chew.I only take what I can eat and leave some for next time.
Blacked - I've had a few people show a similar interest and was thinking of starting up a charter.LOL
stuartym
18-02-2007, 04:41 PM
Hi John, OUTSTANDING fish there mate, I have an idea where you are
after meeting you there the other afternoon while you were going for prawns,
excellent fish keep going hard...
stuart
sharkbaithoohaha
18-02-2007, 07:52 PM
Hi John, OUTSTANDING fish there mate, I have an idea where you are
after meeting you there the other afternoon while you were going for prawns,
excellent fish keep going hard...
stuart
Hi Stuart,Thanks mate.I thought you might reply after meeting you the other day.The prawns have been hard but it was good to get the fish.As far as the location :-X :-X ,I hope you take bribes:P .I'll see you round.
werewolf
19-02-2007, 12:33 PM
flaming awesome catch!!!
What bait do you use mate????
My bro's mate got a little one on eel recently, and I have heard of a 1.1 m fish caught on an eel fillet just last weekend!
Murph77
19-02-2007, 02:59 PM
Awesome fish mate, great work on the 6lb string as well
sharkbaithoohaha
19-02-2007, 05:27 PM
Werewolf,I use live herring or big bananas.As far as using eel? well whatever works for your mate.As they say If it ain't broke don't fix it!!
Murph - Thanks mate.I know guys that get on heavier line,but for me the light gear doesn't put them off when they're finicky and it adds to the sport of it.I would rather have a good fight for 25-30 mins than a skull drag job and she's all over in 5.They're not that easy to get so I try to make the most of it.
werewolf
20-02-2007, 11:42 AM
Thanks sharkbait. I know a good little spot where I've got some big prawns before so I will give it a go sometimes. I've I get any herring I will be sure to use wire as the bities show no remorse:)
sharkbaithoohaha
20-02-2007, 05:20 PM
Werewolf,if your ever going to chase the threadies mate ,I'd stay well clear of the wire.I use a 30lb trace and Demon cicle hooks and bite-offs are rare as they hook the sharks 90% of the time in the corner.That's just my opinion,and as they say "Opinions are like Assh#@es - everybody has one.
pickers
20-02-2007, 08:23 PM
hoohaha
a friend of my'ne has got a couple of salmon in the river and one of them went 16kg , thought he was pulling my leg until he showed me the pics of it.
BLOODY HUGE
pickers