View Full Version : best hardbody for Jacks
yellahunter
13-02-2007, 04:33 PM
Hey Guys,
most of my jack fishing is done with livies however I want to start using hard bodies. Can anyone suggest a few to start with in the local Golod Coast creeks.
I heard the Gold Bombers are good but what else is worth a shot. The areas I fish average 2-3m
Kiktz
13-02-2007, 07:05 PM
USE SP's Have had alot more success with them
spiderbite
13-02-2007, 09:09 PM
Hi Yella,
if your trolling deep rock bara and such try the River2Sea Downsider 120 a mate of mine swears by them for jacks on the Gold Coast.
geoff72
13-02-2007, 10:07 PM
cant go past the gold bomber i reckon, but have heard jack snacks are a good lure.
yellahunter
14-02-2007, 08:44 AM
do you just use the small bomber geoff with the small bib (Shallow runner),
I saw one in the mart the other day that looked about 100ml long
Why-ting
14-02-2007, 09:45 AM
G-day yellahunter. Mate i use the 15A which is the 1 about 110mm most of the time but the smaller bommer also works well. Try stuff like the Manns strech + range, Lively lures Mad Mullet, Riedys Goulbourn Jacks, C-lures Jack Snacks and Mac's Jackhammers. All these lures cover different situations and conditions, casting or trolling. Dont just fish with HBs as plastics work really good aswell. Hope this gives ya a bit of a start.
Cheers Whytey
nuggstar
14-02-2007, 04:59 PM
plastics do work. my mate got a good jack today on a 50mm bloodworm squidgy
wriggler and i got a small jack and two nice BIG moses perch, 4 mid size bream, a little flatty and a big eye trev all on a micro mullet in fluro pink (i have found a new turn-to-lure 4 muddy water) go the mad mullets they DO work, and i have been smashed up using jacksnacks in the fire oringe colour. good luck
ps. jacks love live prawns, give them ago if the lures ain't working for ya
BlitzBaga
03-03-2007, 09:37 PM
The best I have heard for jacks is a stetch 12 hotllips and a red mini blitzbaga
banshee
04-03-2007, 05:01 PM
Go to anglers warehouse at Tweed and ask for the bomber in "moretien".
Jeremy87
04-03-2007, 09:58 PM
Cheap ones so it doesn't hurt so much when the bastards brick you.
sooty_mad
05-03-2007, 07:15 AM
No doubt in my mind. The smaller deep diving Gold Bomber, the one with the big bib trolled or cast. Up grade the hooks to Owner and hang on.
Kind regards... David
the gecko
05-03-2007, 04:27 PM
Any hardbody in gold and black colors. The colors are more important than the brand.
Reidys B52s are my favs.
Berkley Frenzys are excellent cheapies if you are likely to lose a few.
Cant go past Prawnstars, but they arent really a hardbody.
devocean
05-03-2007, 07:06 PM
Mate if you use bombers definetly upgrade the hooks they bend no worries
Without doubt the best two lures I have found are The Rapala Skitterpop, in The flouro green colour and the River2sea bubble pop 88 in the goldy colour. I have caught all my jacks on these 2 lures......hang on, Ive only caught 2!!!!!!Smiley face Smiley face
Paddyinoz2006
07-03-2007, 07:48 PM
why are bomber lures so low guage hooks for the fish they can catch. they are not exactly a cheap lure.
greenie.77
08-03-2007, 08:40 PM
mate when fishing with poppers i have found any colour will do the job its more the noise and the size that matters, i have used pink gold silver with red river2sea bubble pops and they all work a treat.