View Full Version : First Ever Jack....you Bloody Beauty

TimD
11-02-2007, 12:25 AM
Amanda and i decided to hit spot X at tinny creek this arvo for a few hours,We arrived around 6pm and noticed a storm brewing in the distance,We decided to rig up and make the most of the time there before the storm came,The first baits hit the water and straight away the little pickers were stripping the bait off our hooks..A few baits later and amanda had snagged up on something,I asked her to hold my rod while i tryed to get her off the snag..I ended up busting off the snag and lost her leader,While i was tying on her new leader she got a massive hit on my rod which busted my line,I gave her back her rod and she continued to fish while i tyed on my new leader,With my new leader on i chucked out another bait and waited....All of a sudden my rod almost rips out of my hand and im on,The drag was set nice and tight but this fish was still peeling off some line..I started to regain some line then thought what the hell have i caught..First i thought maybe a big cod,then i thought maybe a nice snapper...Then a big bloody jack makes its way to the waters edge..And boy was i excited,My first ever jack and it's a bloody monster measuring in at 50cm,After all that excitement the storm and rain was heading our way fast so we got the hell out of there...Now for all you jack fans out there this jack did make its way into my esky only due to it being my first ever jack.

I would have posted this report earlier but ive been driving around showing (bragging) to my family and friends LOL

cheers tim :D :D :D

Rainbowrunner
11-02-2007, 04:13 AM
good to see mate

11-02-2007, 04:18 AM
very nice fish,

they are one of the best fish to eat,

don't feel guilty, smash it up and enjoy!!!!!!!

chief
11-02-2007, 04:36 AM
What a way to open the account, congrads thats brilliant

Shane Boese
11-02-2007, 05:03 AM
Way to go mate.

Silent
11-02-2007, 06:24 AM
Tim,

Congrat and bet your "high" will stay for few days...:D

murf
11-02-2007, 06:56 AM
what a first jack :) top stuff

I am rigged up ready to go down the back to the creek and try for my first jack this arvo. I hope I wish

Cheers Murf

11-02-2007, 07:16 AM
Mate if you had never caught one before I can understand the decision to keep that on in the esky. I hear they are great to eat so the curiosity would have got the better of me too if I were in your shoes. Well done. You caught your first in style. If you are going to get one you might as well make it a biggun.;)

Chuckmeister
11-02-2007, 07:25 AM
Well done Tim. Glad you did well. I live pretty close to Tinny creek and when I've ventured out, I've had no luck at all including lures and live bait, so you're making me very jealous! Was it a land-based effort?

TimD
11-02-2007, 07:37 AM
Thanks for all the positive replies guy's...If anyone is wondering what bait i got him on it was a whole small squid.

cheers tim :D

Mullet Musketeer
11-02-2007, 08:24 AM
You see thats what happens when you get rid of the boat and focus on your fishing - well done mate - I am still to get one but I hope it is only a matter of time.

dcoop
11-02-2007, 09:20 AM
Great jack for your first one.....well done

Dorado
11-02-2007, 09:40 AM
Well done of an absolute stonker of a Jack! Where abouts is tinny creek?

Dorado

11-02-2007, 09:49 AM

Nice work there tim!

Tinny creek is my local haunt, has ben for many many years

I will be there this arvo looking for prawns.

DORADO _ It's tingalpa creek, it splits lota and thorneide at the mouth.

11-02-2007, 09:54 AM
what time Dave? Might come down and say gday

kingtin
11-02-2007, 10:22 AM
What a fish Tim! :o Well done on your first. FWIW I'm gonna keep my first legal as well. Been told so many times how good they taste that it'd be a crime not to try 'em.

11-02-2007, 10:27 AM

should be there a bit after 3 mike.... You know my boat? 3.9 Horizon, 9.9 Merc, Black ausfish stickers, and the good looking skipper :P

Wahoo
11-02-2007, 11:22 AM
well done Tim, great reds arnt they

White_Steenbras
11-02-2007, 11:38 AM
Well done Tim, thats a really nice size Jack, hope he goes down well with a copuple of ales.

Top work mate.

greenie.77
11-02-2007, 11:49 AM
well done mate great fish hope you get a lot more.

11-02-2007, 11:57 AM
i assume round the mouth/ramp area

TimD
11-02-2007, 02:52 PM
Well done Tim. Glad you did well. I live pretty close to Tinny creek and when I've ventured out, I've had no luck at all including lures and live bait, so you're making me very jealous! Was it a land-based effort?

Yes mate...Amanda and i were land-based :thumbsup:

cheers tim :)

Pistol_P
11-02-2007, 03:05 PM
Thats a top jack for ya first one!
My first was only a tacker of 36cm....:(

indy
11-02-2007, 07:24 PM
Well done tim its going to be hard to better that one

gregdeeth
11-02-2007, 07:40 PM
doing it in style. awsome fish

Aquarius
11-02-2007, 07:50 PM
Gee Tim you sure you want to catch a nice squire now...lol
That Jack sure looks awsome mate....You are one up on me because i'm yet to catch a jack.
Hope we can open the squire account next weekend mate.
Cheers Brent

sea tiger
11-02-2007, 08:49 PM
Congrat's on your first Jack, is a beauty, your hooked for life now, you will be chasing them for life now, there very addictive! Don't feel guilty bout keeping your first trophy Jack, Top effort! Try and wipe that smile off your face, betcha cant, unreal feeling when you catch your first! Cheers Tiger

geoff72
12-02-2007, 08:21 AM
ripper jack tim,well done

BrandonH
12-02-2007, 10:21 AM
Great fish tim!!! well done mate;) your hooked now lol

Brandon...

richieboy
13-02-2007, 02:56 AM
Well done Tim. I read this post with a smile on my face and can't wait to fly back and try to get into a few when I get back.
I can't call it my spotX anymore now that you've nailed that Jack that I let go a few months ago.
Seriuosly tho mate, there are some serious jacks there, as well as the occasional cod. ;)
That is a top fish and in no way should you feel bad in keeping the devil. First ever, top stuff.
May see ya down there sooner or later. A few new lures to try out.

Richie

cuzzamundi
13-02-2007, 12:47 PM
bloody awesome bruiser mate! welcome top the world of addiction!.

cuzza