View Full Version : Barra in the Cod Hole

MickS
05-02-2007, 09:21 PM
Local fishing report today on Coast FM says a 9.8 kg Barra taken on a live bait in the Cod Hole, Maroochydore.

Anyone else hear this?

Apparently not uncommon to catch one, but this is one of the biggest.

quigley595
05-02-2007, 11:55 PM
Didnt hear that one.... What a beauty if it is true!! :P

An escapee from the Barra Farm????

shayned
06-02-2007, 09:48 AM
Threadies in the Brisbane River, barra in the logan and the sunshine coast, just have to wonder how far away are the crocs????????

DaMaGe
06-02-2007, 11:35 AM
Crocs reported as far south as Rocky.

imnotoriginal
06-02-2007, 05:23 PM
bugger it, nuggstar and i were in there with live bait the other day!
Joel

Dignity
06-02-2007, 05:26 PM
Mate got a 1 metre barra in the Noosa river the other week. He didn't have a camera but a passing boatie did - he is still trying to contact him to get the photo to show us.

Taipan
06-02-2007, 07:37 PM
I remember when i was a kid the local cop on Bribie spotted a croc on the southern beaches

snakecatcher
07-02-2007, 09:49 AM
Out of interest has there been any confirmation of this report as there is nothing in the Sunshine Coast daily (which is nothing unusual (-: )

mbt
07-02-2007, 11:57 AM
Yer crocs have been spotted in Bribie , Burpengary creek,Caboolture river, Noosa river , hayes inlet and of cause the logan river where one was shot.

Gladdy
07-02-2007, 01:04 PM
There have been Barra caught in the Maroochy for a while now there wild fish not from the barra park. There are crocs as far south as Bundy also unconfirmed reports of crocs at Tin Can. A 9.8kg barra is a geat catch anywhere just have to put the time and effort in and you maybe rewarded your bycatch would be pretty good anyway Jacks,Cod,Jew and trevors.

Cheers Gladdy

robyoung2
07-02-2007, 01:29 PM
A mate of mine that was on the DPI barra breedingteam about 12 years ago assured me the understanding among the team was barra in the mooroochy river was a fact. I was sceptical of course, but he reckoned if you fished the deeper waters around the full moon you were in a decent chance.
the bloke's a hero in my mind for what they did with barra, and a well known expert in the Australian fish breeding circles (ANGFA), and altjhough "experts" can be wrong, I believe he was at least convinced of this himself. In that I mean he was no Bull artist by character.

Around the same time, I heard a very strong rumor a couple blokes took a surplus spawning of fingerlings and "revamped" places such as the mooroochy river, and some "personal" spots along the coast.

I know no names, and for al I know could be BS. But I have to say I do believe it.

As for Salmon, aren't they supposed to be down this way? I remember catching them retty thick one year at Cribbie. Man that was a while ago, prob 30 years. more?

And when I lived on Bribie, I suppose that was 12 years ago too now, the croc sitings were so thick it was hard to totally dismiss. Especially when as stated, one siting was by a cop.

I thought the siting, (if true) was more likely as escapee from Australia Zoo. I watched Stetve Irwiwn on TV one day showing a scar he'd recieved from a croc. They re-enacted the scenario for TV. A deluge had hit the farm, and a fence was washing away. They were caputring the crocs at night with flood waters pouring through the fence as it was washing away. He was focusing on his heroic saving of the habitat, and how he'd risked his life for the salvation of the local environment.
I was wondering if he'd be so public about it if he croc had escaped, and indeed, if any did?
After all, he also showed how they collected the eggs, so they weren't a danger to the environment; that they raised them artificially both for the welbeing of the babies, and so none excaped. He showed how dangerous and touchy the operation was, with someone fending off the mother while he dug the eggs up with one eye also trained on the agro mum.

It dawned on me with so much tension, and no times wasted as in his own words, the mother was always agro when this was happening, could they miss a few eggs? Surely not too many people have gone through life yet without making a mistake.

With a sudden deluge that saw a adult croc wash almost free, could eggs have hatched unwatched and also been liberated?

Anyway, that's what I figure any (if true) crocs in the passage are attributed to. Rather than natural migration I mean.

rob

rob

Synful
07-02-2007, 03:55 PM
Yer crocs have been spotted in Bribie , Burpengary creek,Caboolture river, Noosa river , hayes inlet and of cause the logan river where one was shot.

Hmm, I remember a while back in the Sunday mail (when i lived in Brisbane) there was a wooden croc found on Bribie and later removed.

Apparently if I remember rightly, rumour was it was put there by a tourism operator "making a few extra dollars" out of some Japanese tourists he was taking around at the time. :)

Dignity
07-02-2007, 07:04 PM
Hmm, I remember a while back in the Sunday mail (when i lived in Brisbane) there was a wooden croc found on Bribie and later removed.

Apparently if I remember rightly, rumour was it was put there by a tourism operator "making a few extra dollars" out of some Japanese tourists he was taking around at the time. :)

sounds like the one at Fraser a couple of months ago - some idiots will do anything for a buck

sam

robersl
07-02-2007, 08:08 PM
the did pull a baby freshwater croc from the banks of the caboolture lakes last year it was sunning itself someone had kept it and must of released when it starting getting 2 big

Dorado
07-02-2007, 09:20 PM
I've got a good bw photo of the Monster croc that was capture and shot in the Logan many years ago, if anyone's interested in seeing it..

Dorado

robyoung2
07-02-2007, 09:50 PM
I wouldn't be surpised to find some clown faking a croc scene, but that doesn't negate the possability of real ones. After all, the cop who is on record said he nearly treat on it while walking his dog, we're in sad nick if a cop is frightened by a chunk of wood, and of course the Logan instance is solid.

There was a trend in Bris. (maybe everywhere?) when I was a kid to keep crocs, just like many now follow the trend to keep reptiles again. crocs are out of the question now, but as you can imagine, if they were legal to keep, many reptile enthusiasts would do so.
And so it was in Bris, the yard next to the chruch I attended for sunday school had a couple in a pond.

When it was made illegal to keep them, it's said (and I imagine is true) many couldn't bring themselves to destroy their beloved animals, and so liberated them in local waterways like people do goldfish etc.
I reckon that accounts for the logan croc/ thats how I see it anyway.

I wouldn't overturn logic and history for a the sake a fake wooden croc. I lived on Bribie and never heard abut the wooden job. Not saying it's not so but. The sunday mail's a rag anyway, have to be careful what they report.

rob

08-02-2007, 05:32 AM
Out of interest has there been any confirmation of this report as there is nothing in the Sunshine Coast daily (which is nothing unusual (-: )

micks and i duplicated this report snakecatcher,,,, the SCD ran a small report in the fishing section,,, have a look under my post titled ""a long from home,,,,"" in this forum,,,

funny to hear about croc sightings on bribie again,,,, when i first moved here 15 yrs ago,,, the place was soon a buzz with a croc in the passage,,,

after numerous sightings and warnings of danger,,, the culprit was a bloke who lived at sandstone point with a ""remote control"" submarine,, that had been modified and camouflaged to look exactly like a croc,,

once caught the story went very quite,,,,,had the lace in stitches for a while though

Topwater Breamer
08-02-2007, 08:20 AM
Spoke to a guy at a local aquarium on the gold coast and he said he has heard of plenty of people who keep barra in fish tanks and releasing them in the brackish when they get too big.

He even said he had heard of someone catching one as far south as south Straddie.

land-lubber
08-02-2007, 08:56 AM
Both barra reports are verrified, thre was a 9.5kg in he cod hole (swan boat hire mate of mine verified) and the noosa barra, i bumped into the bloke at work and he said the local noosa newspaper ran it.

Dignity
08-02-2007, 09:03 AM
hot press

just received from my mate and as promised here is the barra from the Noosa.

searchinthebay
08-02-2007, 07:26 PM
I would be interested in seeing that pic Dorago. I used to fish the junction of the Albert and Logan rivers about 15 years ago. One night we were out there with four rods with 35Lb line and size 4/0 mustard three gangs. One by one each of them got smashed and whatever it was took the lot. i had some 150lb rolls of trace wire onboard so i decided to join them up , put on some 5/0 mustard three gand and a pilly, i tied it to the front of the boat and sat back down and waited. Next thing this thing hit it , pulled the boat 6" down into the water then all went silent. i pulled in the wire and found the hooks straightened out. decided then that whatever was down there was way bigger than the 12' tinny we were in so we decided to head off.

land-lubber
09-02-2007, 06:36 AM
Yeah dignity, thats the fella that came intowork the other day. Caught on a rapala apparently.

CHAPPY
09-02-2007, 07:10 AM
Re Barra In The Maroochy, Given The Extreme Hot Weather In January, Barra Could Have Migrated South. The Black Bank At The Burram Is Noted For Barra And The Maroochy Is Not That Much Of That. Also The Barra At The Barra Farm On The Coast Seem To Survive Ok So Why Cant They In The Wild. Bush Budah.

Dignity
09-02-2007, 08:41 AM
Yeah dignity, thats the fella that came intowork the other day. Caught on a rapala apparently.

He moved to the caost only recently but has been fishing there for a while - he will be out again this weekend. Have fished with him in the Daly, great alround bloke.

sam

Coastie
09-02-2007, 09:17 AM
There was visual of this cod hole barra on the local seven news last night during the fishing report. Looked alright (appeared frozen whole) commentary that if he had caught it a couple of days earlier he would have been in trouble with the closed season.

Dorado
09-02-2007, 06:57 PM
Hey Searchinthebay you can check out that logan river croc and also a huge groper here: http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e100/Oz_Stretch/image002-1.jpg

Dorado

aussie_stu
10-02-2007, 10:27 AM

according to the papers and davos was on a pink tilsan?

Dignity
10-02-2007, 02:12 PM
Unfortunately he caught in the closed season and he didn't take it in to Davo's. He is supporting the fish and it was released. He is hoping to catch it again this weekend.

sam

tigermullet
10-02-2007, 02:43 PM

Is that fair dinkum? Fascinating if true. Perhaps the sightings might be in the same class as UFO's.

Shazbanger
22-03-2007, 11:14 PM
correct me if im wrong but, i heard that years ago the barra farm in bli bli flooded and bags of barra were washed into the maroochy. Down stream i guess??

Zzzzzzz
29-03-2007, 02:58 PM
I would love 2 c that photo of the logan river croc. I have fished the logan all my life as a kid i use 2 play in the scrub around the river,an seen a few slide marks on the banks was always bit suss, dad would never come check it out but. he told me 2 stop talkin rubbish.

snakecatcher
29-03-2007, 03:10 PM
I would love 2 c that photo of the logan river croc. I have fished the logan all my life as a kid i use 2 play in the scrub around the river,an seen a few slide marks on the banks was always bit suss, dad would never come check it out but. he told me 2 stop talkin rubbish.

Is the pic you are after?

http://nla.gov.au/nla.cs-pa-HTTP%253A%252F%252FCATALOGUE.GOLDCOAST.QLD.GOV.AU% 252FUHTBIN%252FPGC_IMAGE.EXE%252FLS-LSP-CD001-IMG0098-MR

barkers creek
29-03-2007, 10:10 PM
crocs as far south as brisbane river, but in low numbers