View Full Version : greenbacks
ginge
04-02-2007, 10:09 PM
hey can any1 help me, id like to kno wats is the best way to catch tailor (greenbacks) thanks 2 every1 who posts:) :D 8-)
spindles
05-02-2007, 07:28 AM
Ginge ,go to hints & tips,then becoming a better fisherman,then tailor. that will help you start. If you can email me your address I could send you a DVD
of a video my wife took of me doing a talk on tailor fishing about fifteen years ago. it will help you get well on your way to catching tailor. Spindles.
jim1980
05-02-2007, 10:34 AM
Hi Spindles,
You should also do a search for any post done by a member here called 'Slider'
Slider is a very experienced fisho from up at Teewah and has developed a very effective method of catching good sized tailor.
Other than that, there are a few different methods including;
a) pilchard on a set of ganged hooks;
b) strip bait (including tailor);
c) spinning metal slugs / lures
Generally you want to find a good beach gutter, and if it happens to have some rocks in it even better.
Or if rock fishing is more you cup of tea, you need to look for a good bit of white water, again with submerged rocks and deep water near by. bring you bait or metal slug through the white water varying your retrieve rate, and if they are there they should hit pretty quick.
dawn and dusk is the best time whether on the beach or off the rocks.
It might help if you gave us some info on what experience and rod/reel combinations you have.
robyoung2
05-02-2007, 10:47 AM
Spindles, where did you used to fish around that time? And is there any footage of the good old spots? Just thinking it might be a real nostagla to watch it. If you have any spare to sell I mean.
rob
surf_man
05-02-2007, 04:33 PM
yep, has been covered before in great detail do a quick search........... ps anyone know why the heck am i now called surf_man......... doesnt have a ring to it like surf_ sniper use to have... not happy have been away to long
surf_man
05-02-2007, 04:34 PM
>:( :'( >:( damm, and now they have got me down as a "NEW" member
84mick
05-02-2007, 04:43 PM
Haha how would that happen "surf_man"? lol
As Jim1980 said, search for old posts from Slider.
Cheers, Mick.
armoz
05-02-2007, 04:45 PM
surfsniper is that where you got to - maybe u got banned and didn't know about it
Ginge - wait till winter mate and hit the surf beaches and rocks - a moving pillie does wonders ..........
Slider
05-02-2007, 07:39 PM
Jeez Drew, all that hard work getting to gold and now you've turned blue. I wouldn't be impressed either and 'surf man' kind of sux a bit.
Ran into Cedric at the mouth this arvy - setting up for the night. He tells me that there were lots of birds and fish working just out of range this morning down there so I'll have a look in the morning. Plenty of reasonable tailor between first and third cuts this arvy. When are you moving to Rainbow by the way?
Ginge, there has been a lot of info posted on this topic and searching through posts - 'Spinning for tailor' and others that I can't remember the title of would be the best way. One thing though - from now until the end of April is usually the best time to find greenbacks south of Fraser Island.
Linds
BLOOEY
05-02-2007, 07:59 PM
Garfish rather than pillies seems to get the better quality tailor if you cant get livies.
scungey
05-02-2007, 08:42 PM
Thing is you are never too old to learn new tricks......
3 years ago I was at Straddie with the boys who consisted of some half assed fishos but some very keen drinkers.
Anyhow we positioned ourselves on a lovely gutter about a 1km from the Pin. There was another vehicle parked there.....a bloody big gold Patrol ute with dual axles on the back...in fact it was probably the best beach rig I've ever seen.
We respectfully fished the surf a little bit away from these two older fellas. There fishing mehtod consisted of reefing out their bait, setting the rods in a couple of extra long rod holders and then walking back to the truck to sip a few XXXX. They were working 2 rods each. All of a sudden they started to pull some absolute horses in. I'm talking 3 to 6 pound mark....bloody stonkers. I started to creep closer up the gutter to them....but I couldn't lose a pillie.
It started to get ridiculous as at one stage they had multiple hook ups. They would reef a greenback up the beach and then run to the other rod. I was starting to get real pissed off...i will give you the drum. It was getting to the stage where I was under their arm pits reefing out inot their same water. They filled a big white tub in no time. We could see the tails pokinmg out of the top of the bins....crikey they were big. In the mean time my mates were back at our vehicle in shock shaking their heads. I couldn't lose a bloody pillie. I though bugger it out comes the big guns....the gar....still no luck....i was getting real shirty!!!!!!!!!!!!
After a while one of the old fellas comes over to me and says " I see you are trying hard there young fella"..try some of this as he lays a nice strip of meat along my palm......"It's bonito" He tells me the method that they use. Big Lead...hoik it out with a strip of Bonito with 2 x 4o or 5o hooks. Well bugger me I change rigs, flick at and BANG!....nice 4 pounder. I thanked bloke who introduced himself as Cedric.... His belief is that the bigger tailor are hear all year round.
I've got to say this event did add an extra string to my bow. About a month later I caught my biggest tailor in conditions that before this experience, I would not rate as ideal greenback conditions. I caught it just after a mate of mine pulled in a nice 5 pounder.....get this it was in November, midday at low tide just out the back of a low tide gutter.....on a strip of Bonito I caught a ten pounder. It wasn't that long as it measured from the top of chest to my knee but it was a big fat bugger.
I can't say I have caught huge amoounts on Bonito but I take it on every trip.....and every once in a while it does produce a quality fish. I am off to Straddie this weekend and as long as that bloody cyclone doesn't make it down the coast...i't will be in my bait esky again.
thankyou Cedric.
ginge
05-02-2007, 10:18 PM
;D 8-) cheers for the posts and ill give them all a go also i live in wa so its along trek to fraser island ty anyways:D 8-)
surf_man
06-02-2007, 05:36 PM
hey linds, how ya been.. yep not happy about the surf man title, sounds alittle gay if you ask me:o .
is the river mouth very dirty after that rain we had. ced the lucky bugger has probly got the whole bottom end to himself.... lucky retired bugger. where theres ced there is tailor.
work has been non stop down hear and will be for at least the next 10 months or so therfore have decided to hand down here a little longer. should be up by the end of the year.... cross fingers.
scungey, if its the cedric i know, his gold patrol has been turned into a dual cab and stretched to accomadate a tray canopy on the back but only has the two axles.... im pretty sure it would be him. the old fella is a tailor gun.
Outdoor Guy
20-02-2007, 08:02 PM
Yeah Drew i thought the same thing Surf Man does sound Gay NOT that theres anything wrong with that LOL
Better see if Mr Ausfish can set it write for you real soon before it sticks mate
Outdoor Guy
20-02-2007, 08:06 PM
Ginge on the subject of tailor i believe it works the same over there as here so go get some thats what i'll be doin next week when i take my xmas holidays