View Full Version : Fishing on my honeymoon trip

rooney
04-02-2007, 05:55 PM
Howdy all, just became a new member and thought i would post a few pics of my trip to lord howe island. Was lucky enough to get out fishing a couple times. Am interested to here of other destinations that you may have visited on your honeymoon and whether or not you managed to sneak a fishing rod in or maybe even a trip out.

straddie
04-02-2007, 07:50 PM
Heya Rooney

They look like the pics I was hoping for when I had my honeymoon on Lord Howe years back. Unfortunately I ran into a week where the winds where some of the strongest the island had had.

Instead we spent most of the time at Neds beach and had a fish off the jetty for some mullet and a little blacktip sharky. sigh.

84mick
04-02-2007, 08:02 PM
G'day Rooney welcome to the site! Mate they are some nice fish! Looks like you had a great honeymoon ;) Mine isnt till Aprial 08, we are hoping to go to the whitsundays.

Cheers, Mick.

Feral
04-02-2007, 08:07 PM
I am old enough that the Honey moon was a bit special, so did not see much outside the Room!

Kiktz
04-02-2007, 08:24 PM
Make you wanna get Re Married........... Hmmm May Be Not
Just on on fishing trips,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, What did that cod go.

Great Catches there Rooney,

robyoung2
04-02-2007, 08:32 PM
My first wife's father gave paid for a few days holiday at Tangaloom. It wasn't a hooneymood, but a gift for the wedding just the same. I spent the whole time fishing for Luderick.
My next wife and I honey-mooned at the end of the south wall at Brunswick HEads. Just straight across the street and I was on the wall. It was June and the Tailor really celebrated my marriage:)

I wish I went to Lord Howe but. Maybe I ought to have a second honeymoon hey?

rob

Brett1907
05-02-2007, 08:02 AM
Went to Tahiti for our honeymoon. Was on a small cruise ship (catamaran with 8 rooms) and saw these fish in the lights one night. So me and this amreican guy (also on honeymoon) asked the crew if they had fishing rods. They said no, but we do have poles (they were rods though). We managed to boat 2 each using a set of gang hooks with one of those pink squid looking skirts. We were both in trouble, until at breakfast when the chef brigs out the fish and announces to everyone we had caught it.

What a great honeymoon.

rooney
05-02-2007, 09:20 PM
The cod, known by the locals as a black cod are protected. During our mornings fishing we landed two of these. We did not get to weigh these fish, only enough time for a photo and straight back into the water. The skipper, Jack, called these fish for 55-60kg. Boy did they feel every bit of that.

VoodooChile78
05-02-2007, 09:46 PM
My wife would strangle me (rightly so) if I'd even suggested going fishing on our honeymoon! lol

You have a very understanding wife...

But I am free to fish any other time we go anywhere...so all is good ;-)

I am hoping to land another Kingy when I go over straddie next week...hopefully around the size of them...damn fine fish.

LOZZEL
05-02-2007, 10:01 PM
When my wife and I got married 5years back we packed the 4be with the rods and camping gear etc and spent 2 weeks fishing arround the TIP (cape york) .She caught more and bigger fish than I did (but thats not unusual) A good time was had and we still go fishing together any chance we get ..

06-02-2007, 07:00 AM
Hiya and welcome, Rooney. Awesome effort on your honeymoon, made it even more memorable!
Cheers!

mitch87
16-02-2007, 04:59 PM
Hey roono, welcome to the site mate!

Thats the shiz bro! Keep up the good work champ!
I might bump into on the seas, you neva no ay!

Cheers mitch!

Runamuck
16-02-2007, 05:26 PM
Thats Gold!

Fish Guts
17-02-2007, 12:00 AM
yeh rooney youve really outdone yourself there mate. with those fish caught , and being on your honeymoon, you deserve gold member status.

Shanoss
17-02-2007, 08:33 AM
84Mick, Whatever you do in the whitsundays, dont go to south molle island mate. It is a dead-set dump

J2DAG83
17-02-2007, 09:12 AM
Hey rooney..... is that one of those double headers in the last photo, i watched this fishing show onetime (cant remember if it was rexy or et) and they were fishing for those things.....absolute brutes of fish.... must of been a blast to get onto one..

rooney
17-02-2007, 12:35 PM
Yes you are right, double headed wrasse. Caught on a sp in about 3mtrs of water. The water was that clear that i saw the fish before casting in front of him and slowly working the plastic back towards him and then got nailed. Only a small double header but boy did he go. Was stoked with the fish and was keen to stay a little longer at this spot but our boat trip back was soon to leave. Yes there was an episode of rex where he and Gary Crombie caught these fish in shallow water using small crabs for bait. These fish pull hard and would have loved to take on some larger guys. Next trip back i hope to target the fishing a bit more.

J2DAG83
17-02-2007, 12:39 PM
Yeah that was it.. he did a double episode in the area... it'd be brilliant to spend a decent amount of time around there...

bdowdy
17-02-2007, 01:03 PM
spent 2 weeks in fiji for my belated homeymoon, first week fished at resort beach and caught a heap of fish, second week to yasawa islands on cruise boat and got big spanish mack, tuna , gt , bluefin trevally, and a number of reefys, what can i say it was awesome. lucky the missis likes to fish every now and then. cheers bdowdy

Tropicaltrout
18-02-2007, 09:27 PM
My lady is understanding and wanted a cruise, but understood if we port that i can wet a line, so I am looking at a house boat in the hinchinbrook channel. Sounds like a great cruise and plenty of port time at least we wont get bored with each other, but i might get divorced.::) I will miss her? he he;D

reel scream
18-02-2007, 10:00 PM
Hi Rooney,

Honeymooned on Heron Island. The wife had some fancy massage for 1.5hrs so i went on a 3hr charter. Caught a couple of nice trout and red throat. Chef at heron even prepared and cooked them for us.

Could do that but am not allowed to fish on our anniversary??? Strange creatures women.

Cheers Scott.