View Full Version : Poll: What's the biggest thing you've caught in a cast net

PlasticFantastic
04-02-2007, 10:25 AM
I ask this because over the years throwing a net i've ended up with all sorts including legal Bream, Flathead, Garfish a Longtom, Bonito etc. But when netting yesterday in a small feeder creek no wider than 3 m I felt something pulling in the net only to find the biggest Stingray i've ever seen let alone caught. This thing would've been three feet across and over 15kg. Thankfully I was using a drawstring net and just grabbed the top and let him go. So just want to know what suprises other people have found in their cast nets.

PlasticFantastic

nuggstar
04-02-2007, 10:53 AM
14 ft saltwater croc in buffalo creeck in darwin. i was wast deep in water getting a heap of prawns when i cast on top of him, i did not even see it untill it came up going off its head i then shat my self and ran on water at the same time and then watched as the croc ripped up my net to shreds and then dissapear back under the muddy water then i went home to change my jocks hehehe

LOZZEL
04-02-2007, 10:59 AM
A legal size Barra off the old marlin wharfe in cairns many years ago, only fish caught that night.
I too would have done a JC if netted a croc of any size.

ttone
04-02-2007, 12:05 PM
Hi, One time years ago, me and a mate were drag netting in a creek up at Turkey beach while the prawns were in abundance, and we netted 5 large buck mud crabs. As with the Prawns,,,very tasty~~~
Cheers ttone

fishphile
04-02-2007, 12:38 PM
Got two of the biggest Luderick I've ever seen in the net in the Brissie river a few weeks back.

barraman
04-02-2007, 12:41 PM
Last year in Eurimbula creek got 2 grunter, one was 3.5 kg very nice on the plate too.

My old man got a 4.5ft black tip in his cast net at round hill creek 3 years ago:o

Grand_Marlin
04-02-2007, 02:34 PM
Myself ... I'm not good with a cast net :-[

robyoung2
04-02-2007, 03:56 PM
I didn't catch it, but I saw a decent cod caught once, esturary I mean. Myself, the only unusual thing I ever caught was awhole school of spottie mackeral, all about 3 inches long; but I can't really use one and rarely try.

Nuggstar, that's crazy stuff mate.

rob

seajay535
04-02-2007, 04:08 PM
55cm flathead for me .might be lucky you threw that net over that croc nuggstar could have ended up worse than just needing new jocks and net

krazyfisher
04-02-2007, 04:15 PM
75cm barra oh and a crab pot(no crabs)

nuggstar
04-02-2007, 04:40 PM
it was crazy , im glad i can laugh about it now

Cammy
04-02-2007, 08:08 PM
the biggest thing i have caught was a 20 cm prawn. lol, no legal fish

cam;)

Pistol_P
04-02-2007, 10:02 PM
GIANT pieces of oceanic carpet.......Commonly known as sting rays!!!>:(

wombie
05-02-2007, 06:00 AM
one small stone fish of military jetty golden beach

geoff72
05-02-2007, 09:28 AM
got this jack and luderick in one cast at coomera.

05-02-2007, 09:43 AM
Green turtle lying on the bottom of a creek at Fraser - net hasn't been the same since

Why-ting
05-02-2007, 10:58 AM
Wasnt me but i have an arsy mate that has got a 89cm flatty and a 48cm jack they are both his PB fish for them species.

robyoung2
05-02-2007, 11:37 AM
Geoff, I'd pay to know where that spot is lol

rob

05-02-2007, 12:34 PM
In Townsville once caught 3 Barra bout 25cm and a small shovellie in the same shot. Oh and a 30hp motor ( ok so im not the best thrower out there)

mbt
05-02-2007, 01:14 PM
couple of barra but the worst was a turtle , learnt never to attach the cord to the rist .

T-roy
05-02-2007, 05:55 PM
my mate seen a kid get a 85cm cobia off the bank recently.

T-roy

brrbear
05-02-2007, 06:16 PM
not a castnet but a prawn net about a 9kg jew
and the best thing a $100 note those grey ones prawning upstream from a carnival in runout tide

Kiktz
06-02-2007, 01:16 AM
Bear ,

You can give me the note over a fish

Aj

06-02-2007, 07:10 AM
Best thing I ever netted was a 66cm, 1.7kg flathead. I was pretty happy with that.

mitch qld
06-02-2007, 07:25 PM
Once when we where in Weipa, we went up they Embley river, casting with the net along the flats on a falling tide trying to gather some bait after fishing them (and catching sweet F.A of course!!)

Anyway, we came to a small feeder creek, only maybe a foot or two wide, cast the net and up came a net full of barra, all between 20-40cm long! We got rid of them, cast in the different spot thinking they would have scattered and bang, another net full of barra! This happened about 3 times!

Franco
06-02-2007, 09:30 PM
Myself ....Shit I fought hard!!

BennyJ
07-02-2007, 12:41 AM
a barra that had to be 1m easy , i shat myself big time didn't even know it was in there until i started to pull the net tight then everything exploded into a mass of white water and i was left with a buggered net

SWANY22
07-02-2007, 03:31 AM
3ft pike eel up bald hills creek and not a happy camper eather

BrandonH
07-02-2007, 09:50 AM
Nuggstar your crazy!!!!!!!! You would never get me in the water up that way!!!

Some interesting stuff here guys;)

My best fish was a 4lb flathead.. Did it twice in 2 years in the same spot:P

Best tally was 3 legal flathead to 45cms and 3 legal bream in one cast!

Have had a blue spot ray about 15cm across in the net b4 and didn't know about it till I had the net ready for the next cast:-[ don’t know how I didn’t get done!!!

The best non fish catch....

Cabbage tree creek after a flood, caught a tobacco tin, shook it and it rattled.. Opened to find an old set of keys and some newspaper wrapped up around 5 crown coins;D ;D Best catch by far;)

Can you tell that I use to do nothing but throw a net when I was a kid?::)
I feel a little upset sometimes now about what I caught and kept as a kid (not illegal stuff just heaps of stuff). Only ever use it now for bait and tend to throw back everything that I'm not chassing, unless i get a nice flathead that is. ;)

Cheers N
Tight Nets

Brandon...

Synful
07-02-2007, 03:58 PM
Hi, One time years ago, me and a mate were drag netting in a creek up at Turkey beach while the prawns were in abundance, and we netted 5 large buck mud crabs. As with the Prawns,,,very tasty~~~
Cheers ttone

Geez ttone, thought a muddie would have ripped a net to bits?
Have wondered how they would react to being netted though...

Synful
07-02-2007, 04:05 PM
My best is a 20cm barra and a 30cm (diameter) ray; no fish of any legal size as yet... :-/

Other things caught in the net include:

prawns - of course.
small cod
small trevally
small jew
small grunter

Synful
07-02-2007, 04:11 PM
14 ft saltwater croc in buffalo creeck in darwin. i was wast deep in water getting a heap of prawns when i cast on top of him, i did not even see it untill it came up going off its head i then shat my self and ran on water at the same time and then watched as the croc ripped up my net to shreds and then dissapear back under the muddy water then i went home to change my jocks hehehe

Holy $+1t Nuggstar!!!!

I've heard of people here in Cairns chasing prawns at the mouth of the Barron River up to their waist - wouldn't get me doing it for love nor money. I like my legs attached and fishing too much to become croc dinner!

Bet you went and bought a lotto ticket after that one ....

I think you win the contest of biggest catch in a cast net though ;); 14ft has got to equal a few hundred kg's of croc :o

07-02-2007, 04:51 PM

I've lso had a blue ringed octopus in the net. That was caught at golden beach, caloundra.

Kendall249
07-02-2007, 10:10 PM

That exact situation is the back of my mind when I'm sneaking along a mangrove lined creek to catch bait, thinking of what will I do, rip the rope off my hand or will it pull me in before I can. That the sort of stuff nightmares are made of.

I've caught decent size barra (45-50cm) cuda and numerous mullet of around the same size.

BAR UP
08-02-2007, 08:34 PM
I once caught a m10 rod with a 6 1/2 Alvey reel also another trip i caught 21 Spotted Butterfish each weighing around 1kg. Could not lift the net so we motored to the bank then spent 20mins releasing them. Beat that.8-)

rick k
10-02-2007, 02:43 AM
Kendall249,

on our first trip to the Nth we were taught by locals to stand on the loop normally placed over the wrist.

They took the crocs pretty seriously; launch punt, hold across ramp, don't stand in water at all hop into punt, fire up motor and away. A bit of a wakeup. Then on an Island of Darwin saw locals paddle old surfboard out to the 10m offshore boat. Same place every day. And we did see a big croc catch a turtle and eat it on that beach.

jm82
10-02-2007, 08:47 AM
hey guys, i saw a guy get a 80 cm queenie up the pine river in a cast net , it gave him a bit of greif tryin to get him out.

josh

-Henno-
10-02-2007, 11:32 AM
One night while peering into the darkness off a bridge looking for herring, or at that stage anything, I saw a school of something and had a chuck. The net went off and the water just boiled around and under it. It took two hands and lots of grunting and sweating to lift about 50 of the biggest bull mullet you can get in the canals onto the bridge. Useless for live baiting for anything but pelagics so I was not happy. My flatmate that watched thought it was a funny though.

Also undersize mudcrabs, stingrays, moses perch and a huge leader prawn which got smashed by a jack after being in the water with a hook up his bum in about 3 milliseconds. The following fight lasted about the same amount of time before I got dusted.

Oh yeah, once in the darkness I got a whole school of those horrible little eels with the white stripe down their sides and the spikes on their backs. Slime and foul language everwhere. Are those things poisonous?

JEWIENEWIE
10-02-2007, 02:43 PM
It was 6ft long and weighed around 70kg:o
Jewie

JEWIENEWIE
10-02-2007, 02:44 PM
Myself!!!!!:P ;D
Jewie

robdiep
12-02-2007, 09:09 PM
not sure what it was cause it was so dark at the time.. i think it was a 10kg lead piping! some dumb c*nt threw it in the river.. friggin lost my whole cast net.. all the sinkers got ripped off and all i got left was the net.. not happy!

james133
10-03-2007, 06:13 PM
the biggest fish i ever caught in the cast net was a 50cm mullet

Pero
10-03-2007, 07:16 PM
over 200 banana prawns in a single cast.

10-03-2007, 07:48 PM
I kind of wished I took a photo of it but last year Scalem and I were casting for prawns and I caught the biggest scat I have ever seen. The fillets didn't taste half bad either just quietly.:)

vb4me
10-03-2007, 08:21 PM
Know how you feel robdiep. I lost my cast net the same way. Throwing out into what i thought was a snag free free area then after a dozen casts I was snagged. Ripped the leadline of. 1 useless net.
Have never caught anything huge in a cast net but a large variety of fish? Leather jackets, baby Flathead, trumpeters, small whiting and crabs etc.

Mike Delisser
10-03-2007, 09:40 PM
While standing on the Nudgee boat ramp throwing the net one night I caught a set of outboard flushing muffs. Some dill must have launched his boat and taken off with the muffs still attached.
M62

gladbream
11-03-2007, 06:13 AM
biggest fish, a 30lb queensland grouper,
weirdest thing, 6 pack of tooheys extra dry in the moresby river (mourilyan harbour). i also caught a bonet of a vw at the back of a local prawn farm.

wak69
11-03-2007, 08:56 AM
hi, 23 mullet 38-40cm long & a blackbream 42cm at mouth of bulimba ck, i have photo but not digital, any advice to print photo etc. thanks sam

rogersto
11-03-2007, 10:19 AM
Myself ....Shit I fought hard!!

hahaha, I netted my daughter whilst practising in the backyard !!!

Darn difficult to learn to throw the buggers, there's a few different ways, I've FINALLY learnt the art of a consistent throw !!!

cdg81
12-03-2007, 05:36 PM
threw the cast net at a fleeing school of mullet in the hinchinbrook channel, in the one cast got 2 jack 45 and 49cm to the fork, a barra that was 30cm, bout a dozen archer fish, bout 2 dozen mullet and half a handfull of prawns. no wonder they were fleeing.

12-03-2007, 07:27 PM
Hi Gladbream,
Dont suppose you are married mate?
My missus wouldn't believe a word of it if I came home with a 6 pack of Tooheys and claimed I'd caught it in the cast net!
She would just roll her eyes and ask what happened to the other 18!

BTW where are you located?I'm just down the road from moresby.

cheers Scott

Chezzy13
12-03-2007, 07:54 PM
My missus wouldn't believe a word of it if I came home with a 6 pack of Tooheys and claimed I'd caught it in the cast net!

ROFL @ That....:D:D:D....
Mmmmmmmmm Yeaaaaaaaaaa Right......:D;) ;D

Dunks
18-03-2007, 04:59 PM
An 89cm flathead!!!!

Last night while trying to get some live mullet for chasing bull sharks up the Logan I managed to land my net over the top of the big girl. She put up a bit of a fight but lucky she didn't damage my net.

I didn't have a camera on me (spewing!!!) but I have caught an 80cm one not far from where I got this one from.

It was good to see such a big girl in the Logan and of course I let her go.

Dory4.1
18-03-2007, 05:46 PM
a toad fish, a small one at that!!

trueblue
18-03-2007, 10:13 PM
I was with a mate in FNQ when he scored a 3 foot salty in a cast net... No more net! Totally destroyed it.

rogersto
21-03-2007, 06:42 AM
Hi Gladbream,
Dont suppose you are married mate?

BTW where are you located?I'm just down the road from moresby.

cheers Scott

hahaha same here. She *MIGHT* believe it if there were oysters and other marine life growing on the cans though .... :D

charlie bouy
21-03-2007, 11:50 AM
I caught a Scrub Turkey.

it was scratching around outside my room after a huge night at about 6 am mates thought it would be worth a laugh... put a few holes in it but.

tackle world rox
21-03-2007, 07:01 PM
I caught a 1/2 metre john dory.

Ryan.S
23-04-2007, 12:34 PM
I caught a Scrub Turkey.

it was scratching around outside my room after a huge night at about 6 am mates thought it would be worth a laugh... put a few holes in it but.

Haha, you done well to land it with a tank full of p#ss charlie bouy.
Ryno

mudskipper
28-04-2007, 08:41 AM
a 12lb barra at calliope causeway ... threw the net over what i thought was mullet, shot straight to the top of net, took a sec to realise it wasn't a big ass bait and jumped in off rocks to gather bottom of net ...who needs rods and reels

paulez2
28-04-2007, 11:25 AM
Biggest Prawn I have caught is 8.5 Inches long. Photo available.

Kleyny
28-04-2007, 11:32 AM
my second ever cast i got a 8foot long and 6" round log.:-[
It just about took myself and a mate overboard trying to get it out without putting holes in it.;D

What a way to start my cast netting.

neil