View Full Version : Fraser Island Clean Up ( Australia Day Weekend)

whynott
02-02-2007, 05:55 PM
Hi All,
Our 4x4 club (Qld. Nissan Patrol Club) was one of 21 4x4 clubs that participated in the yearly Australia Day Weekend of cleaning up the rubbish up at Fraser. There were nearly 1000 people up there for the cleanup.
The 21 clubs were given sections of the island to clean up, and as a total around 80 cubic metres of rubbish was collected in a couple of hours on Saturday.
What a TOP effort, if I do say myself.
We had a great time up there, all except for the massive march flies that were out in force.
Here is a photo of some of our club cars in front of the Maheno.
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/100_0293Medium.jpg
What a top photo, not a Toyota in site.:) :) :)
Looking forward to next year, but have to get over the fishing expo in May first.
Graham.

02-02-2007, 10:31 PM
Good work Graham.

It sounds like a great weekend away and putting something back into Fraser Island is a healthy distraction.

I know you said you collected 80 cubic meters of rubbish from there, but do you reckon there was a lot more, or have you guys made a big dent in it. ?

Also, what type of rubbish was the main culprit ?

Good to catch up to you at the Fishing seminar the other night.

Look forward to more input from the Nissan Patrol Club and any other club that wants to post a report of their adventures, etc.

Yes, nice pic.............. Toyotaless....... Is that a word ? ;D

whynott
04-02-2007, 06:16 AM
Our club found a tv screen, heaps of wood, odd thongs, so many milk bottle tops, netting, plastic, bottles and even a stiletto, just to name a few items.

rubba
12-02-2007, 01:12 PM
great pics mate you would no mate of mine in nissan club andrew

JB
15-02-2007, 03:38 PM
fantasic effort fellas, good to see.

Time i was back there i rekon.

whynott
11-02-2008, 06:32 PM
I have been asked by a couple of the powers of be to bump this into the lime-light again, so the public can see a positive side to 4wd's.
I could not attend this year as I was best man at a wedding.
Maybe someone that attended this great weekend this year could post a posting and some pics.
Graham.

chisel
12-02-2008, 10:11 PM
I was on Fraser but not part of the cleanup (I didn't really realise it was on until we got there ... I'm not in a club). Heaps of big groups from the 4wd clubs were there but it looked like hard work cleaning up as recent big seas had washed all sorts of crap onto the beach and there wasn't much beach to drive on during the day when the main cleanup was on.

It definitely still made a difference - coming back on Monday the place looked better.