View Full Version : Townsville this weekend!!

Taipan
01-02-2007, 06:12 PM
Anyone heading out and around Townsville this weekend to have a play in the mud????

Wahoo
01-02-2007, 06:35 PM
should be great out there with all this rain you been haveing

01-02-2007, 06:48 PM
What? Isn't Cairns getting any Daz?.We had close on 300mm on our place near El Arish in the last day and a half.Bloody wet!
cheers Scott

Wahoo
01-02-2007, 07:18 PM
yeh Scott, been haveing a fair bit of rain up here, im just way to lazy to put my off road tyres on the ute to go for a wheel

cooky
02-02-2007, 11:51 AM
yep - definitely looking to get out - just not sure where yet. my STTs are going to be chewing up trails. I paid to get my Hilux cleaned last monday too - nice and clean and ready to get destroyed :)

Taipan
02-02-2007, 04:29 PM
Hey Cooky wanna come out with us. Gonna head up to Clement and Ollerra for a look.
We're meeting at the Bohle hotel at 1000 on Sunday the 4th.

cooky
03-02-2007, 10:21 AM
sounds like a plan. I have a Toyota Hilux 2003 SR5 dual cab ute with STT tyres in case you're keeping an eye out for me. I can't guarantee I'll be able to make it, but 80% at this stage. my mobile is 0417 608090. I may take dirt bike in the back for a play at Ollera. I don't know about Clements. All sounds good though.

thanks for the invite :D

Taipan
03-02-2007, 10:53 AM
Not a prob mate, I'll be in a Patrol cab chassis with a white caged canopy.

Taipan
04-02-2007, 06:36 PM
Well what a hoot. We had a ball today. Started at Clement but there was way too much water flowing through the first creek. Rising quickly too. We still went through it but decided to turn around.
We then went up to big crystal for lunch then out to Ollerra for a play. Heaps of water there to, had a crack at a steep bank, and the trol was the only one to make it up. We had a couple of young fella's asking if we could help them out. They had a cruiser bogged deep and tried to pull it out with a zook, the zook sank aswell.
We pulled them out and watched as some other fourby's had some fun around us.
We pulled into Mt Louisa along the way home, started in the old quarry, good fun, especially the big water hole. Lost my number plate going through it, but i did find it on the far side bank.
Played in some mud then came home.
Great day out.

cooky
05-02-2007, 11:26 AM
sorry I missed you. I didn't have my internet at home working, so didn't get your msg re ute you were driving. I ran late for the meeting at Bohle - got there at 10.30 - there was a patrol ute still there at that stage from memory and a Toyo Hilux white ute. We went to the bottle shop - got some beers and headed to Ollera - went to Ollera north - I had just got bogged on side of road (Paluma rd) turning around - took 10 mins to get out. By ourselves, wasn't feeling too confident - so only went half way down the Ollera road - water everywhere - too risky. headed back and went up Bluewater track - it has been hammered by the rain, so good 4x4ing - nice trip - had to move a few trees, etc - eventually stopped by big tree and no chainsaw.
Stll nice drive and had fun - few hairy moments - which is always good. Amazing how much more tentative without another 4x4 around - I have been bogged too many times to risk it too much by myself - didn't like the idea of waiting around for hours (no winch). Had my recovery gear in back. Should have taken the Prado - at least I've got a winch on that - just crappy HT tyres though.

Cruiser93
05-02-2007, 03:36 PM
Any piccy's of the fun had & the amount of water lying around....
Don't remember what large expanses of fresh water look like here in SOUTH EAST QLD ....Mal

Taipan
05-02-2007, 04:28 PM
Here is a couple of pics of the creek that is usually the road onto Ollerra beach