View Full Version : Woodgate - HELP

fella
29-01-2007, 07:46 PM
just spent long weekend at woodgate with the family hence the lack of decent fishing time but i.m teachin my 3 yr old to enjoy such a great past time, so i cant complain he hangs off every word we're best mates.
problem is i havent caught any fish in the last two trips up there . i,m normally a offshore fisho so i,m new at this soft plastic and bait estuary fishing.
1st fish was last 1hr off run out tide about 10 am. (burrum river)
2nd fish was 1 hr b4 high tide 5pm in (theodlite creek)
both times wew were in a tinnie and fished near drop offs on river banks and sand bars.
help . my little man is losing faith.

ta fella..

29-01-2007, 09:14 PM
Fella when i was there bout 2 yrs ago we didn't catch much at all not from the lack of trying tho. I don't know where you live but get the little fella involved in getting bait (yabbies etc) he should get a buzz from that. Also go to a place where you know theres fish it don't matter about the size just the fact fish are there or hook a fish yourself and get him to hold the rod and he'll notice something is on the line and presto he'll think that he caught it. Best to use whiting hooks as that will allow more chance of catching something being a smaller hook. Good luck.

kingtin
29-01-2007, 09:15 PM
First up fella, try a different font as this bugger is awful to read for old farts like me. ;D

Mate, I spent a bit of time up woodgate on holidays and I caught more off the main beach than I did in the boat in the burrum estuary.

Plenty of big shark there if you want to target 'em and once I beached a couple I stopped my kids swimming.........they were absolutely thick there so I made 'em swim at theodolite. Try this thread.........you'll think twice about swimming there;D

http://bluemako.customer.netspace.net.au/stingray.htm

Had some nice flathead and whiting and was even surprised by a couple of dart who must've lost their way............I consider the main beach to be the best otion and you can see small gutters at low that you can fish as the tide rises.

devocean
30-01-2007, 10:21 AM
My old an catches whiting off the beach there also try the deep hole up the first little creek to your right from the woodgate beach boat ramp where everyone skis. I have snorkelled the area a bit and see plenty of fish

cuzzamundi
30-01-2007, 04:45 PM
mate did you encounter any weed or algae? been rampant there this season. as kev said, some monster tigers and hammers along there!

cuzza

simmo2001
30-01-2007, 06:49 PM
A bit off the main topic, but how is the fishing in Woodgate overall these days, I spent a month up there every year at the caravan park during the 80's and early 90's with parents and grandparents and always had a great time, and caught plenty of fish.
We used to fish the main beach a lot for the whiting and flatties, and Walkers Point on a high tide for the bream and anything that would take a big bait - it was an enjoyable lucky dip there apart from the sandflies. The oldies would get after the Mackerel when they where on off Harbourne's Reef.
Have often thought of heading back up there for nostalgic old times sake, but the 2500k trip from Melb has kept me here thus far.

Hope you have better luck next time fella.

Leigh S

Brenno
31-01-2007, 05:12 PM
was up that was at xmas, straight across from the walkers point boat ramp, you can get your self some yabbies most fish in the rivers will have a go at these guys, heading down stream if you go around the first bend in the river, you will find a deep hole on the point itself, i fished along that bank and got to legal estuary cod, but if you use the yabbies and drop the bait down about 2 to 3m your boy can have a ball catching angel fish.

hope this helps

Robsie
05-02-2007, 12:35 AM
gday all
i just got back from a couple of days at woodgate.
The weather was miserable but we got out yesteday for a fish. Went up the Gregory and fished the rock bars up the top. Scored a dozen or so stonker bream, 3 decent cod and a couple of steam trains that didnt want to stop for anything. Any ideas? We were thinking perhaps a big cod or grunter.
Also the crabs were thick. in an 8 hr session we potted about 20 crabs, and line caught another 6. All except 4 were jennies, and of those 4, 1 was legal! Has anyone else noticed the amazing number of jennies up this river, and the small number of bucks?
Prawns were hard to find. Managed 6 after an hour. Best bait of the day was chicken. The bream were goin nuts over them and t he cod to.

Im keen to know if there are any spots out the front of woodgate that hold reefs? Wed havent seen many people head out the front, but theres talk of mackeral. Apparently there is an artificial reef just offshore?

cheers Rob

cuzzamundi
05-02-2007, 04:47 PM
gday robsie,

mate the mouth of the burrum holds some mackarel, theyve been getting some schools go through recently. the channel is very deep. around the corner there are reef patches quite close to shore - if you have a sounder you'll find em. the artificial is about a km out, but there are smaller reefs right in- have lost plenty of tigers to those buggers! make sure you have a decent boat if goen at night, cos some of the sharks are monsters! was there any weed out the front or in the river mouth???? it'd be great if you could let me know. thanks mate.

cuzza

wayneoro
05-02-2007, 05:06 PM
hi mate i live at woodgate being fishing gregory staying overnite on my boat have found fishing real bad last month main man from the local fishing club sounds like he would never bother to fish the river he thinks best go from here is go north to the reefs out of bundy i fish regularly you are welcome to check out whats been on reefs arnt much better from here been here 7mths maybe got a bit to learn cheers

Robsie
05-02-2007, 05:45 PM
Hi Cuzza
Yeh at the mouth of the Burrum there as PLenty of weed. heaps. Up the river tho we didnt see any. But we were up around devils elbow in the gregory cause of the wind and weed.
We dont have a sounder, but at least we know now there is a reef pout there. Is it any good as far as fishing goes? Is it a decent size? could u roughly say where it is from the woodgate beach ramp? or any of the other reefs. Cheers.

WAYNERO
Mate the gregory is definently worth fishing. It took us a while to catch anything butyour best bet is get up there while there is water. ( we put in at a ramp up river and camp on the bank. ( off Heidkes Road) and from there u head up a couple of bends until u hit a rock bar. This is devils elbow ( obvious reasons) and from there up u hit rock bars regulary. They fish very well for bream, cod, and this time of year grunter ( trumpetor). The crabbings good to. We always catch a feed of good bream and the odd cod etc.
But we are itching to find a reef somewhere in close.
Are the reefs off bundaberg relativley easy to find? We dont have a sounder, but are there islands etc? or do u just wait for the Tinny brigade to head out.

wayneoro
05-02-2007, 07:50 PM
cheers my boat is 16ft i go in at walkers point bit chicken to go further up the reefs out of burrum are hardly worth the effort all fished out long ago i think mac fishing round the entrance maybe a good chance im surprised the fishing isnt better here only pro boat ive ever seen is a rare crabber cheers

Robsie
05-02-2007, 08:40 PM
our boat is 4.2 metres and it goes up ok. u just have to take it easy, and paddle sometimes on a low tide. Im sure we passed a pro;s house a way up the gregory. either he was a pro, or an amatuer who couldnt care about been caught, as he had nets lying in a bag on the bank. And we are talkin the sort of nets that go from one side to the other. As far as crabs go, we were getting tghe shits by the end of the day. Every pot had 3 -4 crabs in it. and they were all jennies. Legal buks were near impossible to come by. I guess thats what ha[ppens when its over crabbed. I guess on the good side it appears that everyone is letting the jennies go.

blu
05-02-2007, 09:21 PM
Hi Robsie I live in Bundy there r no islands here and the only reef that is closeish is the Art reef out of Elliot river there is a bar to cross witch at times is a shocker but most of the time there is bugger all water. hs you head out you should see boats on most "nice days" BUT be prepared for a happy moment fish or 2 or 6 or 27....... the best reefs out of Bundy are the one's i frequent witch start about 11 mile out ,but there are bommies, old sunken boats and some ruff patches closer..but you need GPS & sounder the 2mile rock off of Bargara is gr8 for Macks but is VERY VERY close to the new greenzone.. if you dont have a sounder and want to fish bundy (outside) try trolling around the leads and mouth for macks or drifting through the channel for nice flathead ......
if you or anybody wants more info on fishing Bundy area just PM and ask

cuzzamundi
06-02-2007, 05:48 PM
gday robsie,

not sure about exact coordinates mate. im sure someone on here would know. i dont have a sounder so dunno exactly where they are.

gday wayneoro,

mate would you mind if i pm you every now and then and es if you know how the weed's doen? we fish there a bit, but it'd be great to have someone tell us how the weed is before we go. thanks heaps mate.

cuzza

Robsie
07-02-2007, 12:03 AM
cheers for that blu
Maybe i will invest in a sounder for a xmas present. ( early xmas pressie)

mbt
07-02-2007, 07:51 AM
Fish woodgate a fair bit , it’s a odd sort of place , when and where you think the fish should be there usually not, best tip is when the bowls club and pub are full of locals, don’t bother fishing , when the watering holes are empty the locals will be out fishing…do the same.

wayneoro
08-02-2007, 06:58 AM
im amazed the area dosnt fish and crab better i have never seen a beamie or pro fisher up there only 1 pro crabber who was so desperate he dropped his pots very close to mine hoping i knew what i was doing later we had a laugh about the blind leading the blind next trip his pots were well spread trying to find them i love the beauty of the area and only need to take home couple crabs and fish