View Full Version : Can my 4.2 make it to mooloolaba??
boogdude
23-01-2007, 03:53 PM
Just after some opinions whether or not people think that my 4.2 stessco catcher rv, would make it too some close reefs off mooloolaba?? I have never been out there and am looking to try my luck in some deeper water. Do i need an epirb?????
What areas or spots would be a good place to start??
Jaffo
23-01-2007, 04:34 PM
I now a Seajay 4.2m and take it out of there all the time. Epirb yes if more than 2 km off the beach (silly not to have one). Start at the blinker or Old Woman head north or south from there. The harbour has a good entrance and you dont have to ware a life vest while going through it.
chief
23-01-2007, 08:13 PM
Mate you'll have no problems, there is always plenty of small craft fishing outside the entrance. I've on many ocassions seen young blokes spinning for tuna schools in 10 ft punts with 8 hp motors just out the front.
rick k
23-01-2007, 08:19 PM
I am a bit of an offshore beginner, but we go out in a 4.3 stacer dingy. I would not take my 4.3 allycraft pointy punt out there, as it has a very low freeboard, but have seen a few out round old woman island etc.
We pick the day, know we don't go as fast as the big glass boats, or the big tinnies, which means if a storm comes up, we can't be far away from safety,
and if you are going to anchor on top of the gneerings where the water stands up.... well, maybe don't; especially stern first,; long story in which I was an unhappy innocent bystander
Reel Nauti
23-01-2007, 10:34 PM
Anybody asking everybody else if their boat is up to the mark and then wanting to know if they need an EPIRB shouldn't be going far from the ramp in my opinion. I mean no offence, but get to know your boat, the rules, the regs, and your own ability before you set your sights on ANY slight challenge. For your own sake, those who may be with you, and those who may have to haul you out. Please!
yalta
24-01-2007, 05:12 AM
need epirb/flares once you leave the harbour mate.
24-01-2007, 07:09 AM
and if you are going to anchor on top of the gneerings where the water stands up.... well, maybe don't; especially stern first,; long story in which I was an unhappy innocent bystander
You should NEVER anchor stern first ANYWHERE, let alone offshore. A bow wave from a passing boat could sink you.
A 4.2m tinny should be fine out there on a good day, as long as you have a V bottom and plenty of freeboard. There are heaps of tuna in the 'bay' at Mooloolaba at present which are good fun. If you are after reef fish, you need a very early start and plenty of burley to pull good fish from the close reefs.
24-01-2007, 07:20 AM
not too sure about the real problem of "a storm coming up" it is a possibility, but most storms give plenty of warning in the way of cloud build up, slight wind changes and so on, sure SOME might sneak up on you, and the one that does may cause a rather unpleasant ride home, but if you take your time you will be OK, but if you keep your eyes open, most times nature tells you something is brewing.
fishplukka
24-01-2007, 08:17 AM
take your safety gear epirb if you are 2km out! pick your day! early in the morning a great time !should have 27 meg radio log in to coast guard ! you can join coast guard $80 ? its similar to racq! gneerings maybe take 2 is closest reef 20- 30 mins confidence a bonus !maybe follow another boat good luck!
LeeannP
24-01-2007, 09:57 AM
I now a Seajay 4.2m and take it out of there all the time. Epirb yes if more than 2 km off the beach (silly not to have one). Start at the blinker or Old Woman head north or south from there. The harbour has a good entrance and you dont have to ware a life vest while going through it.
If you're crossing a coastal bar check out the Maritime Safety Queensland Website - http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/ Required at Maroochydore but not Mooloolaba.
"As of 1 April 2006, it is compulsory to wear a life jacket
http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/qt/MSQ.nsf/files/dk_blue_ball.gif/$file/dk_blue_ball.gifWhen crosssing a coastal bar in an open boat that is less than 4.8 metres in length.
http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/qt/MSQ.nsf/files/dk_blue_ball.gif/$file/dk_blue_ball.gifIf you are under the age of 12 in an open boat that is less than 4.8 metres in length, while it is underway"
http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/qt/MSQ.nsf/files/map_coastal_bars_3.jpg/$file/map_coastal_bars_3.jpg
marshy
24-01-2007, 10:10 AM
Mooloola river bar is not listed as requiring a life jacket but its' a good idea to wear one anyway .[ i always do] Just thought i should clarify this.
Marshy
marshy
24-01-2007, 10:39 AM
Your boat will be ok if the weather is good.I have fished the Inner gneerings quite a bit in a 4.3 savage tinny & caught some great fish. suggest you try dawn or dusk, lightest line possible & minimal or no sinker. The fish are there but they are very shy.
Marshy
24-01-2007, 07:39 PM
Correct me if i'm wrong but I thought an EPIRB was required when operating in open waters and when more than 2 nm (nauticle miles) from shore not 2 klms :-/
rick k
26-01-2007, 10:46 AM
G'day Jeremy,
stern first anchoring wasn't intentional.
Long story short, rope caught on transducer bracket, not my boat, not my doing.
Was somewhat unsettling.
cammac
26-01-2007, 06:31 PM
Ive got a 4.1 quinny dory and regularly go outside. but remember this is getting down to the lower limits in size for outside fishing you definitely have to pick your days.!!
Firstly make sure u have the appropiate safety gear - Id definitely recommend Flare and and Epirb even if not required. 27mhz radio good idea and log on with coast guard. take a mobile phone too,
Secondly plan your trip - check the swell/sea conditions and the weather forecasts the night before. check the tides if the bar is tide influenced. take a portable radio to keep an ear out for weather changes.
I dont know Mooloolaba bar but maybe go and have a chat with the Coast Guard about how to navigate it.
At the end of the day u cant be too cautious going outside!!
djboyd
28-01-2007, 02:44 PM
i'd have all the safety gear out there just to cover your ass. you should know what you and your boat can and can't do before heading out. it's also a good idea to head out with another boat that knows the area. this will help you out in both fishing and safety' i've never fished the area but know people who fish the area fairly often. use fresh good bait such as gar, yellowtail pike, bonito and the humble old pilly. float these baits down with as little weight as possible around dawn and dusk. you should be able to get a feed doing this. according to the blokes i know that fish the area there are big fish to be caught there. there best to date is a snapper that went 10.3 kg. good luck and keep safe!