View Full Version : Barra Spin reel

Archer
21-01-2007, 06:28 PM
Looking for a new spin reel to fish for Barra, Jew and Snapper mostly chucking SP's and HB's.
Thinking a Daiwa FREAMS KIX 3000 JAPAN
Anyone had experience with the above reel?
Suggestions on other reels more than welcome. Dont want to go to overboard price wise as its not going to be something i use all that often....but willing to spend the money on the right bit of gear.
While im at it thinking about a Raider Snapper rod as the stick to put it on. Good combo? Capable enough for the odd Barra??:o

Thanks Joe

daledog
22-01-2007, 10:16 AM
A decent impoundment fish would probly cause some problems but the snapper raider would be great ffor smaller barra, jew and the like. Havent had any experience with the japanese kix only the aussie one and i think there is a big price difference (aussie one for 270ish, freams i saw one the other day for about 100)

dog

Roo
23-01-2007, 10:21 AM
It would be ok for the open areas where you can let them run a bit. They quote drag figures of 7kg for the freams kix 3000. I'd be surprised if it lasted long at that kind of pressure with only 4 bearings in the drive train. maybe with 3kg drag but i'd still bet on a catastrophic failure in the bail arm or drivetrain if tested by a biggun.
I read an article by David Green talking about how far threadlines have come and just how effective they can be........but he was referring to the 2500HD custom Certate........A different class alltogether. I wish i had one of those.

cheers, roo.

budge
25-01-2007, 06:37 PM
I have a freams kix in the 1500 model i would not hesitate in buying another one, in fact im about to buy another two. 1500 is quoted at 4kg and has held up well after a year of punishment of trevs, jacks, squire etc. I think they are a good value for money reel and feel alot better than what is available here for the money. If you look around you should be able to find a 3000 for around $100 and shipping should anly be $25 max.

Roo
29-01-2007, 12:15 PM
What did you end up deciding on Joe? did you get the freams?

cheers, roo

Archer
29-01-2007, 07:39 PM
Nothing yet Rod i cant decide!!!
I would hate to get something and have it fail yet for me i cant see the value in spending huge dollars on something i may not use all that often. Ive got a nice Out fit that handles Jacks ok and im sure it would be fine for Snapper etc...
Maybe a lower priced low profile baitcasting option??
Open to suggestions.
We opted (read wussed)out of the camping idea for that week in March and booked a house. No cabins left so had to book the house...
After talking to you guys and the thought of having a nice cool room to come back to a hot tent wasnt looking so good.....

Joe

themissus
30-01-2007, 12:11 PM
Good move Joe!!8-) 8-)
Cheers Kim.:)

Roo
30-01-2007, 12:51 PM
Good work, The houses have TV. we'll be over monday night to watch Top Gear;D ;D

Bring on march;) ;D

Maybe a lower priced low profile baitcasting option??

Penn Jack Erskine signature model ($179 @ MO)is well renowned as a good quality option and those jacks won't stand a chance;) . I spent all weekend on the water casting everything from bass lures to barra lures with the new Zillion. Loved it. It was a bit tricky with the lighter lures (tilsan minnow 6gm) but i have 50lb braid on at the moment so that would'nt help. when we get back from Monduran I'll respool it with 12-15lb and it will cast the light lures no worries.

cheers, roo.

themissus
30-01-2007, 02:39 PM
You mean there is no telly in the cabin?? I want a refund!!

Roo
30-01-2007, 04:35 PM
no need for telly baby:kiss: :kiss: :whip:

Archer
30-01-2007, 04:42 PM
Yea theres Fish to be caught.....::)
March cant come fast enough!
Just have to hope the Barra want to play!:-/
Still atleast with TV, A/C and wireless Internet if the fish dont want to play we can sit in the A/C with the Telly on and Spam up ausfish! ;D
I will have to make a descion on what reel im going to get soon i guess so i can spend some time getting use to it before getting mauled by Mr Barra...:o

Joe

rick k
31-01-2007, 01:11 AM
there's telly in the cabins at Monduran.
It is more fun to sit on the deck and listen to the nocturnal trollers

themissus
31-01-2007, 11:05 AM
Thanks Rick K!! Your a life saver:P :P
Are you allowed on the dam at night?? When we were there in Oct 06 due to the levels they didn't want you fishing in boats at night. But then again, can they stop you??:-/ :-/
Good luck with the choice Joe!! Nearly time to start counting sleeps.;)

Cheers Kim.:D

rick k
01-02-2007, 11:27 PM
Archer, not 100% sure the wireless net works too far away from the kiosk.

Kim, we trolled there at night up to and past the full moon in Oct 06. There were more than a few other boats on the water then.

Some posts here suggest the water is getting lower. On other dams that usually brings very low speed limits to protect the idiots and the ill informed. Sweating on a nice big tropical low up there sometime soon. One down here would be nice too:D

We heard a few boats go past at speed without lights. Sooner or later there will be an accident, and management will come crashing down with hard rules to the detriment of those who have done the right thing. I reckon unless the night time lightless zoomers can come up with a convincing reason for running without lights, they should lose their boats.

On that point, there were plenty of boats with port and starboard, but no all round white. I know they are a pain, but if a skipper is relying on the glow from a sounder to protect her/him from the rear, sooner or later skippers' lures will be run over, if not the boat. Even a small white light on the transom somewhere would help heaps; no problem for the slow trollers when the moon is out, but it ain't always out, and they ain't all slow trolling.