View Full Version : Ignorant,stupid or just unlucky.
mowerman
18-01-2007, 11:03 PM
I was over at Straddie for a few days . On monday arvo took the wife and kids down to Flinders.
Parked a couple of hundred yards up from the Amity track. The kids were having a splash, wife reading the paper, me trying to catch a whiting bigger than 15cm .
Went back up to the truck for more bait and a mouthful of cold brown and waited for a new bright blue hilux dualcab to go past .
The hilux pulled up a hundred yards or so up the beach and 3 men and 4 kids got out. They pulled some rods out of the back and proceeded to do some fishing and splashing.
A little bit overloaded I thought. But Ive done the same thing at times.
About 40 minutes later they started to pack their stuff back into the hilux.
I happened to glance left and saw the police 4wd coming out of the Amity track.
Look right and the hilux is heading towards pt Lookout with 1 of the men standing up in the back hanging onto the fishing rods.
A few flashing lights, a quick blast on the siren and 30 minutes later the police are still writing .
Now... What do you reckon
All three maybe.
CQHORNET
19-01-2007, 06:06 AM
Just plain stupid I would say.
DNO
Brett1907
19-01-2007, 07:11 AM
Absolute idiot to be standing up in the ute on straddy. We used to see the cops regularly driving up and down the beach.
19-01-2007, 07:13 AM
Yup. I have to also go along with STUPID! Some people have no regard for the safety of others and in particular their passengers. Famous last words "That will never happen to me!" As far as the police were concerned it was LUCKY for them to be there at the right place at the right time. Glad they gave the vehicle owner something to think about with regards to his stupidity. Hope he learns from it. :)
19-01-2007, 12:43 PM
I'd go ignorant, stupid (hands up anybody who has never been ignorant and stupid though ;) ) and just plain blind not to see the boys in blue quick enough
fish2eat
19-01-2007, 05:46 PM
money for jam....that'll get the quota up!!!!
19-01-2007, 05:57 PM
I may be correct in saying that we have all done something similar in our past. BUT, in this day and age with all the information available to us and the rule / law changes we KNOW what we are obliged to do. Certainly placing children in a postition of danger is just not on.
Forget the fines, forget about being stupid enough to get caught. The fact that it took place in the first place is the " ignorant " point. or Arrogance ?
I actually subscribe to the theory that the " cops " ( as elluded to here ) do a good job and have a mongrel of a job to do. They are human and will accept a reasonable story, a reasonable action and issue warnings and or advice.
Be stupid or arrogant and you will be treated in the manner you have displayed.
Point in question:-
a couple of weeks ago in the big smoke I was in the city early evening, moving from lane to lane, no indicators ( apparently ) and from a person behind me, could have been mistaken for a drunk driver. Flashing lights pulled me over. I explained that I was ' lost " trying to get to another part if the city.
Rego sticker obscured
changing lanes no indicator
Breath test.......0.00
Licence check..OK
Result...... the boys gave me directions to where I needed to go and no further action. Have a nice night !
Freeeedom
19-01-2007, 06:16 PM
Yeah! - couldn't agree more Phill. I've had a few 'encounters' with the boys in blue both on the water and on the road and have always found them very reasonable and helpful. They have a bugger of a job dealing with some sections of society and are expected - No -required to remain polite and level headed under the worst kind of provocation from what are basically drunken idiots. If you respond to them in a conciliatory and understanding way you will always be treated well and given helpful advice, and , if necessary, warnings rather than citations. Case in point - when I bought my new boat about 15 months ago I simply transferred my old (20 years plus) safety gear to the new boat, to cut down the cost a bit. When pulled up by the water police near Mud Island (where else? - do they live there?) for a safety inspection the guys explained that my old life jackets (still in their original packaging) were out of date. They suggested that I pick up some new ones ASAP - which I did on the way home from the boat ramp. Mission accomplished and everyone is happy. The main thing I find is that you need to treat them like human beings and applaud them for the professional way they do a very difficult job. When they are on your side you are way in front!
Cheers Freeeedom
bootyinblue
19-01-2007, 11:30 PM
Thank God..... Finally a thread where we have taken some action and are not getting bagged out for doing our job.
The world looks like a much better place now...