View Full Version : Cooby Dam Closed. . .
Chris_J
04-01-2003, 04:37 PM
G'day all :)
Went to spend the arvo trolling up a few yellas and cod(hopefully) with the girlfriend today to find the dam closed due to high bacteria levels.
So if anyone was fishing cooby. . .dont coz you can't get to the water ::)
Ended up going shopping ::):'(
Simonr
24-01-2003, 02:48 PM
And Guess what ?? - COOBY is closed again.........what is going on out there ??
Chris_J
24-01-2003, 03:53 PM
I think the lack of rain(therefore freshwater) is causing the high bacteria levels which are the reason for the closures...just a guess tho
Did I pass you Chris. I dragged the boat out at about 3pm yesterday and was met by the "Lake Closed" signed. Can't believe the levels are so high that the dam needs to be closed to fishing - if there was swimming fair enough.
See you there when it opens.
Sav
Chris_J
24-01-2003, 06:55 PM
Nah sav the first post is from awhile back...didn't get out yesterday...
Simonr
25-01-2003, 05:46 AM
I know a rnager out at Cooby and he is mystified why it's closed again....he told me the bacterial levels are not that high, even gave me the number of the water treatment ppl at Mount Kynoch. I rang the head honcho and he said it was his decision - and that's it ! period. I asked him re I bought a licence to fish Cooby - will I get a few days extension on my licence for the days that the dams closed? - that did not go down very well at all.....
Chris_J
25-01-2003, 03:48 PM
It hasn't been opened yet has it? ::)
still closed as far as I know but I'll pop down tomorrow to check.
I think we need a couple inches of rain with some flow into the dam before they will open it.
Sav
Chris_J
01-02-2003, 06:31 PM
G'day sav
I heard something about it openning up on thursday ??? Haven't been out to check tho so it will be interestin to heard whats the go out there
Simonr
06-02-2003, 03:56 PM
Chris - have you heard if Cooby is open yet ? - I was told today that if Cooby remaind closed for 1/3 of the year then it would not be considered for any further stocking !?! I was also informed that from next year there will be a toll on the gates at Cooby that everyone will have to pay to use the facilities - but this is going to be trialled at Cressbrook first after June this year !! - geeezzz....rates aren't expensive enough !!
jordo
06-02-2003, 04:58 PM
Went there again for a drive and its still shut. I also heard through the grape vine cressbrook is now shut to but i dont know how true that is. I was told the other day the bacteria in cressbrook was getting very high again so it may be. Funny how its only happening now and its never happened before. Some say its from the low water though the bacteria that's causing the problem is passed around by animals so i dont know.
Chris_J
06-02-2003, 05:26 PM
Well it ain't looking good for the tmba area :'(
I have heard about the paying to use thing at cressy but not at Cooby...I heard this for Laurie from out at cressy....U know him hey Jordo?
Well i hope they don't bail on cooby it is a great fishery.... :-[ One i really enjoy.... ;)
Simonr
07-02-2003, 03:18 AM
This was rumour I was told and may have no truth in it at all. - "When the DPI looks at dams for re stocking, only those dams that are open are considered, therefore even though you have written on your yearly permits where to direct your money - if that dam is not open then the money will be directed elsewhere."
Further to back this up - is that several ppl that are well know in the water resource area disagree that it is high bacterial levels! - 1 person I spoke to say "they have no idea what's going on out there, as the levels are fine !" - just maybe someone high up prefers to fish a dam closer to where they live - so funds are directed to it rather than others.....who knows.....
Fitzy
07-02-2003, 07:43 AM
Simon,
If the funds are allocated to any particular impoundment, then that money must be spent there. Even if that impoundment is currently open to the public or not.
If a particular location is closed for an indefinate period, then it will be considered to remove that location from the SIP scheme, eg Gordonbrook Dam.
Hope that helps,
fitz
If an impoundment is closed the stocking group responsible can apply back to the SIP committee to hold the funds over to the following season.
Fitzy
07-02-2003, 05:27 PM
If an impoundment is closed the stocking group responsible can apply back to the SIP committee to hold the funds over to the following season.
Hi DRJ,
Correct, a stocking group can apply, however there is no guarantee at this time that it will be allowed. We are waiting for confirmation on this. Due to the way it was written into legislation, the treasury dept wants/expects all monies to be spent in that financial year. Something like that anyway. Load of crap as far as I'm concerned.
fitzy..
Simonr
08-02-2003, 08:37 AM
Ok - But what happens if say Cressbrook and Cooby remain closed for a extended period due to un foreseeable circumstances - to the licence's ? Are those licences directly effected by the closures, extended to compensate for the period of closure ? At the moment I have been forced to buy a licence for areas that I am unable to access ? If this was done in the private sector you would be in court ?? :-/ and losing.. >:(
08-02-2003, 05:40 PM
Big things are about to happen by the way for Gordonbrook. The council destratifier has been approved by DNR and will be installed by April. This will gently mix the water and stop it from stratifying into thermoclines. This will decrease the likelyhood of Blue-Green Algae Blooms.
Gordonbrook Fishstocking Committee have recieved a letter from the SIP Committee saying they can't have their SIP allocation this year. This has created some letter writing from the Council and the Gordonbrook Committee.
Gordonbrook has been fishing well the last few months for bankside anglers. The boat ramp is still closed but hopefully after April it should be reopened.
jordo
09-02-2003, 05:48 PM
Chris you are right there is going to be a toll gate on both cooby and cressbrook that i think is costing $2. This is to pay for the costs of using the facility. Though it means another $2 every time you want to go there even if you aint using them. They are planned to be installed in june. The council has them but are waiting for something.
Also the toowoomba fish stocking has cod fingerlings ready at the hatchery for cooby though toowoomba city wont let them go near the water so they will have to wait.
Chris_J
09-02-2003, 07:28 PM
Well personelly i don't think a toll gate is all bad....I think that the people who use them should pay for the use of the facalities...
But i reckon you should be able to get a pass of some sort for those who use it regularly....coz i'm out there most weekends and that means $80-$90 a year ::) Oh well the things we do to fish.... :)
Just my opinion ;)
To bad about the Cod fingers :( The more in there the better i reckon...I hope they open Cooby up soon...I'm going into withdrawls...
jordo
10-02-2003, 05:29 PM
Chris i believe there will be a card available to people that use the dam often to minimise costs for these people.
Did you go fishin for the weekend? I wasnt able to though im heading to joes on saturday coming.
Chris_J
10-02-2003, 05:49 PM
Jordo,
I didn't get out this weekend...had a few family members down so yeah...went for a drive out to Cooby though :-/
Still shut :'( its better be open by the 17th ;)
I'm lookin at hitting the Serevn this coming weekend or I'll be fishing a lil stuff around comp between some friends at Cressy