View Full Version : Severn River (Sundown NP)

all4fun
10-07-2003, 08:02 AM

Has anybody fished the Severn River in the Sundown national park near Stanthorpe? I think I read once where this river holds Murray Cod, is this true? any other target species in the system? Anybody know of any good spots to thrw a line?

Chris_J
11-07-2003, 08:58 AM
G'day all4fun

The Severn River does indeed hold Murray Cod, no sure what sorta numbers they are in about those parts though. Other fish in the system include Yellowbelly(Golden Perch), Silver Perch and a few other not so sort after speices.

I have never fished around Sundown, but my cousin has had a ball fishing down ashford way for cod. I reckon private property is the best way to gain access to good river country...its just hard to find places...some public access points still hold good numbers of fish though...

12-07-2003, 05:11 AM
GDay Mate

Back in my Toowomba days (1994) I was lured to Sundown by the remarks of Peter Taylor from Mullet Gut Marine.

We went in the rough (very rough) 4wd track to the other end of the Park.

Bloody beautiful place. Heaps of deer and roos. Severn was low because of the drought and only managed to pull Carp out of the river but I've been told good cod/yellabelly exist even further in where we couldn't get to because the track was impassable.

look at this

http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/environment/park/discover/sundown2001.pdf

We stayed at Donovans from memory. That track might not look long but it was 3 hrs plus of first gear - big rocks everywhere.

I've got some photos I'll see if I can post. I'd love to go back there.

Bugman

caveman
12-07-2003, 05:27 PM
bug man give me a yell and we will go and have a fish there as i have driven past the place heaps of times but never been in for a fish

scott_b
14-07-2003, 03:42 PM
G'day fellas
You've got to watch these Severn and Seven rivers ,the Severn(I think thats the right spelling)starts up near DunDee on the new england hiway and runs down south of Emmaville though Pindari dam then though the Ashford area to the junction of the Macintyre. I think the Seven (not sure on the spelling) starts near Stanthorp and runs though Sundown and then into the Dumaresq. Bit bloody confusing hey anyhow I'll catch ya's later
wamjam

kelvin
01-08-2003, 12:17 PM
I've fished Jimargie a coupla times... from memory it has frontage to about 3KMs to the Severn River. Beautiful country - and there are plenty of small cod around with the odd bigger one thrown in.

From what I hear the landowners down that way are pretty protective of their land rights - so you might wanna ask around for access points.

Here's a pic of one of the pools...