View Full Version : Ultra Deep Diving Lures

Gigantor
08-09-2004, 09:59 AM
???

Having done a little web research to identify ultra deep diving lures, the deepest that bibbed lures seem to be rated at is about 6 metres/18 to 20 feet.

Is anyone aware of any bibbed ultra deep diving lures that go beyond the 6 metre/20 feet mark? Lure length of around 80mm to 100m would be the preferred.

When I'm in 10 to 12 metres of water I want to get down near the bottom withour having to use lead, a downrigger or the need for jigging.

Would appreciate reader's thoughts?

Gigantor

McCod
08-09-2004, 11:13 AM
G'day Gigantor
Ya know those lures that a rated 20 feet will dive to aprox 30 feet if you run them on some thin line. Example 6 lb Fire Line is aprox 2 lb mono diameter and will get a 20 foot lure easily down to 30 ft plus on the troll .The depth rating on most lures is for 12 lb mono line. Even line up to 20 lb braid will get ya lures down there if you let more line out.
Cheers McCod.

basserman
08-09-2004, 12:42 PM
there are a few lures out there that say they can get to that type of depth like the hammer heads and a few other hand crafted wooden lures but only place i have seen alot of them sold is around the deep lakes like glenbourne in NSW

08-09-2004, 02:56 PM
Blitz Bagas can easily achieve that sort of depth on light braid. Soon to be brought out under the SMAK stable in plastic. I got to play with some prototypes on the weekend.

aussiebasser
08-09-2004, 03:59 PM
Feral Cat 25'
Whitmore Cray 27'
Voodoo 23'
Blitzy (wood) 29'
Daiwa Hypercrank (Large) 26'
Jay Seas Patriot 24'
This is on 6lb Fireline.

Fitzy
08-09-2004, 04:19 PM
Have consistently pulled 36 - 38 feet out of Blitz Bagas if I spent the time to tune them down to the degree. Were always tuned my Murray, but a bit more tweaking could get a bit more from them occasionally.

fitzy..

The_Walrus
08-09-2004, 07:45 PM
Testing the new deep diving Voodoo prototypes have been hitting 30 feet easy.

Should be on the market in a couple of months.

Gigantor
09-09-2004, 08:55 AM
Thanks everyone for your comments. I neglected to say in my original comments that I suspected it really came down to the line thickness. I tend to use either 4.5kg or 10kg Fireline for my trolling.

Thanks once again for your comments.

Gigantor

tonyp
09-09-2004, 09:26 AM
Blitz Baga to 30 feet easy on 10lb fireline Trolling they are about 80-100mm .

Have not seen or tried the plastic ones but i know the wood handcrafted ones did.

scott_b
09-09-2004, 05:01 PM
Gday Gigantor
Mate pretty sure Predatec Boomerangs (think thats what they call them these days) make a 7mt plus lure and Oar-gee Plow makes a 7mt lure (cod seem to show interest in these).
wamjam

drawn
12-09-2004, 07:32 PM
The 90mm invader made by Australian Crafted Lures will dive to 40ft using 10kg braid. It is a wood carved lure not plastic but he did tell me he was going to make some in plastic. The only thing I find using the wood crafted lure vs plastic is that to avoid getting them snagged you have to freespool a bit to get over some snags as they float up slower where as with plastic it is often good enough to drop the rod back.

drawn

Chuong
14-09-2004, 08:15 AM
How far back are people running these lures to achieve those kinds of depths?

Gigantor
14-09-2004, 09:42 AM
Was out at North Pine Dam yesterday trolling a few lures. Particularly some Australian made "Classics" (I think was the brand) which were rated at 18 Feet. A mate was running a big bibbed Razorback and we were getting down to about 15 feet to 22 feet. We roughly had about 15 meters of line out. Sadly no fish were hooked.

There were lots of fish on the sounder but they were down deep in water of about 35 to 40 feet. Paddling a canoe in 30 knot gusting winds didn't help either. Am thinking of ditching the canoe for a small flat bottom tinnie with electric - won't get so tired using that. :-)

Spoke to another fisho who was trolling out in a small tinnie with electric who caught about 7 Bass (kept 1) and was using Boomerang and Orgee lures. I noticed that he had lots of line out when he was trolling (possibly 30 metres?).

Gigantor

Leo_N.
15-09-2004, 11:25 AM
Halco Lazer pro's and RMG scorpion's come in a 'crazy deep' model, which is rated to 8m. These are both very effective barra lures in fresh or saltwater.

Quinny69
15-09-2004, 05:35 PM
A few more that would get to/close to that depth(on braid) are-
Voodoos
Knols 50 ultra deep
UD Boomerangs
Strike Zone Cicadas
Boogle Eyes (nearly)
Hot Lips
Storm thunder crank 10cm, MQ

Gordon_Scamp
19-09-2004, 11:40 AM
Try these; they both also have great rattles.

River to Sea Hi Deep Crank 88
Team Daiwa Crank Scouter 1075 F-G

Gordon Scamp

trollsroyce
01-10-2004, 04:22 PM
mann's 30+ will reach 45 feet on light tackle, rod harrison used these at north pine on opening day to catch 7 kilo yellow belly. i've just finished developing a 100 mm cod lure that dives to those depths and has caught huge bass and yellow belly as well as stirring up cod big time, both fresh and saltwater