View Full Version : lures for bass fishing

fishin
08-08-2004, 08:12 AM
hey juys/girls what are the best lures 4 catching bass
thx

jordo
08-08-2004, 11:42 AM
My fav lures for bass wood have to be smak, voodoo, blitz baga and mac lures. Fav spinnerbaits would be ausspin and bassman. Fav plastic would be a pumpkin slider grub.

fishy_phil
08-08-2004, 02:31 PM
gday
my best lures for bass are stumpjumpers, deception shrimps, taylor made surface breakers bass king spinnerbaits and a few others. never had any sucess with softies so cant say about them but ive caught bass up to over 70cm :o :o fork lenght ;D so ill just stick to what i know catches big fish.
phil

Cloud_9
08-08-2004, 03:56 PM
Had different results on different stuff at different dams. ???
fish Maroon and dark rubbers with beatle spins are the go.
went to summerset 2 weeks ago and tail spiners in green and white was the kill lure.
cressbrook seams to be spinner baits. so each area has a different secret weapon.

Cheers Cloud 9

maroochyangler
08-08-2004, 06:01 PM
they all sound pretty good
i have rmg lures that r good 4 bass as well as smak

trav

basserman
09-08-2004, 08:28 AM
pretty much the smae lure that you use on bream you can use and bass and vice versa with only a few exctions and that is spinnerbaits are bass only and the larger deep divers and pretty much bass only also BUT you can some time get that freak fish that will take them
as for proven bass takers they would be;
pretor tech min minn deep divers in red black
attack in fire prawn
brekly drop shots
squggie numb 3s in purple
river2sea buggie in black
rmg poutugist
aus spin spinnerbaits
the good old stumpjummpers
and the list could go on but they are just a few of my favs ;D (spelling may not be correct ::))

Fitzy
09-08-2004, 04:09 PM
Probably one of the standout diving lures that works well in so many bass locations are the Strikezone Critter large, colors black/red & the purple. I lean towards blue in riverine situations. In the couple of the big lakes Blitz Bagas can be the pick at times. Lakes without bony bream I fish shallow with the old rapala shad raps tho you cant buy them any more. Am still looking for something that works as well.

In spinnerbaits I love the Bassman. All white or add some purple or blue.

Surface lures I prefer rapala skitterpops in a couple of sizes. Color doesnt matter alot.

Frangers I aint got a fav, 90% of the time if you can catch a fish on one, a similar one in different brand will also work.

fitz..

Peter_J
09-08-2004, 05:23 PM
Fishy Phil,

If you've got Bass over 70cm fork length i'd love to see the photos ::) ::)

PJ :-X :-X

fishin
10-08-2004, 10:52 AM
thx alot fellers 4 the info

Remo
10-08-2004, 05:58 PM
I still use bass viper lures. Brown or black and purple.

Rivers Used to love the eddy lures "wasp" type with the plastic eyes. But they don't make them any more like that. Blue and black strip i found was the best.

black and blue spinner baits or just pearl.

Quinny69
13-08-2004, 06:02 AM
Yeh, Im with PJ (how ya goin pJ). Is there ANY pics of this 70cm (majical)Bass, love to see it. Sounds like an awsome fish. MQ
PS, The Strike Zones are deadly on most dams Ive used them ,My Faves the phyco in Purple, with the Cicada coming in 2nd.

BOMBER
13-08-2004, 07:56 AM
Hey Fishy,

Hope you got a photo of the 70cm Bass would be a few Mags that would pay money to have that photo my best to date is a 52 cm from Wivenhoe Dam in May of this year on a Black and Pink Headed Feral Cat a great Bass and Yella Lure.

THE BOMBER

fishy_phil
13-08-2004, 02:35 PM
gday everyone
if you wanna CATCH them rather than see the photos, which are in sydney as im not the only one that has caught them at this size, and its my mate that has the photos. troll the nepean river with DEEP divers in the nepean gorge area (upstream of penrith). fish the deep holes near the junctions of glenbrook and erskine creeks. but the location i got mine was in south creek. all you need to do is put in the time. and fish for big fish not big numbers of fish.
this is the only location i have found/heard of fish of this size in the places ive fished. i have fished most rivers systems from nepean/hawkesbury north to the clarence. which is my current location. ironically ive not caught a 50cm plus fish in the clarence system where-as ive caught over 50 in the nepean system. what is the saying, nothing beats local knowledge. this has never been more true with big wild bass.
btw. ive always fished for biger than average fish. my first decent bass was over 50 cm, and was my second ever bass. ive only ever fished in one 'lake' and that is more a large farm dam than a lake. but i fish for big bass almost exclusively. dependant on time of year as i dont get much time or money to put into my persuits so i want to get at least one big fish every trip.
ive only been bass fishing for about 6 years (im 19 y/o) and when i started i got straight into the big fish in the first season of bass fishing i caught , and since 2000 i havent caught any 50 cm fish. i dont know what it is but i catch big fish, but i put in the time to fish for big fish.
back then all i had was and old ugly stick shimano biomaster reel 8lb mono and a few lures. but it handled the big fish very nicely. not once did i get busted off. but i did fish a heavy drag...upto about 3 kg of drg depending on the size of the fish i was fighting!!! in that location it was stop or pop fishing.
these days i fish with either 4lb braid and 5lb leader on a light baitcaster or 10lb braid and 15lb leader on a treadline for big fish. but on my light stick ive caught fish upto 46cm f/l.
the season when i got my biggest fish in the location i was fishing the average fish was over 40cm. in the same year john bethune fished the same creek and was getting similar fish.
phil

basserman
13-08-2004, 02:49 PM
:-/ i'm thinking your big nepean bass might of been some eastrey pearch but even so they sound abit large
but i do know the nepean river has a very healthy population of pearch and that may be one reson why they where bigger than on the clarance which are true bass
alot of people wouldn't be able to tell one from the other if asked to do so :)

fishy_phil
13-08-2004, 03:27 PM
gday
i do know the differance between an EP and a bass they were definently not EP's. ive seen them and caught them in a number of locations in the hawkesbury system and on the central coast...the big bass i got only had a mouth about 8 cm across whereas the ep that i caught that was only a mid 40cm fish had the same size mouth. also the shape of the head and the jaw structure (longer lower jaw), the shoulders werent pronounsed like in an EP and also the colouration and the size of the scales. if im not mistaken these few things are enough to make a definite ID.
also since i was about 7, what i learned to read with where all fish identification books (i had problems learning to read) and the like. so if anyone could tell the differance between an EP and a bass it would be me. you show me a fish i can tell you the name of it, or at the very least say what family it is in.
so your explanation of it being an EP has one major flaw...i know the differance between the two as ive caught them both and can tell the differance.
phil

fishy_phil
13-08-2004, 03:30 PM
oh yeah the max size for EP's is well over the size i caught( gunther and schneider put it at 10 kg.) but on the same note an EP the size of the bass i caught would have weighed between 6 and 7kg. not around 5kg like my bass.
phil

basserman
13-08-2004, 03:52 PM
BASS AUSTRALIAN 2.600 Paul Roper Glenbawn Dam NSW 14/10/00 all tackle record
BASS AUSTRALIAN 1 2.1 J ZSOVAR BERRY NSW 13/04/80
BASS AUSTRALIAN 2 2.65 J OOSTENBROEK NERANG RIVER QLD 23/11/85 sportsfishing records
BASS AUSTRALIAN 1 2.600 Paul Roper Glenbawn Dam NSW 14/10/00
BASS AUSTRALIAN 2 2.545 Peter Upfold Glenbawn Dam NSW 12/09/98
BASS AUSTRALIAN 3 2.750 P MONTEITH CALOUNDRA QLD 15/08/76
lure casting records
all of these are of the ansa site and this is why their is people out their with a little dout with out pics of the fishes
another couple
BASS AUSTRALIAN 1 2.785 Neil Schultz Stanley River NSW 12/10/97
BASS AUSTRALIAN 2 3.026 Shawn Ryan Somerset Dam QLD 28/09/97
BASS AUSTRALIAN 3 2.620 G MATES SNOWY RIVER NSW 05/11/79
ABT big bass record 3.37kg Tony Evens somerset dam QLD
???

Peter_J
13-08-2004, 04:17 PM
this is the biggest I've ever got a pic of :o :o.....it never had a tape put over it but it did go 3.37kg before being released [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]......i reckon it'd be about 56cm wad'ya all reckon ??? ???

long way short of your 5kg 70cm though Phil :-/ :-/

BlitzBaga
13-08-2004, 05:43 PM
G'day Peter

Is that a tag I see near the dorsal fin? if it is did you record it?

Murray

tonyp
13-08-2004, 06:37 PM
G'day Peter

Is that a tag I see near the dorsal fin? if it is did you record it?

Murray

Hi Murray,

That be a saw point about the tag I think :-X
I saw that fish from 6 feet away it was huge. There is some hooters in Somerset that is for sure.

When we going to see them Blitz's in the Gold Coast shops. ?

fishy_phil
14-08-2004, 05:31 AM
gday everyone
personally i dont care if you believe me as the only one who needs to know that i caught it is myself and if you dont believe that i got one that big you obviously just think that a bloke as young as me with as little experience as me couldnt have got one so early so if that is you attitude you can go and get bent! i KNOW how big it was and i KNOW i caught it! if you dont believe i caught it that is your problem not mine.
i also know that if you put in the t me to fish for BIG fish you WILL CATCH big fish.
this is what i did and still do.
i also only fish rivers and creeks, it is more rewarding to put in the time and effort not to spook a fish and watch it hit your lure at youre feet or to know that you have caught a big fish in a place like that and know its a wild fish, it just makes it more worthwhile.
phil

MikeC
14-08-2004, 08:02 AM
Phil I don't care if you caught it or not. But if you did, and if you want to keep catching fish like that you'll need to learn to keep locations to yourself. Please don't fish my local streams.

fishy_phil
14-08-2004, 01:31 PM
gday mike
about the spots im talking about who on this site is actually goin to go to sydney and fish the specified locations??? and other than that i only gave a vague description...and the holes i was talking about it is common knowledge on what the fish sizes are like, the only bit that is difficult to do is to find the holes and how to fish them. the stretch of water that im talking about is around 40 kilometers long. so unless they put in at least a week of work on the sounder to find the holes it would be rather difficult to expect the fish to be gone. and then on the otherhand who would eat a bass of that size out of NEPEAN SEWER anyways???
anyways with these problems that south creek is facing now....being choked with weed how is anyone goin to be able to fish it...there is simply too much weed around these days...plus i dont even live in those areas anymore so why not let some one else catch the fish that ive been privelidged enough to catch!!!
phil

steve_K
21-08-2004, 04:52 PM
softplastics and deepfly in winter deep diving hard bodies and spinnerbaits in summer.

temp
25-08-2004, 03:32 PM
any lure so long as it is a SMAK BROLGA, will work

Fitzy
25-08-2004, 05:40 PM
any lure so long as it is a SMAK BROLGA, will work

;)

G'Day Steve,
Weclome aboard mate.

Wasn't the lure in the pic one of your prototypes?
http://www.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/images/TempBass.jpg

fitz..

BlitzBaga
26-08-2004, 02:10 PM
about time Temp, good to see you in here

Murray

temp
26-08-2004, 04:05 PM
Sure was fitzy . Good to be aboard.
gid day murry.

temp.

aussiebasser
26-08-2004, 05:24 PM
Simple list:
Voodoo
Feral cat
Jaysea's Patriot
Blitz Baga
Brolga
Whitmore Cray
Micro Mullet

Birdy
27-08-2004, 03:43 AM
Blitzbaga.
poltergiest 50 (be suprised how big of a bass will eat em)
bassman spinnerbaits.
that is my two fav's the rest come in second.
surface is by far the nightcrawler.

Just a note to Fishy Phill,

I have fished and lived on the Clarence for over 25 years.You go on about your experience and targeting big fish,if you can't get 55cm plus fish out of this system you firstly can't read new water and arn't too flash on learning what works on unseen populations of bass.......and that mate,is a true test of experience.
I think i know who you are mabey.....not a fan of wilson rods by chance??.....this is not a dig or trying to annoy ya but i think i may have met you??????

Birdy

temp
27-08-2004, 03:35 PM
Great to see everyone using all the AUSSIE lures.
We all know they are the best.

fishy_phil
28-08-2004, 11:05 AM
gday birdy.
ive caught big fish outa most river systems in NSW from nepean north to the clarence. most ive only fished 2 or 3 times. so i can read new water. i live and fish on the Orara River near Coutts. been here since 2001. i think my problem with not catching big fish could be the river im fishing ??? ive only hooked one fish that was easily 500mm plus but i didnt catch it as i was in a kayak near a bit of faster water/eddy got it to the side of the kayak and it kicked i lost my balance, capsized...and goodbye fish and outfit... >:(. ugly stik and shimano reel.
im a regular in gone fishin' in grafton.
plus most of my efforts for bass have only been in the orara, never had any chance to fish the gorge, but i have fished the nymboida and mann rivers but all i catch are cod and catfish.
phil

Birdy
28-08-2004, 01:58 PM
Phil,

I think I know who you are.
The main group of fish is passing through Grafton in the Clarence as i type and there wil be a few 55 plus fish in them .Now is the time to get into the main river from about Grafton to Copmanhurst and in a few weeks above there to Lilydale and Newbold.
I'm not going to mention specific spots on here as i've never written about them or mentioned them on the net but if your keen for a looksy at some of the better water around the place that hold the big girls leave a message with John at Gone Fish'n and we'll organise a day.......gotta keep it to yourself tho.

Birdy

fishy_phil
30-08-2004, 10:39 AM
gday birdy
went down the back of my joint yesturday and got 3 fish upto 430mm, still no 500mm though :(. sounds good about a bit of a go around grafton. will talk to john about a trip. btw will i need my own canoe???
phil

fishin
30-08-2004, 03:13 PM
yeh went down the back of here today got 45cm bass

basserman
30-08-2004, 04:32 PM
heres my 45cm bass that i caught and released today ;D

trollsroyce
01-10-2004, 04:49 PM
for shad raps try the tackle warehouse and for eddys wasps go to sundown marines throughout bin $8