View Full Version : Imformation on awoonga
greg30
10-10-2004, 04:24 AM
Can someone tell me if you can fish off the banks at the dam thanks greg30
mini696
14-10-2004, 06:16 AM
The last time I fished there was before it filled up after the wall raising. We usually trolled the weed beds in the middle, so fishing from the banks was not very productive.
However, I have heard the lastest theory (now the dam is fuller) is to cast into the snags near the banks. So I guess fishing from shore would be more productive than usual.
Fisheasy
15-10-2004, 05:53 AM
It's been forever since I was up there last but anglers fishing at the old boat ramp always used to catch fish, some nice ones at that. There are hire boats there - make the most of them if you can ;D
Colwatzek
22-10-2004, 02:31 PM
Hi Greg30,
We were up there last week and at the moment all reports are saying the fish are in the shallow water albiet we couldn't find them. If you are staying at the caravan park there is planty of accessable shoreline both towards the dam wall or towards the ski area. We had a boat so we didn't fish these areas but so long as there is shallow water about a metre or so then I reckon give it a go. As per most guy's advice fish early morning or late arvo and into the evening. If you are then when the moon is full then have a go for as long as you are willing to have a throw as you will have a great chance of landing a fish rigft through the night. Hope there is no wind for you as it is a killer up there
Good luck
Col