View Full Version : new reel abu vs daiwa
yellahunter
18-11-2004, 04:26 PM
looking at getting a new setup for predominantly freshwater fishing, thought either the abu 4600c or the daiwa Millionaire S
thats the cheaper one.
has anyone got any ideas on either of them.
will be taking it to new england chasing cod but also want to get use out of it back on the coast fishing for bass etc
any ideas are appreciated
cheers ;D
mate i have a little millionare,,abu baitcastor(1003 or somethin) and a okuma 200L(on one hell of a stick,,,lol)....gotta love the overhead gear for in the river,,just so more controllable then a spinner i find...as far as what you are lookin at,,,i'd buy another millionare in a heartbeat...
paz
yellahunter
18-11-2004, 05:11 PM
yes but its not the $400 millionaire its the s model which goes for around 150 and has 2 ball bearings and plastic star drag and knob etc
fishsmith
19-11-2004, 03:39 PM
Mate go for the abu 4600 c4 a sweet little reel that is well made it will last for years the diawa mill s is a very cheap copy with too much plastic for my money...theres a abu 4600 C4 selling on ebay at the moment for around $70.00..check it out..
Bad_Bubby
19-11-2004, 04:09 PM
I agree, those s-series millionaires are terrible. The Abu will not let you down...
yellahunter
20-11-2004, 03:41 AM
thanks guys sounds good, do u reckon the abu could handle 20lb braid for a while when im cod fishing or is it more of a bass type reel and only suitable for light line??
Glind
20-11-2004, 07:16 AM
I've got my ABU 4600 with Erskine drags and it has 50 lb braid over the top for pulling barra and jacks out of hard cover. Get one.
devocean
20-11-2004, 08:11 AM
Abu for sure been fishing all my life with them cant be beat. Also pretty easy to maintain, repair and clean.
scott_b
20-11-2004, 01:24 PM
Gday yellahunter
Mate I think the 4600 is the same as the 5600 and 6500 in diameter just narrower spool and line level. I got two 5600s one 6500 cast really good but the line levels do wear out fast if you do heaps of casting and don't keep them clean (guilty). Brand new worm and pawl for the line level is about $13.00 ,just carry a spare you might need one in 2 years if you do lots of casting.
wanjam
fishsmith
21-11-2004, 10:58 AM
I run 50lb braid on mine as well for barra when fishing the faust dam forrest,no problems at all..
billy7
21-11-2004, 12:24 PM
the new 5600 ws are great. mine outcast my calcutta by a mile.time will tell if it will last as the calcutta has give me years of service with only the need the renew the drag washers and replace a couple of gears
yellahunter
23-11-2004, 04:56 PM
ended up getting the 4600 blue, very happy so far, casts unreal and yeah overall looks very high quality for the price i paid, got a good deal around 140 new.
;D ;D ;D
hopefully get a cod or two on it in two weeks time hehe