View Full Version : leslie dam?
jimmybob
16-02-2005, 12:23 PM
gday peoples....im goin on a trip to leslie dam out near warrick this weekend and im wondering what success' anyone out there have had fishin there?
caveman
16-02-2005, 04:53 PM
jimmybob i work mate has been getting heaps out there but the bait hes using is the problem, he went out and got shrimps from near texas and freezes them and these frozen shrimps are all he is getting them on they aren't even taking the live ones
jimmybob
17-02-2005, 12:10 PM
yer i heard that there isnt much bitin out there cave man..thanx anyways....il go on the hunt anyway...see what happens
budgebass
18-02-2005, 07:37 PM
Gidday Jimmybob
Spent 2 days at Leslie about a month ago. We got about half a dozen yellowbelly both days, mostly 35-45 cm.
The first day we scored nearly 20-25 fish, a lot of undersize and the next day hardly got any small ones.
We used live shrimp however caught half of the fish on peeled shrimp tails. Fish were hitting the live shrimp, and then leaving it we then peeled the shell off and fish were hitting the peeled shrimp as much as live ones.
And most of our better fish were caught around midday.
Good luck
Budgebass
yellahunter
19-02-2005, 04:54 AM
budgebass were you fising from the bank or a boat? I love leslie, unreal spot for camping and theres no shortage of fish in that dam,
We fish off the bank and have caught some nice ones! :D
budgebass
19-02-2005, 09:34 PM
gidday yellahunter
we fished from a boat, caught lot of little yellows at the buoyline near the dam wall
but got most of our fish up in the last bay before reaching the black boys
yep agree i also have a fondness for leslie, and at times the fishin off the bank in leslie has been nothing short of sensational.
but we got a dose of 'duck lice' one year so we stick to the boat now.
budgebass
Fitzy
21-02-2005, 04:55 AM
Was out there last weekend. Fished for only a couple of hours for 2 undersized yellas & 2 legal yellas. All on lures, all around the area from the little rocky point that out on front of Washpools & the points coming from the the opposite side of the lake. Alot of fish on the sounder showing through there.
fitzy..