View Full Version : Wivenhoe Tips

macca
10-09-2005, 08:40 PM
Been to Wivenhoe two weeks in a row for no bass, just heaps of catties.

I now know which is the best lure for catties, any one!!! >:(

I have tried the edges, shallows and the deep for nothing. Trolled, thrown plastics and jackalls and have found that catties luv em all.

Have I left my run to late? Am I better off waiting till next winter?

I have not really found a school anywhere, just scatterings.

Anyone willing to pm me a gps mark for a starting point to get me on track?

Or any other advice.

Macca

aussiebasser
10-09-2005, 08:49 PM
G'day Macca,

Anything with a rattle in it will attract Forkies. Shallow water will also see the Forkies appear. I haven't been out for a while, but I'd be lookin' for deep water and scattered fish at the moment. Trolling with a lure that goes down 25-30' will see you in the right area. Once you catch a fish, start jigging. Read Fitzy's article in the latest Bush'n'Beach. That should give ya a couple of tips too. Don't give up yet, the fun in Logan's Inlet should be starting any time now.

macca
10-09-2005, 09:24 PM
Don't give up yet, the fun in Logan's Inlet should be starting any time now.

:-? :-? :-?

What fun ?

Thanks for your advice Dale,

Macca

aussiebasser
11-09-2005, 07:05 AM
Mate, my two biggest Bass, and my brother's biggest both came from Logan's Inlet last year, about 5 minutes from the boat ramp. They should be heading back in there very soon. This one came on fly from the bay between the picnic area and the camp ground. 54cm.