View Full Version : Freshwater Lures

TinarooTriumph
03-05-2006, 09:50 PM
G'day Folk.

Been awile since ive posted a topic, so heres one to chew your nails over.

The topic is... Your favourite Freshwater Lure (yes another 'favourite', i must stop these topic's one day!). Aswell as giving us the name of the lure, share with us what colour, what technique, what target species you plan to hook, and any other details you might have on the lure!

Will be intersting to here what brands and so-on will come out of this topic. If you have a few favourites then sure post them. This can be for ALL freshwater lures, from poppers to deep divers, from Halco to Predatek, anything to anything! Just knock ya self out would ya's!

TinarooTriumph 8-)

bdowdy
04-05-2006, 07:40 AM
:)peter newells wood lures, from the kadiatcha to callops they all work a treat on freshwater species and hes a top bloke. cheers bdowdy ;) ;)

tiges
04-05-2006, 11:53 AM
For bass, which I mainly fish for. Smoke core slider grub (with the paddle tail), rigged on a beetlespin set-up. When I 1st took up impoundment bass fishing about 3yrs ago, some mates put me onto the beetlespin technique. Their fav's were atomic paddle tails in motor oil, and purple with the yellow tail. Had some success with these colours, but saw the sliders one day and liked the look of 'em. The smoke cores been smokin' em ever since, definitely my confidence lure. Have noticed since in articles that a lot of the bass pro's are also quite fond of this plastic, don't know if they're using them set up as a beetlespin though.

When I was younger did a lot of bass fishing in the creeks on the NSW south coast. Gun lures were Manns 5+ for sub-surface and the ever reliable jitterbug for the topwater.

Tiges

ibbo
04-05-2006, 12:51 PM
Hey tiges any chance of posting a pic of these lures?

tiges
04-05-2006, 03:23 PM
Can't find the camera ibbo, but when I do I'll take a clearer pic of one for ya. Here's a couple of pics from the archives that might show something. The one that shows the plastic and beetlespin clearest is actually the motor oil atomic. But a couple that show the smoke core colour too.

tiges
04-05-2006, 03:29 PM
Smoke core

tiges
04-05-2006, 03:32 PM
I'm guessing your talking about the beetlespin ibbo, they're similar to a spinnerbait. Just with one small blade and a plastic of your choice rather than a skirt.

tiges
04-05-2006, 06:04 PM
Here's a pic of one rigged up. Sorry it's a crusty old one out of the lure box, so the blades a bit corroded and the colour of the plastic is a bit dark and dull. They're usually a bit more creamy yellowish in the centre of the plastic with a thin clear layer on the outside.

TinarooTriumph
04-05-2006, 06:18 PM
Well done Tiges! Nice pic's mate!

Im a big fan of Predatek lures, i know alot of people rate them as $hit but i think they are very productive. My favourite lure would have to be the Predatek V150X Viper Xtra, in XG colouration for those big beautifull barra ;) .

As a matter of fact i purchased a few lures this arvo, puchased a few fish ten outback minnows (which look alright, as long as i wack some new split rings and some VMC's on em'!), and i also brought a lure id been admiring for quite some time. The Predatek Spaddler, in 50mm Fire tiger. Looks like a really good surface lure. Has any1 here fished with it? If so post... been interesting to hear how you've gone with it.

TinarooTriumph 8-)

ibbo
05-05-2006, 09:12 PM
Ah got ya now, thanks tiges had no idea what you were talking about.

Do you cast at banks and snags or fish deep water, or both?

I am heading to sommerset soon to do some bassin deep water, need some tips!

caveman
05-05-2006, 09:45 PM
spinner baits all the way, yet to try them on barra but next time i'm in there country i will give them a go

tiges
05-05-2006, 11:20 PM
They're very versatile ibbo. Can burn em along the surface, let em sink to the bottom and work all the water in between. Slow rolling with pauses seems to work best for me, usually along the edge of weedwalls in 4-6m of water. But anywhere ya find fish holding on the sounder it's worth rolling one thru.

And Cavey, I'm keen to upsize a beetlespin on the barra and see how it goes.

teeka
06-05-2006, 10:57 AM
Ausspin twin and quad spin spinnerbaits. Any colours, work great on yellowbelly and the good old murray cod.

jimbolikes_barra
06-05-2006, 07:47 PM
hi all

shimano splash roller (like a tango dancer) in a striped perch color, signature G.H jerk minnow (in gold)
and pink snap baks with TT lures rev head jigheads

BobbyJ123
07-05-2006, 05:54 AM
Well done Tiges! Nice pic's mate!

Im a big fan of Predatek lures, i know alot of people rate them as $hit but i think they are very productive. My favourite lure would have to be the Predatek V150X Viper Xtra, in XG colouration for those big beautifull barra ;) .

As a matter of fact i purchased a few lures this arvo, puchased a few fish ten outback minnows (which look alright, as long as i wack some new split rings and some VMC's on em'!), and i also brought a lure id been admiring for quite some time. The Predatek Spaddler, in 50mm Fire tiger. Looks like a really good surface lure. Has any1 here fished with it? If so post... been interesting to hear how you've gone with it.

TinarooTriumph 8-)

G'day mate, have to sgree there.
Got this fat girlie on one; and it accounted for more barra than any of the others.

TinarooTriumph
07-05-2006, 11:47 AM
Thats the way Bobby! Nice fish mate, does looks like quite a 'fat girlie' aswell.

Those Vipers are gems arnt they? I cant fish for Barra without at least 2 of them in my lure box. Plenty of other lure options when it comes to Barra, but no thanks i'll stick with predatek ;D . Cant wait for the new range to come out...

TinarooTriumph 8-)

Old_Phart
07-05-2006, 04:42 PM
For Bass - Jackalls or Sqidgy Fish rigged with Beetle Spins.
For Barra - Predatec Viper in Chrome or Ghost Grey and Gold Husky Jerk (all 1 Mt deep models)

hardb8
21-05-2006, 10:24 PM
Bass :- 5cm Rapala Skitter Pop in lime frog.
Jackall Bros TN/60 in purple snake.

Barra :- Rob Gadens Classic Barra Pro 12ft in gold mullet dazzler.
Bills Bug Fizzer in black withsilver fleck.

Make sure ya up grade ya hooks and split rings.Stock ones are 3X I think,But I've had 6Xs straightened out on me!So it pays to spend a few more bucks on Barra insurance.Put VMC 6X hooks and Halco 4XX rings on em for ya best chance.

Tarpon :- Knols native minnow in clear with green scale.
Bennets Baby Merlin in silver with black back.

I recommend chemicaly sharpened hooks on these due to their bony mouth and acrobatic antics to help ya stay connected.

Yellas :- Mini Blitz Baga in Black and white.
Flicks Cobra in pink and black.

TinarooTriumph
21-05-2006, 10:45 PM
Good selections their HardB8.

Thats some fish to straighten out 6X Rings mate! Got a wide range of rings and trebles in the shed which i am always upgrading on ALL my lures. Wish i could remember the sizes of them all so i could note them, but ive had a brain snap ;D . Might do so in the coming days if it got time...

Nice chunky Barra pic aswell mate ;) . Is that the Rob Gaden Classic you were on about hooked up in his gob?.

TinarooTriumph 8-)

hardb8
21-05-2006, 11:28 PM
Sure is.Another pattern that worked surprisingly well in the same lure at night was Elton John(See pic).I usually use this pattern in the day time as it is a fluro colour but it produced well in the dark also until a chrome monster decided she wanted it more than me. :'(Barra have the ability to straighten hooks when one set of hooks is in the top jaw and another is in the bottom jaw.Then when they open their mouth (As with their imploding feeding action)it provides a tremendous amount of leverage on your gear which is out of your control,There is no way I had enough power in my tackle to straighten these hooks as I was only running 20 lb braid when this happened.Thats nothin!I've seen snapped rods,Broken landing nets,A rear tow point ripped clean out of a Manns stretch 12,A spooling on 30 lb braid,And a pair of Bogga grips taken from a bloke by one that was fair dinkum on havin some new jewelry.Personally I've had 6Xs bent like paper clips and one day I was using 80lb Spiderwire as a leader to get more depth and had that absoultly destroyed.If theres a weak link they'll find it in a hurry.Gotta love em. :)

TinarooTriumph
22-05-2006, 04:48 PM
Thats the thing with Barra, you cant give them any respect - once you land them in your boat, then the respect flows.

Ive seen my fair share of rod snaps with these Barra too mate. Give them the slightest opputunity to get away, they'll take it with open arms - even if it means taking your precious tackle, and outfits for that matter to the rubbish heap.

TinarooTriumph 8-)