View Full Version : Awonga softies

Denis_K
27-07-2006, 11:01 PM
Are softies a real option on Barra in Awonga? My mate and I are there for a couple of weeks and would like some feedback from any body that has had some experiences with them you may be able to share some knowledge on colours types techniques locations times that sort of thing.

luskin
27-07-2006, 11:11 PM
Hy Denis

I didn't do them justice but green 100mm? slickrigs were recommended also drop bear squidgies

Mate caught some catties but I just stuck with my "bleeding mullett" arafura's ;) ;) ;)

Sy

rivermanau
28-07-2006, 11:49 AM
Dont know about Awoonga, but they worked fine at Peter Faust dam last year for metre plus fish. Silver and black 100 mm size in Squidgies or Kokoda , apparently the Drop Bear Squidgie Slick Rigs (White and Pink) have been doing well.
They can be used in the snags, but are more suited to open water. Amongst the sticks the floating ability of a hard body is more effective, (Bombers, barra baits etc) make sure you keep the retrieve real slow with lots of slow twitches stops and starts. Its hard to work the lure slowly when you are excited!
Robert

TinarooTriumph
28-07-2006, 02:22 PM
Large Green Storm Shads seem to be the go at Awoonga of late I've read... The Drop Bear Squidgy Slickrig is a good option for any Barra Impoundment. Id definetely be looking at some 100mm + size Slickrigs (If they get any bigger???).

TT 8-)

Awoonga
28-07-2006, 06:42 PM
Yes Slick rigs...Drop bears.... Weed beds......Get the picture ;D

phatty
28-07-2006, 08:12 PM
have been using the 110mm slick rigs in the blue and the white w/ pink lately on the weedbeds.. seems pretty popular.. look for the warm water.

Big_unit
29-07-2006, 10:37 PM
Ive heard that slick rigs are going great guns and Ive also heard and seen recently a new leader that just dont get busted up in the snags or on those big girls gill rackers.

James

Awoonga
30-07-2006, 07:18 AM
James have seen that leader too.. But the fishes well being needs to be taken into account as well...Not just the fisherman The thinner the line the more it cuts into the flesh...Just like fishing line cuts into your fingers...l only had a brief look at the leader ...Barra are large fish and they pull quite well :) Its a case of wait and see....untill l use one or fish with someone that uses them l will not pass judgement on them...Trevor

T-roy
02-08-2006, 05:35 PM
Hey mate
I herd the squidgy slick rigs work for barra around the weed beds

T-roy

barramad.
02-08-2006, 09:31 PM
Dennis,
Squidgy slick rigs in 110mm work very well on impoundment barra at Awoonga and other impoundments (and a heap of other fish).
Any colour works mate, Ive caught fish on all the colours, however I like using dull colours in clear water.
Ive been using them at Awoonga for about 5 months now. They work in all area's of the dam not just weed beds. Open shallow bays, deep drop offs, timbered structure and shallow points. You may need to change or modify the jig heads if fishing shallow area's.
Use the 80mm jig heads in the 110 body if fishing shallow, or trim down and file your 110mm jig heads (which is what I do)

Tinaroo Triumph, there is some 170mm slick rigs coming out soon, they will be released at the trade show next weekend.
All new colours and patterns as well for the full range of slick rigs for all you colour hounds. ;D

Just remember TT, bigger doesnt always mean better. Ive trialled a HEAP of plastics, all brands and sizes, and by far and away the most success Ive had has been with 110mm slickies.

Slow rolling them is all thats required Dennis, cast 'em out and wind 'em in.No tricky twitches.You'll have a blast!
Goodk luck.
Jas

mistress_T
02-08-2006, 10:34 PM
Hi- Jas- have heard all the bits on the 110 slick rigs which is good- have you tried the new 4"Gulp Pogy's yet? My mates in WA are killing the pig on them and I'm at Awoonga in Sept for a few days then Nov for a week (when the rest of the world is there) on the houseboat- have a new threadline outfit to try- pulls 9 kilos of drag, fishing it with thin 30 on a 'mini jig rod'- should be ok I think.
Have you had any dramas with the slick rig hooks?

Tight lines and lots of big barras to you,

Greenie

barramad.
03-08-2006, 12:07 PM
G'Day Greenie.
In regards to the pogy's mate, yeh I have tried them. Johnny Schofield sent me a few packets, said something pretty similar to you about guys up in the Territory whacking 'em as well.
I havent had any success using them yet, but honestly I havent put much time in with them to be fair. They require a fair amount of forced action to get them to swim, so they are a lot different to what Ive been using. I guess my gear doesnt marry particuarly well for that style of plastics as well, looks to me like a finesse approach would be the way to go.

In regards to the slick rig hooks, I havent lost a single fish to one yet, but I have stretched them :)
They are holding up, with some new hooks due out soon.
Ive caught fish over a 120cm using them, the most critical factor to be addressed is the leader.
They are deeply inhaled, so the stresses are obvious. I guess thats the main reason you dont seem to loose fish to a straightened hook, because the purchase of hooking both the upper and lower jaw is not there.
Threadline sounds great, thats some serious drag. My guess is a top notch Daiwa Certate or a Stella?
The way I see it, plastics will open a lot of doors for less experienced anglers to catch big impoundment Barra casting. You dont need a bc, infact your better off with a threadline for plastics IMO, and theres no tricky retrieve.

Yeh the crowds are thick in Novemeber, but theres ALWAYS somewhere to fish where others are not. Most will be trolling, so the fringes are usually pretty traffic free.
Anyway, be more than happy to catch up at the trade show this weekend for a chat.
Jas

woolybugger
03-08-2006, 12:59 PM
Jas, or anyone who wants to reply,

A few of us are up that way in Oct and have a bucket load of Slick Rigs etc to try out.

I am a great believer of "Catch and release" and putting the least stress onto fish and when you mention that Barra swallow these quite deeply into their throats, do you take off the barbs?

Rich,

barramad.
03-08-2006, 01:27 PM
Rich,
I practise catch and release as well. When I said they inhale the plastic, they do. However, it doesnt end up in the gullet. They usually hook around the tongue or the inside of the gill plate.
Squashing the barb will not make any difference. The hook comes out extremely easy, (sometimes too easy, wondering how it held) because of the hardness of the area inside a barra's mouth.
If your not familiar with what I mean, next time you land a Barra, quickly look inside its mouth, its armour plated.
Good luck in October.
Jas

phatty
03-08-2006, 04:28 PM
I also too have found that they do take the plastics to the backs of their mouths. Have lost a couple of fish to, going to light on the leader. The corner of their jaw just cuts away at it. That was 60lb 10X and i will never make that mistake again.

just somthing to keep in mind.

matt

Denis_K
03-08-2006, 06:21 PM
Guys thanks for all the info and pictures there is a lot of knowledge and experience out there my mate John and I are up there for two weeks begining of October and will be giving some softies a belt around. Hope to see some of you while where up that way

barramad.
03-08-2006, 06:26 PM
Matt,
Wouldnt matter if it was 80 or 100lb leader mate. Ive had 80lb cut neat as a knife on the gill plates on the first jump.
Im using some different material when using plastics. Lets just say I dont get cut off any more!
Jas

mistress_T
03-08-2006, 09:33 PM
Thanks Jas- just a tip with those pogys- put 'em on upside down! They swim heaps better. If you need to get more tail kick, trim the top (not bottom) of the tail wrist of the lure. With this they get a nice body wobble as well.
I'll be away out at Wreck Reef when the tackle show is on so unfortunately I'll miss you, but Michael, my son, will be there on the Saturday- he'll find you. The threadlines we are using are Daiwa Certate 2500 and 3500 HD customs- I also use a 2500 Stella but these don't give you the drag pressure of the Daiwas. Our trolling mission during daylight hours this year is to get one over 19.3 (current 2kg world record) on 2 kilo mono- best last season was 12.75. It does make the 'trolling in the middle' business a bit more challenging. We had a definite 20 kilo plus one on the toy rod last year but we pulled the hooks after a while.
I prefer the hook 'em or pop 'em excitement in the tight stuff- last year we got a stack of great fish to 115, no 120 plus ones landed that season but we saw 2 beasts that were the biggest pair of barra I've ever seen. Both busted up in snags.

Are you getting any at the moment? We are going to Callide, then Awoonga in about 5 weeks.

Greenie

woolybugger
04-08-2006, 12:12 PM
Has any one used the Tsunami Chad soft plastics on Barra?

I was given a ship load to try in the 4 and 5inch lengths...

phatty
04-08-2006, 04:21 PM
hey jas..

any chance on finding out what that new material is?

barramad.
04-08-2006, 06:28 PM
Greenie,
No worries mate, enjoy the reef trip.
Thanks for the tip on the pogys.
I'll keep an eye out for your young fella too.

Although Ive been super busy at work, when I have been out the fishing has been great. Typical winter stuff. Last trip saw a bit of a shocker, dropped 7 fish (all over the metre) 3 jumped off on fly, 3 lost on squidgies, and a 120+ lost boatside. It happens.
Prior to that, sensational to say the least!

When your up, give me a call if you like, If Im not too busy at work be good to catch up for a chat.
Jimmy Harnwell has my number, he 'll give it to you.
Have a good one.
Jas

salmo_man
05-08-2006, 11:09 PM
ok den looks like i gotta go and buy some more tackle before we go to add to my bursting supplys.plastics as well struth were gonna be busy up there. a big trout upgrade this is gonna be :D :D

Denis_K
06-08-2006, 10:23 AM
about time I heard from you John hope you got somthing out of what the guys had to say, you are right at this rate well need a trailer for the tackle boxes themselves any way better go and grab some more softies. Liked the Purple Duck pic.

Cheers mate

fsh00
06-08-2006, 02:19 PM
Hey salmo man,
About time tou found this site, Yeah take lots of gear with you when u go so when i drop in i'll have a good choice of lures ;D ;D ;D.
check your messages.

Pete.

salmo_man
07-08-2006, 07:10 PM
been reading for many months finaly joined see i gotta get 10 posts up to reply to your emails. i guess this is gonna be a little bit different to fishing with 1 kg strain . just wonderering and puzzled how light can i go on these big monsters providing i hook up that is. guess the trace is everything with the armour these sporting monsters have. lure action is everything with trace diameter. and line diameter. guess its gonna cost me a few lures to experement and find out .scarey but sounds like fun .

tiges
07-08-2006, 08:55 PM
Has anyone tried big stick bait style plastics on barra, like the big squidgy evil minnows? I guess you'd have to find or customise suitable jigheads. But you'd be able to keep them in the strike zone for a long time.

barramad.
08-08-2006, 02:51 AM
Tiges,
Yes I have mate, last year spent a lot of time using flick baits and slug-go's.
Had a lot of strikes but not convincing ones.Im sure that was more due to how I was presenting them. Didnt help with the gear I was using either, flick baits definantly call for a finesse approach. Soft rods and quality threadlines would be the go.
Theres some work and on the water development required to get the full benefit of stick baits, nutting out the best retrieve etc.
But, wheres there's a will, there's a way.
Jas