View Full Version : Barra, How far would you go?
Tropicaltrout
09-08-2006, 08:52 PM
:)Hi Ausfishers
I was reading the forum tonight and noticed a lot of talk on distance travelled for the chrome beauties of the north and i began to wonder how far you guys go ::), so far the longest trip was Faust from my home here on the sunny coast, and now the introduction to barra at lenthalls :) :) and fuel prices going up :'( the trips my get down sized :-?, What about you guys?
Hi Tropical
I travel from Sunshine Coast to Lenthalls to chase both Barra and Bass. Catch one barra and who cares re cost of fuel.
Camping is next to nothing so you save your money there.
We may do Awonga this summer.
Sav
barradise
09-08-2006, 10:01 PM
Just down the end of the street to Awoonga, bugger all fuel for me, plenty of time spent fishing though.
Also fish faust, tinnaroo, mondo and few in between, cost irrelevent for this type of fishing action.
John.
scott_b
09-08-2006, 10:06 PM
Gday tropical
mate ,a friend and I try to get to one of the dams once or twice a year and I have been to the Gulf only once.
We live in Inverell NSW so Awoonga is about 1000km, Monduran is about 900km ,Prosy is about 1600km and we have stopped at Teemburra on the way home from Prosy.
So km's don't seem to matter when it comes to barra . Think its because their are no fresh water fish in aus that gets you as excited and rewarded as much as the fight and size of a meter plus barra.
Looking foward to this year wamjam
aussiebasser
09-08-2006, 10:19 PM
I drove to Maryborough and back one Sunday arvo to spend an hour chasin' them. Weekend at Awoonga is no hassle, have travelled to Faust and Teemburra. All from Brisneyland. An hour and a bit south to catch a Bream or 5 1/2 hours north to Awoonga to catch a Barra, no argument really. Love them Pink Eyed Leaping Bass.
Stumpthumpa
10-08-2006, 08:48 AM
I live in Byron Bay NSW and head out once a month for an extended fishing weekend, to places like Copeton, Pindari, Sommerset and Borumba to name a few. For Barra we do an annual trip to Prossie most years which is a 3000km round trip.
The fuel prices hurt a bit, but for my deckie (wife) and I - this is what we love. This year we will not go to Prossie, only due to low dam levels and access, we would rather give it a rest and try next year. As an alternative this October we will go to Cania, Awoonga and finally Monduran.
We also try to spend our dollars in the local communities and have found some great people on the way. As an example Kyogle has had it tough, with the Plywood mill burning down so we stock up there when we go to Toonumbar. Imbil has a great butcher (and the previous owner) when you go to Borumba. I am sorry to say the bottle shop in Prossie will probably have to delay rennovations until we get back up there!
wheezer
10-08-2006, 09:19 AM
from last aug-march i made the hike from the sunnie coast to either awoonga (most often) or monduran once a month. then in june went up to cairns to visit the folks and went up to lakefield (7hrs from cairns) for a weekend to chase them in the wild.....all worth it and i'd do it more often if i could!
mylestom
10-08-2006, 09:29 AM
This year from Coffs to Monduran, Awoonga, Teemburra, Kinchant Proserpine and then the cyclones came in and fished Ayr and Townsville. Then back to Awoonga.
Trip north in October is just to Monduran. Reason top dam with the best facilities for the camper. Also Bass and Barra
Trev
luskin
10-08-2006, 01:13 PM
I live in Albury NSW on the Victorian border
Went up as far as Lucinda in May/June travelled 8200kms ;D ;D
Will be heading to Prossie in Mid-October then down to awoonga
Would like to fish Monduran and also Lenthalls
Where the heck is Lenthalls :-? :-?
Got lost trying to find it last time. :D
Sy
jimbamb
10-08-2006, 01:56 PM
sy.
lentills is a bit tricky to find the turnoff is about 10k north of the "sexie coffee "shop on the highway on the northern side of maryborough. Take the second turn off to the left travelling north.The sign says Wangi Nat park (I think)
Barra fishin is like takin drugs.ADDICTIVE...the cost is not as important as thrill of gettin one on the line ...Size does matter but little fellas give a huge rush as well as the big girls.Furtherst ive been is from sunny coast to Cape york and west to KunnunarraWA.(On a round aus trip) and everywhere in between
McCod
10-08-2006, 04:38 PM
About 12hrs to Prossie "Faust" is the longest ! Have done it up to 5 trips per year with the shortest trip being 3 or 4 days and longest is 2 weeks. Done a few 1 day trips "320 KM" to Monduran. Now Lenthalls is a easy 1 or 2 day trip and is a good option now with the high price of fuel.
Cheers Les
TinarooTriumph
10-08-2006, 04:41 PM
Good topic Trouty.
cost irrelevent for this type of fishing action.
John.
I mighten pay for all the fuel that goes into my parents car when we travel to go fishing, but I will agree with you - cost shouldnt be an issue. It is a issue for alot of anglers, which is pretty sad. All they want to do is wet a line and catch a few fish, and with the price of fuel these days they cant do that as often as they'd like :-[ . I heard by the end of this month that unleaded will climb to $1.50 a litre in some places, which is just insane.
Anyway, when I get my P's, I dont want to care how far it is to travel to catch a Barra down south, but with the prices of fuel rising I will care!. Considering where I live, it's not all that bad situation compared to where some of you are from e.g. Bris-Vegas (or whatever the hell they call it!), or further south. So for the moment I can't complain too much.
TT 8-)
way_out_bush
10-08-2006, 04:57 PM
Longest trip we have done is from Moree NSW to Coburg penisula NT. This year we are going to King ash bay in the NT.
We have also been to awoonga 4 times and twice to hinchinbrook.
mickstar001
10-08-2006, 05:56 PM
Never done it, but is on my "To do" list. Where would one go who's from brissy, get a direct flight into cairns and go from there??????
luskin
10-08-2006, 06:50 PM
Way out bush
look forward to your report and pic's from King Ash
would like to hear how it is up there
Sy
way_out_bush
10-08-2006, 08:08 PM
Luskin no worries at all. We are leaving at the start of novemeber. We will be taking 2 boats my mate shanes 5.1 trailcraft profish 80 hp 4stroke yammy and my new (yet to arrive hopefully in the next fortnight) 4.8 gs marine xtreme 90 hp 4 stroke suzuki. we will have 3 people in each boat and have booked 2 cabins at king ash bay although we will probably camp in the boats 1 to 2 nights. None of us has been there before but shane has been to lemmin bite a few times. shane and i have fished together for about 7 years and our results have ranged from awsome to absolule disasters!! The price of fuel is not too bad if you split it 3 ways and all up the trip should cost about $2000 each and thats for everything including food fuel acoomadation a few beers, we even allow for bushmans in the budget. Thsi does not cover fishing tackle. We fish with hard body lures %90 of the time but will resort to bait when we get desperate!!
luskin
10-08-2006, 08:22 PM
Sounds great WOB ;D ;D
Thanks Jimbamb for the heads up on Lenthalls
Took the wrong trail last time. Came to a T intersection on the dirt doing 80kms :o :o
Was driving a subaru outback with a 435 Honet trophy on back
Have just upgraded to a T/D triton dual cab ;D ;D ;D
Sy
Tropicaltrout
10-08-2006, 08:37 PM
Wow what a great responce ;) I guess the rising fuel does have a impact on some of you, but you and me seem to all agree they are the most sort after fish in our dams and rivers and at the end of the day if we get one week a year through saving your penny's then its well worth it!! :) :)
Thanks for your responce
Tropicaltrout
10-08-2006, 08:42 PM
P.S at Awoonga in November for a week, can't wait, and this time I am taking my younger brother so he can experiance that feeling we all seem to get hooked on. Can't wait till my son is old enough
10-08-2006, 08:43 PM
norwest of tassie to awoonga, how far, dont know
3.5 hour drive to airport
3 hour flight
6 hrs to 1770 (thats as far as I got last trip
1hr they tell me to awoonga
ps
cost
who really cares
scott_b
10-08-2006, 10:57 PM
gday t trout
mate what week in nov are you going.
wamjam
andrew73
11-08-2006, 10:14 AM
Well i only live in Gladsone but i think the best that myself and my mates have managed is missing 5 to 10 days fishing in awoonga over a 3mth period a few years ago. This consisted of after work trips weekend trips etc. and i know gladstone to awoonga isnt that far really but you add up a 60 to80 km round trip every day and it soon does, but in the end who cares we go out doing what we all love fishing. In fact i still would be doing similar things but work gets in the way a little more now days >:(.
Tropicaltrout
11-08-2006, 07:16 PM
From the 18th wamjam can't wait :)
scott_b
11-08-2006, 11:22 PM
Gday t trout
Hopefully be there 30 of Oct to 4th Nov but no plans for sure yet.
wamjam
Dannyboy
12-08-2006, 08:41 AM
I'm heading up to Awoonga in Oct from the far south of NSW the trip will take 4 days to get there and I'll be pulling a 12 foot boat! I 'll get 7 days fishing and head back.
The cost is around $4000 or more. But if I don't go my little girl will kill me as she has been looking forward to the trip. We pay $150 a litre for petrol now in my home town so the cost of the trip is not the point its the fun and good times with the family I think more about. And I my just get to meet a few of you guys!!
I would leave the boat but the hire cost would kill me!
mylestom
12-08-2006, 11:18 AM
Yeah the houseboats aren't cheap, and the tinnies at the hire place are real flash.
Trev
aussiebasser
12-08-2006, 05:39 PM
I'm heading up to Awoonga in Oct from the far south of NSW the trip will take 4 days to get there and I'll be pulling a 12 foot boat! I 'll get 7 days fishing and head back.
The cost is around $4000 or more. But if I don't go my little girl will kill me as she has been looking forward to the trip. We pay $150 a litre for petrol now in my home town so the cost of the trip is not the point its the fun and good times with the family I think more about. And I my just get to meet a few of you guys!!
I would leave the boat but the hire cost would kill me!
Bugger me, Danny, move to Queensland mate, we only be payin' $1.30ish a litre not $150. :D