View Full Version : Metre Club- have you joined it yet.
mylestom
27-09-2006, 07:56 PM
Metre Club for barramundi only no catfish allowed.
Reckon Ausfish should initiate a sticker or badge for all Ausfishers who qualify. By all means charge for the sticker. But just a thought, have heard everyone mention joining the Metre Club, but where is it and what are the rules.
Must have photo of fish on Brag type mat with clear view of measure.
All fish over metre.
Special class for Catch n Release.
Special sticker for each dam
Wildfish
Impoundment.
What do you all reckon.
Now I will head off on holidays and see what reports we get in the next few weeks.
Yep up to Monduran again for a couple of weeks fishing. 8-) 8-)
Yeah think I might qualify if the rules allow for silly old buggers.
Trev
scott_b
27-09-2006, 08:12 PM
Gday Trev
I think the meter mark is only 2/3's the way these day's . Just about everybody's knows someone who has caught a meter fish , or caught one themselves . One thing I haven't heard to much about is the magic 1.5 meter !!!. I don't think it is to far away.
wamjam
mylestom
27-09-2006, 10:05 PM
Eventually yes we will be looking at 1.5m but what gear will we need. Imagine catching something like that in the timber. Who has got who.
What I would like to do is catch a metre plus fish at each and every impoundment. Got to set some sort of target to aim for. Realise that some of the impoundments haven't reached that target as yet or are harder to catch the bigger fish. But what the heck.
Trev
T
P-ROCK
28-09-2006, 04:51 AM
Catching barra in a dam is like hunting deer at the zoo. ;)
mylestom
28-09-2006, 05:34 AM
Guess u must have been on safara in SA to go to a zoo that big, beside deer are not native to Aus. Just feral pests, like rabbit and foxes. Whatever turns you on.
Yeah have live and fished in the NT for years and enjoyed the experience. What it is about is just that the experience. Some of us are disabled and retired.
There is arguments always about impoundment fishing, but until you spend the time and put the thought and effort into it, you will then have a different perspective.
Trev
28-09-2006, 09:48 AM
Well said Trev. I have never had my heart in my mouth or white knuckles at a deer farm or the zoo ;D
davez104
28-09-2006, 02:17 PM
I made it, only just, but no brag mat to photograph her on :-[ so maybe doesn't count ;) 101cm from Callide Dam, only fish I got that trip and only half an hour or so bafore I was ready to head home so made the trip, thats for sure.
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a69/Davez104/barra.jpg
BrandonH
29-09-2006, 10:47 AM
Yes I have never experanced fishing like Impoundment barra fishing :o :o :o :o
I know a number of foke that drive from sydney each year to fish for them..
First time I went was at faust with my dad and his mate, I got the first fish of the arvo session and it nearly pulled me in!! I couldn't get over the power of these fish!! the first one was only 86cm long!! ;D ;D
By the end of the 4th day i spent up there i had 4 Barra 1mtr+ to my name and 4 more between 80 and 98cms. also lost about 8 of my dads lures as well as many trebbles :-[ (we only upgraded once the 3x ones died). funny thing is my dad got about 5 or 6 in this 4 day period and his mate didn't land one :'( I was glad to hear though that in the next couple of days after i came back home they both got into a few nice fish :)
Brandon..
PB Barra: 107cms there is a pic to prove it too if anyone wants to see it ;)
manangatang
30-09-2006, 03:39 PM
yea haa ! come join the impoundment mitre club ,then we can go shoot some fish in a barrel.
mylestom
30-09-2006, 09:13 PM
Good fish Brand and Dave,
Regards Trev
Always seem to attract some people with bigger hat syndrome or is that bantam rooster syndrome
PROCK
Guess u have a barrell that is over 5800 hectacres is size. Gee just soundS like you boasting a bit.
ShnogDog
30-09-2006, 09:46 PM
I'm only a few days away from experiencing it for myself. I am suprised that people would liken it to "shooting deer in a zoo" or "fish in a barrel". I say to them, if they find it not so challenging, then fish lighter ;) I cant imagine a 100cm+ Barra in the sticks would not present a challenge on 6kg? But I'm not really qualified...yet..Bring on the fish in the barrel !!!
the missus and myself just had our first "barrel fishing" excursion last week at monduran. The dam level is at about 35% at the moment and well.......I don't think you could fairly call it a barrell or a zoo for that matter. Fair enough they are in a captive environment but i'd be more inclined to call it an ecosystem than a barrell. We were gobsmaked at just how big the place is. Good luck finding the fish first......then you gotta catch them ;D ;D
cheers, roo.
P.s. I don't qualify yet....only 87cm ....so far
BobbyJ123
04-10-2006, 01:59 PM
Any chance of being a member????
114 cm
TonyM
04-10-2006, 03:17 PM
Nahh Bob - there has to be at least one tree around the Dam ;)
Just kidding ;D You've caught enough metre + Barra to be on the executive of the Metre club I reckon 8-)
I haven't got my metre fish yet (my pb is only 93) although I didn't have an impoundment boat until recently so watch this space :D
Am off to Monduran in a few weeks and I know how to get em so mightn't be too long now :)
whykickacatalong
04-10-2006, 09:35 PM
Shooting fish in a barrel, damm point me to that barrel then cause after 3 sessions at Awoonga, 1 at kinchant, and 1 at Monderan I am yet to land (yes "land >:() that meter barra.
For those of us from the southern states the impoundment barra is the best barra fishery dollar for dollar to base a trip on and while I accept that they may not be held in the same regard as a wild salty barra, as I hold wild river bass above any dam bass they still area able to provide ball tearing runs and 1 on 1 action when dragging them from the sticks with there bulk and size.
setthehook
04-10-2006, 10:36 PM
woohoo got mine 1st attempt last night at awoonga!! Can i join?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/BARRA1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/barra5.jpg
BobbyJ123
05-10-2006, 06:05 AM
Nahh Bob - there has to be at least one tree around the Dam ;)
Just kidding ;D You've caught enough metre + Barra to be on the executive of the Metre club I reckon 8-)
I haven't got my metre fish yet (my pb is only 93) although I didn't have an impoundment boat until recently so watch this space :D
Am off to Monduran in a few weeks and I know how to get em so mightn't be too long now :)
You have to be joking, Tony....No metre barra yet????? But then whykickacatalong can't manage one, either......... [smiley=end.gif]
TonyM
05-10-2006, 08:16 AM
haha No Bob not yet mate ;D
I imagine I'd have gotten one by now if I didn't find trolling so boring (I really do fall asleep trolling). When I get my big girl it will be in amongst the snags, and I'm sure there's a good chance I'll lose a few more big ones before I get there.
I believe Master once said: Sometimes the journey is more important than the destination Grashopper 8-)
bigdan123
08-10-2006, 09:50 PM
114 cm
no bob 110 cm club for you and me mate ;) :) ;D ;D
Awoonga
09-10-2006, 07:00 PM
Ok this is a Faust Barra.... 128 Those brag mats aren,t big enough
Gunfish
09-10-2006, 07:31 PM
Was almost there....got a 91 cm then 40 min later got another big one, got her in the boat and on top of the esky to measure. I was at the tail end and looking at 106cm.. then mate goes " slide 'er forward mabo"....damn 96cm. Funny thing was the 91 went way harder than the 96. Both caught and released in the Roper River, NT Gulf country, nice yellow fin salty fish.
mabo.
Bronson
10-10-2006, 07:09 PM
no but i plan to soon going up to awoonga in the first week of november
hopeing to join the club..................?
bronson
ShnogDog
10-10-2006, 10:37 PM
Just got back from Awoonga, our best was 108cm. We heard in the camp the next day that on the same night (sunday) a Barra was caught and released that topped 148cm !!! I didnt see it, or know who caught it, but that was the talk in the camp at Willowgrove. Have to say as a first timer to that place that there are certainly some BIG fish lurking in that dam and without a doubt, I'll be going back.
BobbyJ123
11-10-2006, 06:43 AM
114 cm
no bob 110 cm club for you and me mate ;) :) ;D ;D
I'll bet that Al is a tad jealous....if he is game enough to see decent barra, hey?? [smiley=oops.gif] ;D ;D
Steve_B
11-10-2006, 10:25 PM
Shooting deer in a zoo!! how many zoo's are the size of awoonga or monduran. Then put the deer under water and try to find them to shoot them.......well you get the idea!! if old mate thinks its that easy, try going up in winter and catching them. DEER me it's not that easy!!! (now that was bad!).
Here is a 118cm fish called rudolph.
Kendall249
11-10-2006, 10:41 PM
I think a wild caught saltwater barra at 120cm is worth a freshwater at 130cm? should there be different classes, as I've caught saltwater at 120cm and freshwater to 118cm.
Croweater
12-10-2006, 01:36 PM
Never caught a Barra let alone one a metre long!
Caught a KG Whiting 72CM long off Tumby Bay once
Shooter
12-10-2006, 05:16 PM
I’m yet to qualify, I’m 3cm too short. I do like Mylestom idea, a metre long barra from each impoundment is a good target to set yourself. If you get that you deserve a trophy more than a sticker.
mylestom
12-10-2006, 05:42 PM
Good fish folks, its great to start a topic and see where it goes.
Just back from Monduran no metre barra this trip. Small ones around the 75cm mark and quite a few bass up around the 50cm. But the water still a bit cold and a bit windy.
Trev
13-10-2006, 08:00 PM
I'm in - but Trev (Awoonga) will have to vouch for my credentials. I didn't have the brag mat on my boat.
first trip too - i was very happy with myself
13-10-2006, 09:04 PM
first trip on the 9th of oct 2006
first fish 800
second fish 1070
so yes, I'm in
photos later
Codclassic
15-10-2006, 12:33 PM
G Day Boys
Its funny that you mention a meter club because there is a web site www.magicalmark.com.au
that caters for exactly this.
They have 7 different "Magical Marks" with 1 meter + being for Barra. Others include
Murray Cod 1 meter +
Bream 1.5kg+
Bass 50cm+
Snapper 20lb+
Brown Trout 10lb+
Marlin "Grander"
All these species are very attainable depending on fishing location but in the case of Barra I think "wild barra" 1 meter + are a bit harder than dam barra. If you were dam fishing and got one under a meter you could use it as live bait to catch a decent one. ;)
Cheers TB
mylestom
15-10-2006, 05:42 PM
interesting on the magical marks maybe add flathead at 1metre.
Then I could claim at least four barra, bream, bass and flathead.
The ideas of these topics is to get people involved in the different aspects of fishing and encouraging new members to set goals. We might not always attain those goals, but time spent fishing is extra time on your life.
Relax and enjoy all fishing.
TREV