View Full Version : Monduran Hot Spots? Short story

plugger43
14-10-2006, 12:37 PM
Here is the tragic story... three trips to barra farm once to Awonga once to Monduran several times to Lenthalls and STILL no barra for me! Sons yes! Wife YES!! Father in law (first barra fish ever - YES!!!) SOOOOO........... can anyone HELP ME break this duck, heading to Monduran for two days in November - sick of the wife and sons taunts NEED HELP URGENTLY PLEASE!! Have a zillion lures need any help with spots - HERE'S HOPIN!!!!!!!

warrior
14-10-2006, 01:58 PM
mate head into the bays up around white rock we use glod lures ,fish in about two to ten feet early morning and late arvo ,you need to fish right up in the lantana bush and dont be scared to cast into them heaps of times art one snag as they sometimes need some coaxing to have a go.also the white 4inch snap backs unweighted work well,the gold viper 10+ 6inch lure is my favourate,good luck it will happen.cheers AL

plugger43
14-10-2006, 02:04 PM
thank you for the info the boys will be in the boat with me so the comp that goes on among us will be on so hears hoping

plugger43
15-10-2006, 10:07 AM
also do you guys squash your barbs how far is the white rock last time there we only worked the bays near the ramp. I am not looking for any ones secret spots just a hand to break this duck. The boat i have is a 4m sea jay also have a x91 sounder and handheld gps.

MORFIN
15-10-2006, 12:25 PM
Hi Plugger 43,
Mate it took me 10 trips to land a barra at Monduran it was definatley my nemisis of the barra dams, my advice is to leave the misses, kidz, father in law at home, there messing with your mojo! I hope it doesnt take ten trips but when you crack the pattern for Monduran the barra will flow.
As for the spots, grab some drinks and a map from the office they will point you the dirrection. The past few trips I have been getting good numbers up past white rocks bays B and H are a good starting point. Check out google earth for a good look at the dam. All lures will work try working the shallows morning and afternoon then try the deeper snags as the sun gets higher.
Flattening those barbs is a good move not just for all fish that for your own saftey as a mate of mine found out the hard way, a trip to the hospital to remove trebbles from your fingers is nasty. Also flattening barbs gives the fish a chance to throw a lure if they bust you up in the sticks (you may just get your lure back).
Good luck in November.

Gumby_II
15-10-2006, 07:12 PM
plugger43

Don't get too worried about it, you are not alone. Been to Monduran 4 times and a barra farm once and still have not broken the duck. The wife has though and she never lets me hear the end of it.

I would offer you some advice but as you can see from this it would not be much use anyway.

Keep trying, good luck and you will get there eventually.

gumby

peterr
15-10-2006, 07:27 PM
I had my first Barra trip to Monduran in October last year. I done a lot of research on this site before I went. Have a look back through the pages & you will find heaps of valuable info to help you.
Heres what helped me.
: Quietly does it. Don't roar into a bay flat out & start fishing. You gotta sneak up on em.
: All sheltered bays hold fish. just find the likely snags & keep castin.
: You've gotta work hard to get results.
: Work the snaggy country hard & cast , cast , & cast some more.
We got seventeen Barra to the boat & missed just as many for five days fishing. What let us down was our gear, we were fishing too light.
So with one trip under my belt I,m headin back for another crack at em in November for seven days. Can't wait. Hope this helps.

plugger43
21-10-2006, 11:41 AM
thanks everyone for there help will let you know how i go going on the 22nd 23rd of November