View Full Version : Heading up that way tomorrow,Callide>>>Awoonga.!!
Big_Native
30-10-2006, 03:08 PM
G"Day All
I will be leaving my home town of Cowra ,NSW tomorrow arvo for the 1400 km trip to barra heaven, we will leave at 3pm and arrive a biloela about 7-8am the next morn, we plan to stay at bilo and fish callide for two days and then to Awoonga on friday till we leave on tuesday morn for the trip home, we have motel accomodation at bilo and we will be staying at the willowgrove park fri,sat,sun,mon night.
I know there is a barra tour section being held at Awoonga on them dates and will be keping my eyes out to hopefully get a few tips.
This will be my fourth trip to Awoonga in 6 years, the first trip was no barra only catties and long toms ,this was before they raised the water level, the second trip was two barra landed (35 & 63cm)& the third trip one barra 106cm, so it has not all been bad but I would really like to have bigger catch rate :(.
If any of the members are there when Im there I sure would be grateful for a bit of help or knowledge, dont hesitate to come over for a yarn, there will be three of us in a 435 hornet with 50 yammy 4 stroke on the back, boat name "BIG NATIVE", you wont miss me, the boats sorta named after me ;).
Hope to see and meet you there :).
Damien Webb( Big Native).
Bronson
30-10-2006, 06:34 PM
hey mate dont no wat time you plan to go out but iv only been to awoonga once and fished the day time this time were fishing the night leaving wednesday and comeing back sunday might see ya out there
bronson
Awoonga
30-10-2006, 06:38 PM
60 ABT Boats on the Dam Saturday night plus the fullmooners.....No ramp rage or boat rage.please...but bring your gaff just in case ;D ;D
SeekingBarradise
30-10-2006, 09:50 PM
Hi Damien Webb (Big Native) wow you are a committed fisho with that trip wow.
Good to see and nice work putting in an honest report on the fishing up there for a non local. Most people do it pretty tough if the Dam is not their local one thats for sure however this is never reported LOL.
Might be up there when you are so say Gday if you see us in a 5.2m white stessle bass boss with a honda 90 on the back - i'll have another huge guy on board who looks like a weightlifter you can't miss him so say gday and lets catchup.
We are going to have a good look at the Barra comp to see what its all about and relax and have some fun - learn a bit and maybe just re-enforce what we already know etc but fun it will be to see all the different characters/methods and spots being fished first hand instead of reading and hearing about it - if everyone is doing it tough i want to see and film it first hand for the memory bank as the articles always print fish caught not the 50 other anglers who didn't catch them on that day LOL.
We are staying at the caravan park heaven forbid if they don't stuff up our booking for the 5th time by double booking the site again ha. We hear Merv is gone so things should be much more pleasant now(bring on the serenity as the view is such a great one from the campsite).
Anyway good luck i hope your trip is excellent
Cheers SeekingBarradise
Awoonga
31-10-2006, 06:12 AM
Merv gone......Think again....not yet.....Theres a bit of mischief going on stay tuned..........
Big_Native
31-10-2006, 08:27 AM
G"Day All
Nearly all packed , just have to wait for a mate to finish work after lunch, funny you should mention about the park stuffin up accomodation,my second trip there was a complete balls up, after driving 17 hours they told me they didnt have any accomodation for me, I had booked it 8 months in advance, and do you think I could contact them ,they were In town having tea, so I had to sit and wait around the car till they arrived back to sort something out for me, never again, the willow grove park gets my vote.!!
See you all up there.
Damien Webb.
SeekingBarradise
31-10-2006, 10:46 AM
Hi Awoonga and Damien
Awoonga i wish you had good news for us re Merv ha ggggg if we had a dollar for the amount of times we have seen bookings stuffed up well we would be fishing everyday by now all around the world ( maybe some Nile Perch etc)ha
Please keep us Briso's updated as its hard to get reliable info down here we usually get it 3 months late ive found after making a few trips up there - we get to hear old news down here months after we get back etc
It must drive the tackle shop guys nuts ha
And Damien 8 month booking gggg that takes the cake especially with your trip. We tripple checked a booking and it was still double booked when we got there ggggg We heard a fishing writer travelled 12 hours down to Awoonga booked months in advance and the bunkhouse they booked was full at 10pm at night - they had to kick them out - no serenity there geeseee.
I hear of so many people going to willogrove etc even some big names won't go anywhere near Merv - we heard a girl wanted to deck him at the start of this year. That would have been an interesting moment!!
Damien the comp goes from 3or4pm to 8am so we will most likely see each other on the water as the guys/girls will be stuffed after 16hour nights. The water is down from the last time we were up there and old hotspots are no longer good ones so it will be a hard work finding them again then with so much traffic a shutdown might occur - we will have a great time anyway mate.
Thanks for the update Awoonga thats why we joined this site to get up to date info as it's a big trip etc but the campsite has such a nice view so we like to relax down the back (if we have a site ha) i'm going to tripple check now LOL
Cheers SeekingBarradise
Stumpthumpa
31-10-2006, 12:30 PM
I spent 10 days camped in the dust bowl down the ditch at Awoonga, even then people were chasing us for our site. Camping at Awoonga is certainly all about the fishing.
Does anyone have any info on the cabins that are being built on the dam side of Bernaby? They could be a good alternative? I think the sign as Awoonga Gateway cabins or something like it? They were looking like being almost completed a few weeks ago.
Awoonga
31-10-2006, 02:30 PM
Open in two weeks....Could be booked out allready... Awoonga Gateway Cabins
setthehook
31-10-2006, 08:35 PM
wow thats a drive and a half!! I fished Cowra many years ago, bloody freezing but scored heaps of trout.
good luck with the barra!!
Rob.
bettsy
17-01-2007, 09:35 PM
how did the trip go to callide? Did you catch any fish? where did you stay?
Can you recomend where to stay and where not to stay?
Tropicaltrout
20-01-2007, 07:21 AM
Geat stuff mate always a buzz just getting to the place, Callide is a top place to start there are some big girls in there, we stopped for a day and scored 4 girls, and a smaller one, anyhow good luck Awoonga crowds are a little daunting but if your patient enough at the boat ramp your will be half way there from a awoonga monster.