View Full Version : favourite cod surface lure

yellahunter
20-12-2006, 09:26 AM
hey guys,
Im off cod fishing next week and wondered what surface lures you guys prefer to use,
ive had my best results on the larger jointed jitterbug, what others are worth a swim,

cheers Ben :) :) :)

bdowdy
20-12-2006, 09:45 AM
:)mate when it comes to surface fishing for cod they eat anything when in the mood, i use peter newell ploppys, jitterbugs,taylormades,halco night walkers, buzzbaits, ;Dstickbaits. theres so many but i am a surface lure junky theres only one thing i can tell you is pause while retreiving thats when you get smashed alot ;D ;). have fun anyway you never forget it when a big cod smashes a surface lure. cheers bdowdy....brett ;) ;)

yellahunter
20-12-2006, 10:01 AM
Hey Brett,

Thanks for the tips mate, hey where can i get some of the newell lures?
i heard he was in tenterfield but last time we drove through didnt see anything.

any info on this is appreciated.
I would be keen to grab a couple of local made lures if possible

cheers Ben :D

Dunnys4trout
20-12-2006, 09:11 PM
When is the best time for surface Cod fishing? :-?, herd it was night time.

Cheers!

Cody

bdowdy
21-12-2006, 07:08 AM
:) hi ben try the sports store in the main street of tenterfield sometimes they have some. hi cody ive found early morning my best time for surface fishing, but yes night time i good. and those hot humid arvos are awsome but they can be caught throughout the day depending on weather ( overcast days). cheers bdowdy.. ;) brett

Thommo73
21-12-2006, 08:24 AM
I was once outfished considerably by a mate using a large jitterbug. I had taken mine off and replaced it with a diver, but he kept his on.

He caught about 10 fish to my 3 on the surface from 8am to 1pm.

Not a cloud in the sky either......

yellahunter
21-12-2006, 09:20 AM
might have to try the popers through the day

caveman
21-12-2006, 08:29 PM
brett is spot on you wont forget a cod on a surface lure, my fav is a black and silver broken back lure with a wide bib, i have found winter time the best for surface lures

scott_b
21-12-2006, 09:25 PM
Gday Ben
Mate I think if you use a surface lure the same as a diving lure through the day but concentrate on shallow shady areas and make sure you don't make yourself visible to the fish, I think you should do well. Make sure you are watching the lure all the time!! if you see the smallest boil stop and let the lure sit for bit ,then move it only an inch or so and stop again keep it in their face while they are interested!!. Good luck and let us know how you go.
wamjam

bdowdy
22-12-2006, 09:29 AM
:)went this morning( surface fishing ) and got 4 nice cod ;D. of about 5lb it was great fun as the water was clear and you could see the fish come up under the lure and BAM they sucked them in. it was great especially seeing a mate get his first cod ever on surface and a few on divers . :o :oshould have seen his face when he got hit he pulled the lure straight out of the water, then told him to throw back out and not to pull but let them take it before striking. he loved it . cheers bdowdy :)

Why-ting
22-12-2006, 05:08 PM
Have to agree with bdowdy Newells ploppys are the go. I love surface fishing for cod but just dont get to do it as much as i would like. Might try and get down around Glenlyon and Deep Water in Jan.

Cheers Whytey

bdowdy
23-12-2006, 07:23 AM
:)hi whytey give me a pm when heading down, may tag along one day. cheers bdowdy ;)

Why-ting
23-12-2006, 09:32 AM
No Worries mate. Dont know if ill deffinately be heading down. Wanna spend a couple of days down there but gotta head down to Tamworth to do some work on my oldies joint so might stop in on the way home. Be good to get some local knowledge. Ill let you know for sure.

Cheers Whytey

bdowdy
23-12-2006, 02:06 PM
ok :)

caveman
23-12-2006, 04:01 PM
Newells ploppys

can some post a pic PRETTY :-* :-* :-* :-* please

tim_becker
26-12-2006, 06:07 AM
hi there guys im heading to the severn river today for a weeks cod fishing got onto a property down there that hasnt been fished on for quite a while so it should be good. a mate of mine fishes the dumeresk near texas every year he put me on to mudeye depth charges wich are like a large jitterbug. he was up there in september caught 18 cod in 5 days mainly in the mornings on a green depthcharge the biggest going 37 1/2 pounds 107cm.

this is my first cod trip so im pretty exited ;D with a bit of luck ill have some piccys to post

cheers tim

bdowdy
26-12-2006, 12:01 PM
:)went this morning and got 10 cod, brother used a 2 piece spinning rod and cast out to have the top section of the rod go as well, as he was saying HOPE IT DOESNT GET HIT bang fish of 6lb takes the lure at the tipbeing dragged in . i spose thats one way to catch them. ;D. bdowdy

scott_b
27-12-2006, 08:42 PM
Gday bdowdy
Just proves cod don't care what they have a crack at :-/ .
wamjam

Lino
28-12-2006, 07:45 AM
Hey Guys

Heading out this morning to top of glenlyon river to try my luck on some cod. hope the weather and conditions r kind to me. will let u know results later arvo. Cheers Linob

Lino
29-12-2006, 11:47 AM
Hey guys no good with the ellusive cod,but managed to hook up to 4 good yellas on hard at it lures. Heading down to Bolivia sunday and test the water down there.
Regards Lino

caveman
29-12-2006, 12:40 PM
bolivia i have driven past there lino, what river is that on the dumeresque or the mole

scott_b
29-12-2006, 08:15 PM
Gday Lino
Nothing wrong with 4 yellas, if they were on the chew they probably beat the cod to the lure!. Let us know how you go at Bolivia.
wamjam

yellahunter
31-12-2006, 01:09 PM
hey Lino,

were the yellas from the bank or were you in a boat,

Lino
01-01-2007, 12:52 PM
Hi Caveman,the river at bolivia is the deepwater just above where it junctions the mole.Landed 10 cod, the biggest 68cm seen 8 more but didnt seem to keen to grab the lure ::) but still good 2 see the numbers.The yellas from bank sorry guys no pics yet :-[.still have next week off work, hope to get down to the severn river for a throw until then happy new year guys .
Lino

yellahunter
02-01-2007, 10:09 AM
Hi Lino,

sent you a pm re fishing in the area
thanks mate

Ronno
02-01-2007, 11:57 AM
G'day Ben,

Cod like big lures. As you suggest. the big jointed Jitterbugs (in black) work well on the surface. But there's a likely failure point on these lures in that the screwed eyes can pull out of the body. I unscrew the eyes and dribble some Araldite into the hole and onto the eye and screw the eye back in as far as it can go. So far no more failures. During the day, big slow-wobble diving lures like the 75 mm Oargee Plough in frog pattern are good. After you've bounced the Oargees off a few rocks, the lead weight in the bib can loosen. This is easlily fixed by gently peening (flattening) the weight on a metal block with a small hammer, taking care not to crack the polycarbonate bib.

Good luck