View Full Version : ABU C4 series
Lachie1
28-11-2002, 01:09 PM
just thinking of buying one of these reels (C4 series) for my baitcaster rod. They have a fast retrieve and i was just wandering if anyone has any experience with one of these?
Thanks, Lachie
seqfisho
28-11-2002, 02:32 PM
Hi Lachie,
I have just added a 4600C4 to my baitcaster stable, and so far no problems, although Ive only used it once ans havent christened it with any fish yet :( :(
It seems as robust and as well made as my other 4600 which is about 8yrs old, so I cant see there being a problem.
There was some talk of the new ABUs having lumpy drags but I cant say yet as it aint had anything to pull line off it yet.
I think you cant go wrong for the price, but I already have 4 ABUs so maybe Im biased. ;D ;D
Glen
Eat Sleep FISH!!!!!!!!
I've got a 6500C4 and have caught jacks and fingermark as well as a few barra and all is OK. The only thing is that the rubber handles seem to distort a bit to much for me and my father new 6500C3 seems to have much stronger handles. Time will tell
Jack_Lives_Here
29-11-2002, 08:57 AM
Lachie,
Set my mate up with a 5600 C4 for our trip north in Sept. When new it was a bit gritty but after disassemble and reoil it went like a dream. Handled the barra and jacks no problem.
SteveCan
29-11-2002, 09:05 AM
Bought the girl a 6400C4 for her birthday and she reckons it was a better pressie than a Gold Bracelet. Although she uses it mostly for bait fishing, it's been a ripper setup for her and I'm thinking of getting one myself!
sooty_mad
30-11-2002, 04:38 AM
Lachie
I have owned about 15 baitcasters over many years. About 4 or 5 years ago I bought a 4600 C4. I now own 4 of them with line sizes from 3kg pretest to 15kg braid. For what my opinion is worth, they are the greatest reel (value for money) on this earth.
I won't use any other.
Regards... David
Lachie1
30-11-2002, 08:22 AM
Thanks for all the replies fellas looks like they are a good reel and i will probly get one before i go away. 8)
Cheers, Lachie
jaybee
30-11-2002, 09:11 AM
I purchased a 6500 c3 last year, very smooth operating piece of equipment for the price. don't know if they still do it but Tackle World were giving an exclusive 2 year warranty, and endurance & performance guarantee.
cheers.
Muzzy
30-11-2002, 09:45 AM
got me two 5600 c4's
I cant destroy them I have tried very very hard by not servicing and fishing heaps but still they wont break (like stop working).
Only thing about the 5600c4 is the thumb bar does break but ya aint suppose to drop reels on their thumb bars.
Have caught every fish that swims my end just about and my mate took a 25lb jewwie on a 6500 loaded with 30lb braid.
Dead set this is a cooker of a reel.
I own two abu reels, a 4600 and a 6500 and i have caught heaps of different species on them and i haven't found a fault with them yet and for the price you pay for them ( they are a bit more pricey here in central west N.S.W though ) they are the bset value. I am just about to a new 7000 abu as well because you just can't beat them
Lachie1
01-12-2002, 08:20 AM
Wel I ended up buying a 6500 C3 instead of a C4 mainly cos i couldn't afford the extra $40 and the line capacity is more on the C3 :-/. It looks like a very smooth bit of gear and can't wait to use it next weekend.
Thanks, Lachie
glove
02-12-2002, 04:43 AM
abu have a new model in the 7200 which is a bushed model like the original red classic but has a retreive speed of 5.3:1.you could also look at the abu 7500 which has bearings but also the faster retreive.i think in the 7000 size the standard c3 and the c4 lever drag both have 4.1:1.i own 2 7000c3 and a 6600ab and have found them to be faultless.they are also easy reels to modify.i have played with bearing oil and brake blocks to greatly improve casting and as for the stuttering drag you can buy and fit extreme smoothie drag washer for about $15. Or if like i have you turn your normally dry drag into a wet system using teflon grease and replace the top drag washer with one cut out of soft leather (like a riggers glove) you will also achieve an extremely smooth and workable drag.