View Full Version : advice on new baitcaster
Rhyno
25-12-2002, 07:30 AM
I have around $180 and i'm looking for a new baitcaster.
I have been look at the Catala range from shimano and was wondering what you guys opion on them was as I think they look pretty good for the price $165 and have been advised by a local tackle shop to pick one up.
I would like to hear some opions on the catala range and alternative baitcaster before a fork over any cash.
Rhyno
25-12-2002, 10:33 AM
Don't get a very big reel if your throwing small lures, the abu range like 4600 are excellent, no matter what you pick, keep an eye on the spool bearings, to much oil will stuff the freespool and if they rust same thing.
Rhyno
25-12-2002, 11:59 AM
Thanks mackmauler i will check them out.
What do you think of the Catala's
The one i was looking at was the CTL200 the smallest in the catala range perfect size for what i will be using it for.
Rhyno
krazyfisher
25-12-2002, 12:16 PM
I think the catala would be a good reel for the price have a look at the mitchell spidercast reels a mate has one not the low profile the one like the catala he has had it for 2 yrs now with know proplems and likes it there are 2 , 1 is $200 and the other about $180 I think
Rhyno
25-12-2002, 12:34 PM
Can't say i have actually checked out the mitchell spidercast reels but i have heard they are allright.
How do hey compare to the catala's as far as reliability goes as that is one of the main factors i am looking for.
Thanks alot
Rhyno
25-12-2002, 12:45 PM
Can't give you any feedback Rhyno, I know the shimano catalogue says they are for fresh and light salt work, they are also heavier than all the other comparable reels, probly on account of cheaper metals, don't think id back them to handle heavy braid and big barras, I reckon you get more strength for the money by going with the trusty abu classics, but less smoothness than shimano. And of course there are heaps of reels that will do the job its a tough choice.
Good luck.
Rhyno
25-12-2002, 12:59 PM
Do you know of any websites that do comparisons of baitcasters. Does'nt have to bee any perticular brand comparison as i don't care what brand it is as long as its good.
where can i check out these Abu reels online as i would like.
Thanks alot fellas
krazyfisher
25-12-2002, 03:16 PM
I will most likly get shot for this but I dont like the abu reels as they are not real smooth and I feel shimano are a bit over priced. Having seen what the spidercast will put up with I was impressed 30lb braid has been on it for 2 yrs with know troubles and alot of barra caught. All of the baitcasters I use are daiwa but at the top end i.e. around $500 but I dont like the lower end of the daiwa range if I was getting a reel for the value you are looking at I like the spidercast but that is just me, just make sure you look at them all you will tell what is the best for you when you play with them.