View Full Version : Shirts we wear

deb
17-03-2003, 01:21 PM
Some of the gear that's getting about the tackle shops, outdoor shops, camping shops, major department stores etc is getting really expensive. As fisho's we are in the sun, cold, wind elements all in a day's fishing, I certainly know bbj and I are not comfortable in formal shirt gear when out fishing, definately no tv presenter ;D but out of sheer curiousity,what do you reckon is a good thing and how much $$$$$?

Big_Muddie
17-03-2003, 02:30 PM
My choices fall into two separate categories viz. what I wear on a day trip and what I wear on an extended trip.

If my funds were limitless then I would definitely got for Columbia style long sleeve shirts. Brand doesn't matter - but sunproof, quick drying and comfortable does - hence the Columbia style.

But my funds are definitely limited - I have one Columbia shirt (and some Columbia pants - short and long) which I always wear on a day trip - summer and winter.

On extended trips (4+ days for me) I still take the Columbia gear but augment it with cheap polo shirts and quick dry shorts and during winter, some flannos.

That's about it for me.

17-03-2003, 05:05 PM
I prefer any sponsored shirt ( ones I can snaffle for free ) that usually have some sort of fishing logo or pic on them.

Have the old favs, Footy jersey for winter, etc.

Most of us should have been wearing long sleeve stuff years ago. ::)

rick k
17-03-2003, 06:58 PM
sponsored shirt......................

In summer I wear a t shirt and a clapped out office shirt. Blue is supposed to attract sandflies, so I don't wear too many blue shirts at work.

After mowing the lawn thisarvo, I went to the grog shop to get more fuel. They had a security cam over the till and a few other places. One looked directly down on my scone. Not much hair left, gonna have to wear the hat a bit more often.

Zeeke
17-03-2003, 07:07 PM
i wear longsleeve fishing shirts with vented backs.. Columbias dont fit me cuz im a big bastard.. and your right.. blue does attract sandflys.. and mosi's.. saw it on Discovery Chan :)

18-03-2003, 09:55 AM
Phil,
Your shirts don't make you fish any better ;D

I've got a couple of favourites but generally I'm what ever old polo shirt I have in the cuboard. Polo to prtoct the neck from sunburn but always short sleave - except for night or cold obviously

Bugman

Lucky-Phill
18-03-2003, 01:31 PM
Rexy Boy told me that you have to look good to catch good fish.

All the " ? presenters ? ' on Tele wear sponsored shirts and THEY catch fish........don't they ? ??? :o 8)

dazza
18-03-2003, 01:43 PM
Hi All,
Has anyone noticed the quality of Columbia Shirts has gone off. I usually put my order in for birthday and christmas pressies. The one i got for christmas, some of the bottons have fallen off etc. the shirt is brand new. pretty crappy considering you pay top dollar.
Has anyone had the same axperience or did I just get a dud.
dazza

SteveCan
18-03-2003, 03:10 PM
I work in the computer industry and have half a cupboard full of Vendors logo shirts. Some of the companies don't even exist anymore :P However the quality is good and they all have collars and some have long sleeves. It worries me not at all if they get fish blood all over them and I have been known to use them for a fish rag if I forget to put the towel in the bucket ;) Linda has taken to using my old business shirts and that works out very well too as I just use them for rags around the house otherwise.

Given that you can easily stain or ruin your clobber when out fishing I reckon it is a waste of beer money to spend big on clothes to fish in.

Steve.

18-03-2003, 05:36 PM
I agree Steve, don't worry bout them tough stains ;) now for the free washing machine plug ;D ok wear your filthy shirt and stand up in an open boat as you power into big pressure waves on a runout tide through south passage, works for me ;)

deb
20-03-2003, 07:07 AM
thanks everyone ;D
Didn't know about the blue colour effect with mozzies ??? ???
;D

Big_Muddie
20-03-2003, 09:30 AM
Neither did I.

I haven't noticed any more (or any less) sandflies and mozzies attacking me when I wear blue. They love me no matter what colour I wear!

Jack_Lives_Here
25-03-2003, 10:08 AM
Hey Zeeke,
Trakker have some big shirts. I've got big belly bones and a XXXL swims on me. Mate is bigger and he has shirts for himself also.

StuH
26-03-2003, 04:44 AM
I really like the Columbia range, but as much as you see them on tele they are hard to find in the shops.
Well made, light weight even when wet and plenty of pockets.

Stu.

Dominator
26-03-2003, 06:21 AM
I have 1 shirt I use for day trips or even sometimes over-nighters. It is a plain blue polo shirt and I have had it for about 3 years. ;)

I think that when out fishing comfort is more important than looking like a TV presenter. Having said that tho, if i was to aquire a shirt with a sponsors logo on it I'm sure i would get plenty of use out of it. :D

Dominator.

BOMBER
26-03-2003, 08:53 AM
wear 2 brands both long sleeve along with long pants no matter summer or winter Coloumbia and Trakka.

THE BOMBER