View Full Version : Squid Jigs
Hello!
A quick flick through the shed tackle, revealed the squid jigs I thought I had, are a bit past it :) to say the least :-[.
Need to buy 4, quickly before the weekend. (interstate rellies, tinlids, quick fun other than whiting!)
What are your recommendations???? (other than steves, have sent a private email on how fast post can happen!)
jaybee
05-06-2003, 04:46 AM
I wouldnt look past the yozuri in the prawn shape (pink). always had great success. I have one that looks past it but still performs. Fisherman o2 has been trying a new yozuri in a fish shape don't know what the results are tho.cheers
craigie
05-06-2003, 01:28 PM
Caught a couple of Squid last night on a small green Yozuri. Others were using different brands and Colours and scoring as well.
Try on any of the Bayside jetties that have lights glowing on the water. Good Luck !!
Hello
Yozurri's??? Where can I get them on the southside tomorrow night?????????? :D
Ordered two off steve, via express post, these will give a great mix by the sound of it :D
Woops stuffed that up!
Do you know any tackle stores from mid southside to bne airport! ;D
cheers :-* :-*
jaybee
05-06-2003, 02:33 PM
where is mid southside, there is mossops at annerly and i think its called tackle warehouse at coorparoo
craigie
05-06-2003, 02:34 PM
G'day Dreamdays,
Try A/mart at Cannon Hill for Squid Jigs. The brand I had was a Yozurri but all type worked well. Small sizes worked better as the Squid ranged from small to Medium size. Also try Tackle Wherehouse at Cooparoo or even Mossops at Annerley (a plug for Jack). There is also an A/mart at Virginia (close to Airport) that has a well stocked Fishing Section.
It looks like the latest technique is to put 2 or 3 Jigs on the one line with a sinker at the bottom (like a paternoster rig). Sinker on the bottom and jigs suspended in mid water, then just sit and wait for your line to move off when a squid grabs hold and crank it in.
Craig.
Fisherman02
05-06-2003, 03:24 PM
hey mate yeh i have tried out the fish shaped one
nice jig mate has the weight concealed inside so no sinker outside (doesn't bother the squid but looks nicer :D) my one cost about 17bucks so i get a bit nervous when joe says to rig it on 6lb line when i feel 200lb is sufficient. Mate im not sure if we have some yo zuri's at the shop (mossops) but it would be a lot cheaper to buy from Amart so ur better off going there, there is an amart at queen street mall that sell yo zuris.
cheers jack
clutter
05-06-2003, 07:06 PM
I like the Razorbacks. Have found them to work better than the styles with just the barbs at the back. I usually go for squid at the Woody Point jetty and have found the orange or pink to perform the best at that location.
Clutter
Hello everyone :)
mossops nope, amart mt gravatt yay.
Super big plug for AUSFISH ;D ;D ;D
Hanging in door, '3' jigs :D :D :D
I think I am getting more excited about squid and whiting than when we chase more regular stuff in the bay ;D
No doubt a day sitting watching the littlies at the sidelines at the netball carnival will take the excitement off ::) ::)
Speaking of rellies, goto logoff and get to the airport 8) 8)
Hope you all catch heaps over the 3 days!
A quick update! For those in the know, it is absolutely freezing and the wind is howling on the gold coast!
Yozzies 8, Squidjiggies 7, laughter, screams, fun absolutely off the scale!!!!!
seems..... the squidjiggies need a bit of a push, (will buy more torch batteries tomorrow)
cheers ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D :D